Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-07, 11:17 AM   #1
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Component or HDMI?

For my HD Cable Box....

Component or HDMI?

All I want to know is if there is a difference in PICTURE quality. Thats it. I don't care for any sound discussions about HDMI.

Right now, I have component hooked up and wanted to know if the picture quality would improve from an HDMI cable. The Cable box does have an HDMI hookup.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 11:21 AM   #2
dsessom
Boobs are good.
 
dsessom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lawton, OK USA
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to dsessom Send a message via AIM to dsessom Send a message via Yahoo to dsessom
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

I have a 32" Sharp Aquos in my bedroom. HDMI looks a bit sharper and the color was a tad bit better than component - especially if you are watching something with tons of color, like Star Wars Episode III.
__________________
Main PC - | Pentium5 @ 6.4ghz (400x16) | Vapochill XC (XtraChilly) | Abit ICU812 v2.0 | 8GB (4x2GB) Corsair XMS PC12800 @ 2-3-3-5-1T | XFX Geforce 9850 Super Ultra GTX X4 | 4x1TB WD SATA3 RAID 0 | Sony DLQ32 DVD+/-RW | ThermalTake Chameleon case w/thermal sensitive paint. & 1000W PSU | Windows Valley SemiPro w/SP1.25
dsessom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 01:48 PM   #3
toxikneedle
this.is.a.chemical.burn
 
toxikneedle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,323
Send a message via AIM to toxikneedle Send a message via MSN to toxikneedle
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

I highly doubt there would be a difference in PQ, but I'd still go with HDMI only because it's digital. You don't need to get crazy-expensive HDMI cables to get the full potential out of your box, but for component cables, the cheaper they are, the more prone to interference they become.
__________________
[cpu]amd.x2.4400 . [ram]crucial.2gb.3200 . [gpu]evga.8800.gts . [hdd]wd.raptor.74gb ::
toxikneedle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 01:57 PM   #4
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

i think i'm going to go ahead and order an HDMI cable. Where is the best place to get one? Should i just pick one up at Best Buy or is there a website that has good deals on them?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 02:03 PM   #5
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

Like I posted in another thread, check out Home Depot for about $34 bucks (6footer) well built cables.

Don't every buy from BB or the likes. Funny compUSA/RadioShack and every Circuit City all sell cheap (price) HDMI cables on their web sites only. The catch you can't get them in store.
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 02:05 PM   #6
toxikneedle
this.is.a.chemical.burn
 
toxikneedle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,323
Send a message via AIM to toxikneedle Send a message via MSN to toxikneedle
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

Yeah don't buy from BB, all they carry is $200 Monster or Belkin, etc. gold-plated with every type of gas there is injected cables.
__________________
[cpu]amd.x2.4400 . [ram]crucial.2gb.3200 . [gpu]evga.8800.gts . [hdd]wd.raptor.74gb ::
toxikneedle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 04:48 PM   #7
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
i think i'm going to go ahead and order an HDMI cable. Where is the best place to get one? Should i just pick one up at Best Buy or is there a website that has good deals on them?
If you didn't already order one you can get them for very cheap at newegg or monoprice. I got a HDMI -> DVI cable for around 15 bucks on newegg after shipping, works flawlessly.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812186013
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 04:59 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsessom
I have a 32" Sharp Aquos in my bedroom. HDMI looks a bit sharper and the color was a tad bit better than component - especially if you are watching something with tons of color, like Star Wars Episode III.
Wait up! Movies are in colour now?! I might have to trade in my aging Panaphonic
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-07, 05:28 PM   #9
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvel_us
If you didn't already order one you can get them for very cheap at newegg or monoprice. I got a HDMI -> DVI cable for around 15 bucks on newegg after shipping, works flawlessly.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812186013
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=
THANK YOU! Just ordered one from newegg. The price is cheaper at monoprice, but I'd rather give newegg my money than anyone else. They treat me right when things go wrong.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 06:35 PM   #10
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: Component or HDMI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by toxikneedle
I highly doubt there would be a difference in PQ, but I'd still go with HDMI only because it's digital. You don't need to get crazy-expensive HDMI cables to get the full potential out of your box, but for component cables, the cheaper they are, the more prone to interference they become.
Contrary to what my friend Toxi says, I would have to say HDMI all the way. I work with these cables every day at work. And test them on various displays. True enough the difference in quality varies from display to display. But on many if not most displays the difference is noticeable IMO.

Richer color, sharper picture...that sort of thing. Of course this is coming from a guy that will allows insist that there is a distinct difference in quality between VGA and DVI.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 08:24 PM   #11
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
Contrary to what my friend Toxi says, I would have to say HDMI all the way. I work with these cables every day at work. And test them on various displays. True enough the difference in quality varies from display to display. But on many if not most displays the difference is noticeable IMO.

Richer color, sharper picture...that sort of thing. Of course this is coming from a guy that will allows insist that there is a distinct difference in quality between VGA and DVI.
I'd have to agree. After hooking up my PS3 to a digital connection via DVI>HDMI it looked quite a bit sharper and rich than when using the component cables.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 08:59 PM   #12
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Component or HDMI?

HDMI looks better to me on my upconverting dvd player.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 06:40 PM
How do I play PS3 on my Sony Vaio while using HDMI cable? AbbieJohnson Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 06:04 AM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 04:55 AM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 04:30 AM
HDMI audio ELD weirdness RockHound NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 04:45 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.