Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-07, 10:46 PM   #1
Gooserider
Registered User
 
Gooserider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 4
Question GF2 / Viewsonic VG2230WM can't get 1680x1050 resolution

I asked a short time ago about running a new Viewsonic VG2230WM widescreen monitor on a GeForce2 MX 100/200 and a few other elderly cards. Based in part on the answers from here I got the monitor, and now I'm trying to get it working.

I am using X11R7.1, under Gentoo Linux, with the OPEN "nv" Nvidia driver (I don't use proprietary drivers if possible)

The monitor comes up in most standard resolutions, but I can't get it to do the 16:10 widescreen 1680x1050 that I got the monitor for. Despite putting an explicit modeline in my xorg.conf file, the monitor insists on coming up in either 1024x768 or 1600x1200.

The key error from the log seems to be:
"(II) NV(0): Not using mode "1680x1050" (no mode of this name)
(II) NV(0): Not using mode "1680x1050@60" (width too large for virtual size)"

How can I fix this?

I am attaching (I hope) copies of my xorg.conf (as xconf.txt) and startx (as xlog.txt) log files, both edited to get rid of comments and other excess stuff.

xlog.txt

xconf.txt

Gooserider
__________________
Want to replace CRT's w/ LCD's, need to know if antique hardware can support.
Gooserider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 12:08 AM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: GF2 / Viewsonic VG2230WM can't get 1680x1050 resolution

Does it work if you request "1680x1050@60" in the Display section instead of the nonexistent "1680x1050"?
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 07:56 PM   #3
Gooserider
Registered User
 
Gooserider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 4
Unhappy Re: GF2 / Viewsonic VG2230WM can't get 1680x1050 resolution

Quote:
AaronP: Does it work if you request "1680x1050@60" in the Display section instead of the nonexistent "1680x1050"?
Thanks for the response, Aaron, it sounded like a great idea but it doesn't solve the problem... I come up with a different resolution though. Now the monitor info says it is doing 1400x1050, 66kHz Horizontal, 60Hz Vertical, 128 MHz (presumably the dot clock?) I had to play with the H-size and position to get the entire picture on the screen, and the image is not as good.

The only thing obviously changing in the log file is the following:
Code:
(--) NV(0): Virtual size is 1680x1050 (pitch 1680)
(**) NV(0): *Mode "1680x1050@60": 154.2 MHz, 66.2 kHz, 60.1 Hz
(II) NV(0): Modeline "1680x1050@60"  154.20  1680 1712 2296 2328  1050 1071 1081 1103
(**) NV(0):  Default mode "1400x1050": 155.8 MHz, 81.5 kHz, 74.8 Hz
(II) NV(0): Modeline "1400x1050"  155.80  1400 1464 1784 1912  1050 1052 1064 1090 +hsync +vsync
(**) NV(0):  Default mode "1400x1050": 122.0 MHz, 64.9 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(II) NV(0): Modeline "1400x1050"  122.00  1400 1488 1640 1880  1050 1052 1064 1082 +hsync +vsync
I haven't actually found anything that says which of the "default" modelines X is actually using out of that long list.

It seems that the server doesn't want to give a setup named something that isn't already in it's list of resolutions. I'm wondering if it would work to specify a modeline with a "normal" name like "1024x768" but put the timing numbers in it from my 1680x1050 modeline?

Gooserider
__________________
Want to replace CRT's w/ LCD's, need to know if antique hardware can support.
Gooserider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.