Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-07, 05:06 AM   #13
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Well, by the time Crysis is released I should have my QX6600, new mobo, and new ram. Heck, I might even have dual GTXs by that time. If not, these two GTSs will do great I'm sure. Honestly, I'd expect my 8800GTSs to do 1600x1200, 16xAA, 16xAF, with most (if not all) in game options maxed. I'll be quite bummed out if they don't manage playable frame rates at those settings.

And if they don't, then I'll just have to get dual 8800GTSs now wont I?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 05:10 AM   #14
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by shungokusatsu
Sounds too good to be true. If you watch all the trailers from CES, they all have very noticeable slowdowns. At times it's definitely hitting below 10fps.

I just watched the two new HD Gametrailers videos from CES. In both, the game entirely freezes for about 3-4 secs.
Yeah in most videos the gameplay was choppy & the framerate was noticably low-med numbers at best (i say in 20s).
in the couple last videos there were stuttering though i wasn't sure if its the video or the game itself. most likely its the game.

SemperFi : Good catch. i was wondering about the bars on top & buttom .. must be video then!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 05:51 AM   #15
icecold1983
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 265
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Well, by the time Crysis is released I should have my QX6600, new mobo, and new ram. Heck, I might even have dual GTXs by that time. If not, these two GTSs will do great I'm sure. Honestly, I'd expect my 8800GTSs to do 1600x1200, 16xAA, 16xAF, with most (if not all) in game options maxed. I'll be quite bummed out if they don't manage playable frame rates at those settings.

And if they don't, then I'll just have to get dual 8800GTSs now wont I?
i think ur dreaming with the 16x aa
__________________
c2d e6600 stock
680i
2 gb ddr800
8800 gtx stock
x fi with 64 mb xram
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 06:17 AM   #16
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Interesting.

I doubt the game will run anywhere near that good at that resolution all the time, but it sounds possible to get around 60fps average in few places.

I'm really curious about the effect the motion blur will have on the smoothness of the game. I know they can't create a real film-like motionblur (its impossible without input lag) but it could possibly make the game appear a lot smoother, regardless of the framerate.

Anyway, its all speculation until we see it.

... as if I needed another reason to want a Core 2 Duo or Kentsfield.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 06:44 AM   #17
SlamDunk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 497
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Crysis-Online has never been a reliable place for Crysis news (and even less now during CES) so... It's up to you if you want to believe all that is said on that site.
SlamDunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 08:08 AM   #18
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamDunk
Crysis-Online has never been a reliable place for Crysis news (and even less now during CES) so... It's up to you if you want to believe all that is said on that site.
So true... I mean they post articles from The Inquirer as a source... WTF
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 11:26 AM   #19
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

i'm sure as long as Crytek spends enough time optimizing the code it will run fine. If they rush it out the door, thats where problems could arise.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 02:41 PM   #20
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Interesting.
I'm really curious about the effect the motion blur will have on the smoothness of the game. I know they can't create a real film-like motionblur (its impossible without input lag) but it could possibly make the game appear a lot smoother, regardless of the framerate.
Already discussed (or being discussed)
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33862326
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-07, 03:45 PM   #21
myshkinbob
Registered User
 
myshkinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

I'm not sure i'd call that a discussion in that thread, hehe. They seem to be saying that interlaced video fields and motion blur are the same thing?! bless.

The motion blur in crysis won't mask a low framerate in terms of responsiveness, but it will change the perceived smoothness of movement within the scene at low framerates. Whether that's moving the mouse (the entire perspective) or just a guy running across your view.

In short, it'll give the impression of a smoother framerate, without the same responsiveness improvement you get from a high fps.

I'd imagine it makes a huge difference to perceived fluidity of the game in the 35-to-50 fps range though (will appear more like a solid 'gaming' 60 fps to the eye).

I'd say it's a good thing, and it'll help immersion even when you've already got a great framerate.
__________________
Core2Duo E6400 (3.0GHz@1.3v) | Gigabyte 965P-DS3 | 2x 1024MB Elixir PC6400 (Dual-Channel DDR2@1.8v) | 3x Spinpoint SATA 80GB | Gainward GeForce 8800GTS (@600/1900) | Mitsubishi DiamondPlus 93SB 19" (1600x1200@75Hz)
myshkinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 04:26 PM   #22
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

I think allot of people will be surprised at how well it runs on mid range(single 7800GT)to high end hardware(8800GTX).I am sure 1680x1050 with almost everything maxed in game as well as a little aniso,and maybe even 2xAA,will be smooth on my rig as it stands now under DX10.As I will be running under Vista my expectations are for a well optimized game.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 04:55 PM   #23
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by myshkinbob
I'm not sure i'd call that a discussion in that thread, hehe. They seem to be saying that interlaced video fields and motion blur are the same thing?! bless.

The motion blur in crysis won't mask a low framerate in terms of responsiveness, but it will change the perceived smoothness of movement within the scene at low framerates. Whether that's moving the mouse (the entire perspective) or just a guy running across your view.

In short, it'll give the impression of a smoother framerate, without the same responsiveness improvement you get from a high fps.

I'd imagine it makes a huge difference to perceived fluidity of the game in the 35-to-50 fps range though (will appear more like a solid 'gaming' 60 fps to the eye).

I'd say it's a good thing, and it'll help immersion even when you've already got a great framerate.
Yep, I agree completely.

I just hope the performance hit isnt very big. IMO, its extremely hard to justify getting lower framerates and less responsiveness for a blurring effect. If framerates are high enough, your eyes do the motion blurring.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 05:01 PM   #24
DasFox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Why even be concerned with this resolution since the majority of gamers will be on smaller monitors anyways, and performance is going to be based on the settings you use.

I mean unless all anyone wants to know is how well it does for 2048x1536, but isn't really the point just to know how well it works for different settings/setups, so people will know what the recommended specs are.

Any game will run up to any type of a rez. you throw out it, IF you HAVE the hardware to support it.

Why drool over 2048x1536 and test a game at this for the general public that will never use this.

It's more like a glam show off, see what this can do, so what, any next GEN game can do these resoultions too.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 06:34 PM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.