Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-07, 08:36 AM   #37
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Does anyone know if the 650i has all of the problems that people are reporting with the 680i? Such as the overheating chipset, SATA and Memory problems.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 10:04 AM   #38
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacos4me
Definitely RMA that thing. Who knows what's actually wrong with it. You've really got nothing to lose anyway, considering all EVGA 680i boards come with a free Advanced RMA plan (cross-shipping).
Yeah, the memory started acting up in the blue slots again. I moved them back to the brown slots and it "seemed" ok until I left the room for 30 mins and came back to a powered off machine.. argh! So NewEgg will do cross-shipping with this board? I wonder if they'll Next-Day Air it since that is what I originally paid for

I'm just scared as to what NEW problems my replacement 680i board will have Talk about suckfest.

Last edited by GitDat; 01-14-07 at 10:43 AM.
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 10:36 AM   #39
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Have to disagree with that too, as I did before. Oblivion plays smooth as silk on my machine now @ 1680x1050, 16xAA, 16xAF, high quality textures. I'm running vsync and she rarely ever drops below 60fps. With a single GTX I would get drops into 30-35 frequently in heavily forested areas
I can't seem to keep a consistent 60fps outside in Oblivion even at 1024x768 with no AA/AF But I am running it with CaptNKILL's LOD Texture packs:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=67586
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 10:45 AM   #40
TonyM16
Registered User
 
TonyM16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

I have mentioned this before but if you want to overclock the memory with this board and P23 bios you have to use sli ready setting, That is the only way unfortunately to get stable. Yes you can overlock without it for sure, and it will work fine for a few days but then suddenly the system will pull out and go to stock and no amount of coaxing will take you back. Sli ready creates extra stability.

Also if you ever unplug a 680i board or switch of power for long enough for the blue light to go off, you have essentially just cleared the overclock settings and you will need to slowly re-enable everything. Going back to fast will cause problems.

With sli ready memory you can also overlock your memory and cpu manually simply by choosing the expert setting. It will also automatically choose the correct voltage.

imo this is the greatest board ever made. The bios is so intelligent that I actually saw it automatically overvolt my system when I had my 3.5ghz overclock. My stock voltage was at 1.25 and I had it set at auto. Once I overclocked to 3.5ghz and booted in to windows and did something stressful the voltage shot up to 1.4v, and stayed there until I was idle.Amazing.

My memory also can go all the way to 1300mhz if I wanted but I will never do that as I am still learning the ins and outs of the board and realize that it could be a major no-no. This brings me up to my final point, just because it can doesn't mean you should. In other words just because the board makes it incredibly easy to get a 3.6+ghz E6600 and 1200+mhz memory doesn't mean you should. You should take it slowly, if you want stability and not just benchmark records you should take several weeks to get to 3.6ghz by going up every few days. Unless you have balls of steels and a big bank balance of course.

I have had my problems with this system but nothing I wasn't able to solve. You just need to be patient and conservative, then you will have a good time with the board. You don't have to rma every time you run into a bug. It's all part of the game, and usually are solvable with a littel time and patient. If you don't like tinkering.. don't overclock.

Me I am very happy with the whole thing, the 8800gtx sli, corsair sli ready memory and evga 680i board. It's the best computer purchase i have ever made. Although I am stable now, I know there will be problems and mistakes as there always is, but as long as you are patient it can all be sorted out. Like most people here I just want to set my PC up and then focus on playing games, without worrying about crashes and lock ups or things getting fried, and although I have achieved that I can sympathize with anyone who hasn't as in the past I have had those types of issues coincidently with an Nforce board. Since I am stable I am happy to help anyone who wants it ,even if just to compare settings or something. I have my memory in the blue slots.

Also at 2560x1600 sli really comes in handy as even at that high resolution a little bit of AA comes in handy. It is more of an extravagance than a compulsory purchase though, I can admit that.I can imagine that at 1920x100 sli would be very useful aswell if you want high AA and stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Yeah, whatever. SLI'd 8800's work really well in Oblivion in thick forests where the game will slow down to 30FPS on a single 8800GTX running @ 8xAA whereas it stays right at 60-80 with 16xAA with an SLI'd setup.

An SLI'd setup also runs Rainbow Six Vegas a lot better than a single card.

It's far from a "waste." It benefits current-gen games and it will certainly benefit graphical splendors like Crysis when it comes out.
I have been trying to get sli in RS Vegas, and I don't think I have been able to. I find the frame rates plummet a bit even with sli. I had to set shadows to low or medium just to get playable frame rates. So sli is probably not working since I saw a single card do the same thing. I did have blur at very high, AF at 16xHQ, HDR on and everything else on excpet for v-sync and at 2560x1600.

All i have tried to get sli working is use the exe UTgame.exe as that is unrealengine3 exe. What have you done to get sli working? Does it look like I am getting sli and that the settings are just too high or is it probably not working. This is the only game so far that struggles at max settings.

Thank you.
__________________
Core2duo (E6600) @ 3.46ghz(1.435v), with Tuniq Tower,
EVGA 680i mobo,
Corsair Dominator 1156mhz 4-4-4-12,
BFG 8800gtx(2) sli on a Dell 3007wfp,
Coolermaster 830 black,
and Tagan 1100watt psu.

Last edited by TonyM16; 01-14-07 at 11:25 AM.
TonyM16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 12:08 PM   #41
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Does anyone know if the 650i has all of the problems that people are reporting with the 680i? Such as the overheating chipset, SATA and Memory problems.
I have been looking at that boards as well, I have read some reviews and the reviewers all seem to say its the biggest bang for the buck @ 149.00 ASUS newegg.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 12:53 PM   #42
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
I have been looking at that boards as well, I have read some reviews and the reviewers all seem to say its the biggest bang for the buck @ 149.00 ASUS newegg.
Yep, same here.

Unless there is another really nice board coming out by summer, I'll most likely be using a 650i for my next board. The Asus 650i and an E6420 would probably get me some crazy CPU power for the money. I just wish I didn't have to blow another $200 on ram...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 01:14 PM   #43
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Also, if you guys are interested, you can grab the P24 BIOS here:

http://www.evga.com/community/messag...TOPIC_ID=24880
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 01:17 PM   #44
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Also, if you guys are interested, you can grab the P24 BIOS here:

http://www.evga.com/community/messag...TOPIC_ID=24880
Would that fix my RAM randomly not running at stock clock speeds in the blue slots? It'd be nice if it's just a software problem.
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-07, 02:00 PM   #45
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

The advanced RMA cross-ship is through eVGA, not newegg. If you registered your 680i board w/ eVGA within 30 days of purchase you can do this.

@TonyM

SLI not working in RB6:Vegas, or at least no increase in performance. Sorry about the mix-up. I've tried all rendering modes and the game runs like crap.

But I have seen benefits from Oblivion and Tomb Raider Legend so far.

Quote:
I can't seem to keep a consistent 60fps outside in Oblivion even at 1024x768 with no AA/AF But I am running it with CaptNKILL's LOD Texture packs:
What are your system specs? I'm not playing Oblivion w/ any mods; that game is quirky enough as it is.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 02:09 PM   #46
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
What are your system specs? I'm not playing Oblivion w/ any mods; that game is quirky enough as it is.
Basically the same as you except only one 8800 GTX.

E6600 @ 3.5GHz/EVGA 8800 GTX/2GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 02:20 PM   #47
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Well as I said I don't play with any mods because I figured they'd do nothing but slow the game down even more, but at 1024x768 and no AA you should DEFINITELY be able to hit 60fps on a single 8800GTX.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 02:30 PM   #48
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: eVGA 680i memory issues! Buyers beware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Well as I said I don't play with any mods because I figured they'd do nothing but slow the game down even more, but at 1024x768 and no AA you should DEFINITELY be able to hit 60fps on a single 8800GTX.
Actually it's not outside that's so bad it's those darn purple flames outside the Arcane University that chokes it lol
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Releases GeForce GTX 680 Classified with 4GB Memory News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 05:20 PM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 09:07 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.