Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-07, 05:08 PM   #25
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

We are talking about the 2k res as an indication of what the performance in lower resolutions will be like.
of course most people game @1280x1024,1600x1200 or 1920x1200 at best.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 07:04 PM   #26
DasFox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
We are talking about the 2k res as an indication of what the performance in lower resolutions will be like.
of course most people game @1280x1024,1600x1200 or 1920x1200 at best.

Ok
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 08:00 PM   #27
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by DasFox
Why even be concerned with this resolution since the majority of gamers will be on smaller monitors anyways, and performance is going to be based on the settings you use.

I mean unless all anyone wants to know is how well it does for 2048x1536, but isn't really the point just to know how well it works for different settings/setups, so people will know what the recommended specs are.

Any game will run up to any type of a rez. you throw out it, IF you HAVE the hardware to support it.

Why drool over 2048x1536 and test a game at this for the general public that will never use this.

It's more like a glam show off, see what this can do, so what, any next GEN game can do these resoultions too.
That was the reason i linked to the article. It's because if it can run that well at that resolution, then the average PC should be just fine at lower settings.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 08:44 PM   #28
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by icecold1983
theres a lot of games where that isnt true, unless good fps is in the 20s or u dont mind a very low minimum framerate
I don't have a very big library of new games, nor do I really play a bunch of different genres, so you are probably more correct than I am. On the games that I play anyway, BF2, COD2, COH, and AOE3, I have no problems running with everything on. Even Oblivion runs pretty good with the AA turned down a fuzz.

To me, good fps is at least 40 in RTS, and 60 in FPS. I am very sensitive to motion sickness in games, so it bothers me to play with even somewhat low fps. I have a different tolerance depending upon the game, in which some games I can go lower without it bothering me, and there are some games it doesn't matter if I'm running 100 fps I can't play it cause of the textures and lighting in them. I can only take Quake 4 in small doses, Fear Combat will get me after about 20 minutes, as will Resistance: Fall of Man. Yet I can play Unreal, COD, and BF2 with almost never getting sick.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 09:52 PM   #29
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Whomever wrote the article is a moron. The dell 30in panel is 2560x1600 res, unless it means Crysis doesn't support widescreen resolutions...
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 10:09 PM   #30
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Whomever wrote the article is a moron. The dell 30in panel is 2560x1600 res, unless it means Crysis doesn't support widescreen resolutions...
Please say it does support WS. I'm getting sick of these companies rolling these games out the door that don't and then having to hack my way into some obscure ini file to fix it. Hellooooooooo, we're in the 21st century, here. Make it an in-game setting, please.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 10:53 PM   #31
icecold1983
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 265
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

i know cod2 doesnt run at 60 fps at 1920 x 1200 with 16x aa 16x af. and it drops to around 30 regularly. company of heroes runs ok at those settings, but fps will frequently drop to the 20s in heavy action or detailed maps.

oblivion doesnt even run smoothly with 4x aa at that res with grass fade set to maximum in a lot of areas, it frequently drops to the low teens. this is with no mods installed either.

trackmania united is another one, a lot of stadium maps bring the 8800 down to the 20s and 30s with 4x aa, which makes a game that fast very hard to control. fear also has some very wicked performance drops with 4x aa at that res.
__________________
c2d e6600 stock
680i
2 gb ddr800
8800 gtx stock
x fi with 64 mb xram
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 10:55 PM   #32
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Smile Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

It will be a slideshow till next 2 or 3 gens of gpus.

They can say that it runs at 60fps looking at the floor or walls, but we all know that it will run like a slideshow while fighting at the deep jungle.

I expect 10-20fps on my system at 1280x1024 without FSAA & medium settings.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-07, 10:57 PM   #33
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Please say it does support WS. I'm getting sick of these companies rolling these games out the door that don't and then having to hack my way into some obscure ini file to fix it. Hellooooooooo, we're in the 21st century, here. Make it an in-game setting, please.
With FarCry having widescreen support almost 3 years ago, I would say with 100% certainty that Crysis will definitely have widescreen support.
__________________
Intel Q6700 - XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - 4GB Patriot DDR2 800 - x2 Seagate 320GB SATAll - DELL 2408wfp
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 11:00 PM   #34
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by icecold1983
i think ur dreaming with the 16x aa
Dude, there is a difference between 16xQ AA and 16xAA. I'm referring to 16xAA. I'm not sure what benchmarks you have looked at, but regular old 16xAA is practically free on the 8800 series. I'd expect this to carry over on to DX10 titles as well.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 11:06 PM   #35
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman
It will be a slideshow till next 2 or 3 gens of gpus.

They can say that it runs at 60fps looking at the floor or walls, but we all know that it will run like a slideshow while fighting at the deep jungle.

I expect 10-20fps on my system at 1280x1024 without FSAA & medium settings.
This is more than true considering that your game has no DX10 support. Those whom have a GF8 or Radeon X2k series card(s) should be able to run it at rather high settings without a problem. With my setup (dual GTSs) I'm going to be very disappointed if I can't run it near maxed settings. And when I go Quad core I aim to also get a pair of GTXs. THAT rig had better run it maxed or I'll be bummed out.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-07, 12:04 AM   #36
icecold1983
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 265
Default Re: Wonder how well you PC will run Crysis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Dude, there is a difference between 16xQ AA and 16xAA. I'm referring to 16xAA. I'm not sure what benchmarks you have looked at, but regular old 16xAA is practically free on the 8800 series. I'd expect this to carry over on to DX10 titles as well.
its only free when it doesnt work on most surfaces. when it works theres a solid performance drop from 4x.
__________________
c2d e6600 stock
680i
2 gb ddr800
8800 gtx stock
x fi with 64 mb xram
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 06:34 PM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.