Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-07, 09:50 PM   #13
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: PS3 Questions

You won't want to do that though, it would defeat half the purpose of BD which is HD sound. LPCM and any of the advanced audio codecs cannot be bassed by spdif or composite l/r. HDMI or discrete analog outs are required.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-07, 12:28 AM   #14
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: PS3 Questions

Anyone knows if this monitor will work with the PS3 ?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009089


It doesnt have HDMI conectors ,but its 1080p with an optimal resolution of 1900x1200. and its 24'' inches.. with 1000:1 contrast..

is there any disadvantage by not having HDMI Conector?
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-07, 03:29 PM   #15
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: PS3 Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit
I'm pretty sure Blu-Ray will only display at 1080P if you're using the HDMI connector.
That isn't completely true. For both BlueRay and HDDVD there is a setting on the disc that enforces the degredation of video when not playing over a HDMI compliant connection (player->connector->tv/monitor). Currently the downsampling when over a non-compliant connections is not being downsampled, but the major players have said they will start releasing protected disc's in ?2010?
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-07, 03:09 AM   #16
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: PS3 Questions

I can't seem to find an "official" HDMI cable for Sony anywhere or am I missing something? I guess I will just pick up a cheap set somewhere.

*Edit* The PS3 uses a regular HDMI cable correct? I will just use the one I have currently hooked up to my HD cable box at the moment. I will then hook the cable box up with DVI or component.

Last edited by Arioch; 01-20-07 at 03:25 AM.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-07, 03:48 AM   #17
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: PS3 Questions

Yeah any hdmi cable will work. I'd buy one off monoprice, around 10 dollars shipped. I get all my cables from there.
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-07, 04:14 AM   #18
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: PS3 Questions

Well I was going to walk into EBgames this weekend and pick up a PS3 but I had some money in Paypal to use so I ordered the bundle that is currently at Newegg. I comes with a 60GB unit, an extra wireless controller, Resistance, and COD3. I was planning on getting an extra controller and Resistance anyway but I already have COD3 on my 360. I will end up giving my 360 copy to a friend of mine for his birthday next week.

My only problem now is that I have 3 devices that will use a fiber optic audio cable and only two inputs on my home theater system. I guess I can find my a 2-to-1 splitter for my 360/PS3 and keep the other one dedicated to my HD cable box. I am looking forward to being able to get any HD movie title and not worry about which format it is. If a movie is on both I will research and see if one has better quality than the other os simply buy the cheapest one. I need something to take advantage of my new 1080p 37" LCDTV.

Well after I get my new PC in a couple of weeks I am done with all my techno upgrades for a year at least.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-07, 06:55 AM   #19
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: PS3 Questions

These two links were provided by evilchris and have been helpful to me.

The blu-ray list is here: http://www.avsforum.com:80/avs-vb/sh...d.php?t=753726

The HD-DVD list is here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=705387

I don't always agree with their rankings though. For example, in the blu-ray list he has Stargate in Tier 2 and out of the 19 blu-ray movies that I have, that is the only one I've been disappointed in. So, if it was my list, I'd have it in Tier 4. Also, when I first got the PS3, I ended up buying a movie from each tier just to see how much of a difference I'd notice. Because of that, I purchased The Fifth Element since it was a Tier 4 but I think it should be higher and definitely higher than Stargate. So, my point is, it's a nice reference but bear in mind that the rankings are still subjective. I think he goes with the majority in most cases though.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 11:58 AM   #20
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: PS3 Questions

something to keep in mind about PS3 and HDMI:
http://www.twitchguru.com/2007/01/22/mmr/

if you know that there are issues with it, and go straight for configurations that work, or a lucky one that gets it to work right from the get go, it always makes setting those kind of things simpler.

Quote:
An hour to correctly connect and configure our PS3? Yes, you read that correctly. I know that sounds ridiculous. After all, we had six THG editors at the apartment, and how many editors should it take to connect the damn console? Well, here's why it took so long. First, the PS3 would not automatically detect and broadcast the video signal using the HDMI connection. We had to connect with the regular composite cables provided with the system, then boot into the PS3 OS and manually change the output to HDMI. But it didn't end there, sadly. All we got was the superb picture but not the game audio.

So we had to manually change the sound output to also use HDMI. This worked well within the PS3 OS itself, but once the game started, all audio cut out. We tried changing the audio format in which the PS3 would broadcast, but nothing worked for the game. Eventually, we had to abandon HDMI audio and hook the PS3 directly to the receiver with the digital optical audio cable, then boot back into the PS3 OS and once again change the audio options. It was an aggravating mess that took far too long to solve. Part of the problem was that all of us were convinced there was a way to get the HDMI sound output working, and we kept at it like we were Vladimir and Estragon in "Waiting for Godot."
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-07, 12:39 PM   #21
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: PS3 Questions

I have to say I am really impressed with the refurbished Viewsonic n3250w 32" I got last year from Frys for $450. It came without a scratch or marking, had zero dead pixels and except for Component YCPr(no video, only audio), works great on all inputs. I didnt have a chance to test HDMI till now. But when I connected the PS3, and set it to HDMI, it worked with no hitches. I have my 360 hooked on the YPbPr component, and my PS3 will go on the HDMI. Only problem is it doesnt do 1080P, but for some reason, when I ran the blueray movie disc, it showed resolution as 1920 x 1080. Resistance showed up as 1280 x 720 which I am assuming is 720P.
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 12:51 PM   #22
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: PS3 Questions

the PS3 lacks a scaler, so what ever res the game/movie is coded at, the PS3 will display at.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 01:57 PM   #23
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: PS3 Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thor1182
the PS3 lacks a scaler, so what ever res the game/movie is coded at, the PS3 will display at.
That's not what he really asked, nor is that entirely true.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tornadog
I have my 360 hooked on the YPbPr component, and my PS3 will go on the HDMI. Only problem is it doesnt do 1080P, but for some reason, when I ran the blueray movie disc, it showed resolution as 1920 x 1080. Resistance showed up as 1280 x 720 which I am assuming is 720P.
Does your TV support 1080p? 1920x1080 would be 1080p and 1280 x 720 is 720p. By default all Blu-ray movies will display at whatever YOU set your PS3 to display. If you go to Display Settings you can select only one HD res and the PS3 will use that one. Resistance will only show at 720p because the game itself does not support anything higher.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 01:59 PM   #24
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: PS3 Questions

no its not what he asked, but it does somewhat answer the question, however I do acknowledge that what I said is a bit misleading unless you know better.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I play PS3 on my Sony Vaio while using HDMI cable? AbbieJohnson Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 05:04 AM
Arma 3 E3 hands-on preview: 8 important questions answered News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Rumor: Sony Cloud Deal Will Make PS3 Backwards Compatible, Stream PS2/PS1 games News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM
AMD Counter-Attacks GeForce GTX 670, Questions NVIDIA's Kepler Availability (BSN) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-10-12 11:54 PM
FSAA Questions LaoTzuTao NVIDIA Linux 16 09-11-02 12:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.