Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-07, 04:17 PM   #13
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

you can use crystalmark 09 too
it uses the 4 cores all together
some scores are 10 times higher as my A64@2.7Ghz
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-07, 04:10 AM   #14
SeraTech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

I can bench and play at 3466mhz (13*266mhz) with no problems. Dunno how it'll perform with serious stability and stress testing, and I don't really care. Usually it is clocked 2400mhz or stock 2660mhz, as I fail to notice any difference when overclocked (playing games and what not, but from benching it is obvious there are differences).

EVGA 680i
Tuniq Tower 120
Intel QX6700
G-Skill PC6400 4096mb
2 * XFX 8800 GTX SLI
ASUS Ageia PhysX 128mb
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
WD Raptor 36gb
WD RaptorX 150gb
Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Samsung 225BW
SeraTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-07, 04:17 AM   #15
SeraTech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Do you already have a PCI-E PhysX? Or how can you use a X-FI, PPU and GTX SLI?

3.46GHz is game stable for me too but it gets too hot on air.
No I don't. I have to take out one of the 8800 GTX cards or the X-Fi. The 680i reference layout is annoying.
SeraTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 08:58 AM   #16
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

My new OC

__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 09:50 AM   #17
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Do you already have the new 680i rev?

Could you please try 8x400?
Yep got it on Friday I tried 400, its a no go
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 07:01 AM   #18
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Ok, is 340 your max FSB? At least it does 333MHz now.
Hopefully my RMA will start next week
I'm not sure, Ill do some more testing this week
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 11:50 PM   #19
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
w00t, the Freezone is here (one week from NY to Switzerland). Gonna install it tomorrow. My goal is 3.47GHz 24/7 (gaming) and maybe 3.73GHz as my bench clock.

Heavy, was your QX6700 at 3.47GHz Quad-Prime stable?
So salWter, what are you running the QX6700 at with the freezone?
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 12:31 AM   #20
HeavyH20
Hardware Addict
 
HeavyH20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 477
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Well, I think he had to RMA his since it was performing sub par. It was not handling the heat well.
__________________
QX9650 | EVGA 790i Ultra | 4 GB DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 Tri SLI | CoolMax 1200 Watt PSU | stuffed in a CM Stacker 832 NV Edition with a Dell 3007-HC
HeavyH20 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-07, 07:16 AM   #21
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Geez, that really sucks. I wonder why some Freezones seem to work really well and some don't work at all.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 05:16 PM   #22
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
My Freezone sucks big time. Temps are higher than with the Zalman 9700.
I could RMA it but the shipment back to Canada is way too high So I don't know what to do because if I do the RMA, the overall cost for this Freezone with the import and RMA would be higher than a brand new phase change solution...

I have to contact CoolIT again.
I sort of experienced the same thing. I was using the zalman 9500 and when I installed the freezone, the temps were the same. I was totally disappointed.
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 07:44 PM   #23
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
So what did you do?
Nothing... I'm looking at it as a life lesson learned. I am unable to overclock the X6800 to 3.7Ghz stable, so I was curious to see how the freezone was able to handle the QX6700. From my experience the CoolIT Freezone is equivalent to the Zalman 9500.
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 11:10 PM   #24
HeavyH20
Hardware Addict
 
HeavyH20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 477
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Well, the Freezone blew away the Zalman 9700 I was using. It got warm under load (high 70's), but that was at 3.85 GHz and about 1.65VCore. Seems like these things are hit and miss a little.

My best with the Freezone:

3Dmark06 19160 - 3.85 GHz

And, on a PC I built for another, they were able to get their E6600 to 4.0 GHz with the Freezone from TiKiMaN.
__________________
QX9650 | EVGA 790i Ultra | 4 GB DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 Tri SLI | CoolMax 1200 Watt PSU | stuffed in a CM Stacker 832 NV Edition with a Dell 3007-HC
HeavyH20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 08:16 PM
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.