Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-07, 04:20 PM   #97
mhw100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 12
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siskods9
At the time I was running TMPGEnc to transcode an avi to dvd, the app was configured to run at 'High priority'.

On another note, I have noticed that the QX6700 on my Asus P5B Deluxe can't really achieve high FSB settings unlike my old E6600 which was very comfortable
running at 1600MHz FSB. What gives???
That's interesting about the P5B. I thought that all the Intels were
fairly good quad OCers and the 680i the dog.

If I don't swap mine out for the evga I'm attempting to find a good OCer with at least 3 PCI-E slots. The problem is that is hard to find reviews for the Qx6700 on any board which means you have to start going by anecdotal evidence and even then there isn't much because not to many people want to throw $1,000CDN on a chip that is known to have heat issues and isn't a particularly good OCer anyways.
__________________
QX6700, Asus P5N32-E, Corsair 8500C5D x 4,Zalman 9700, eVGA 7900 GS K0 x 3, Thermaltake 850w, WD 150g Raptors x 2, Seagate 250G, CoolerMaster 830 Evo w/8 12cm fans, Dell 1907FP 19" x 6.
mhw100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 10:59 PM   #98
mcbacker
McBacker
 
mcbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 302
Send a message via MSN to mcbacker
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein_314
Ok guys, here's a bit of an update. Currently running my Q6600 at 3.6 (400x9) @ 1.5V (in bios...windows reads 1.4V). Temps seem to maxing out at 58C. Seems to be stable so far. I have a question though....How do I change the stupid multiplier on this P5B-Deluxe? I change "Modify Ratio Support" to enabled and then change the multiplier...but it doesn't actually change. Am I missing something?

EDIT: Ok so turns out it wasn't actually at 3.6.....because the multiplier was being all wonky. When I change the multi in the bios, the clockspeed is not being correctly reported in windows...or on the POST screen. They show that it is the FSBx9 (the default multi). Everest seems to pick up the correct multi though. Weird stuff. So for now I'm back down to 3.2. I'll have to increase the voltage some more to hit 3.4 or even 3.6. And I was so excited to get past 3.2. Oh well.
How did u manage to change the multiplier? Here doesn't work... bios shows 7 but it is not true...

MC
__________________
Motherboard - ASUS P6T DLX V2
CPU - Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.200Mhz (1.28 @ BIOS) WaterCooled by Swiftech Apex Ultima XT
Video - NVidia EVGA GTX 570 SLI
Memory - 3 x 2GB OCZ PLATINUM (7-7-7-24 1T) (1.7v)
Sound - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech X-530
Storage - SSD VERTEX 2 60GB + Seagate 1.5TB + 3 x Seagate 500GB (Raid 0)
Power Supply - Corsair HX1000W 80A
Display - TV LCD Samsung 32'' LN32A550 FULL HD
Case - Corsair Obsidian 700D
OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

mcbacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 11:40 PM   #99
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Got my Q6600 to 3.22GHz quite easily but I have not tried going any higher as even my ultra 120 extreme hsf is taking a beating(1.4v). I got a very nice fsb oc on it too which was very suprising after all i've read about them. I lost close to 400MHz from my e6600 but it was worth it. This is the best cpu I have ever owned
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-07, 01:30 AM   #100
daforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 256
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Curious what temps your getting Dr.Nick?

Im looking at getting a Q6600 and OC'ing to around 3.2

Ta
__________________
DaPuter
Asus P5B Deluxe | Q6600 @ 3.2ghz (8x400) w/ Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | 2GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4D | SB Audigy 2 ZS | Asus 8800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x74GB Raptor, 5x200GB, 1x500GB, Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Thermaltake Armour: Fans, 3x12cm, 3x9cm | Logitech Z-680's | Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD
3dmark06: 13,451

Render/storage Box
DFI LanPaty NF4 SLI-DR | AMD X2 4400 & XP90C | 2GB Corsair XMS3200 | Gigabyte 7800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x80GB, 2x320GB-RAID0 | Samsung LA40M81BD 40" 1080p LCD TV | Logitech Z-5500's
daforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-07, 07:29 PM   #101
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by daforce
Curious what temps your getting Dr.Nick?

Im looking at getting a Q6600 and OC'ing to around 3.2

Ta

Temps are not as great with the summer heat/humidity but it holds ok. It's sitting at 41c idle and about 65c load using an ultra 120 extreme/scythe 120mm combo
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-07, 08:35 PM   #102
daforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 256
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Thats pretty good. My E6420 with the same heatsink combo as you sits at around 32-34c idle when clocked at 3.2GHZ, so you only 10c up on my but with 2 extra cores.
Thanks for the info.
Might just get my one during the price drop
__________________
DaPuter
Asus P5B Deluxe | Q6600 @ 3.2ghz (8x400) w/ Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | 2GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4D | SB Audigy 2 ZS | Asus 8800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x74GB Raptor, 5x200GB, 1x500GB, Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Thermaltake Armour: Fans, 3x12cm, 3x9cm | Logitech Z-680's | Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD
3dmark06: 13,451

Render/storage Box
DFI LanPaty NF4 SLI-DR | AMD X2 4400 & XP90C | 2GB Corsair XMS3200 | Gigabyte 7800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x80GB, 2x320GB-RAID0 | Samsung LA40M81BD 40" 1080p LCD TV | Logitech Z-5500's
daforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 10:50 AM   #103
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by daforce
Thats pretty good. My E6420 with the same heatsink combo as you sits at around 32-34c idle when clocked at 3.2GHZ, so you only 10c up on my but with 2 extra cores.
Thanks for the info.
Might just get my one during the price drop
That's about what I see over my e6600; maybe 15c at load. Also check out this mod for the heatsink. It dropped my temps a solid 4-5c and is the easiest mod ever
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 08:49 PM   #104
daforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 256
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

oh sweet... so simple.

Will do it on the weekend if i get a change... MANY thanks dude

hmmm I just remembered mine was really hard to get on, was really tight already. I reckon with a washer in there as well it may not be possible without a LOT of downward force to get the screw to grip. Will need to double check for fre play when i get home. I dont recall there being all that much.. perhaps thermalright updated the ultra120 extreme?
__________________
DaPuter
Asus P5B Deluxe | Q6600 @ 3.2ghz (8x400) w/ Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | 2GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4D | SB Audigy 2 ZS | Asus 8800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x74GB Raptor, 5x200GB, 1x500GB, Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Thermaltake Armour: Fans, 3x12cm, 3x9cm | Logitech Z-680's | Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD
3dmark06: 13,451

Render/storage Box
DFI LanPaty NF4 SLI-DR | AMD X2 4400 & XP90C | 2GB Corsair XMS3200 | Gigabyte 7800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x80GB, 2x320GB-RAID0 | Samsung LA40M81BD 40" 1080p LCD TV | Logitech Z-5500's
daforce is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-03-07, 09:54 AM   #105
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

From what I've read, its too big to fit in the thermaltake armor cause of the 25cm side fan...

It has got excellent reviews though.


um, wrong

its a tight fit, but it does fit

so far the the extreme is awesome.

I just got my q6600 up and running.I got in on the tiget direct deal.499.99

heres the new rig

q6600 w/ 120 extreme and 86.5 cfm fan
xfx 680i sli flashed to latest bios.
2 gig ocz pc6400
pc power and cooling 750 wat silencer
x-fi fatalty platinum
thermal armor silver aluminum case

havent attemped any ocing yet, thats coming today.So we shall see
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-07, 11:07 AM   #106
daforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 256
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

yeah it certainly does fit. However I choose to take my side of and go back to the standard non-fan side as althought you can close it, it causes the heatsink to be pushed back a little towards the case, and that would surely afect the effectiveness of the heatsink a little.
Might switch back to see if there is any noticeable difference tho.
__________________
DaPuter
Asus P5B Deluxe | Q6600 @ 3.2ghz (8x400) w/ Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | 2GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4D | SB Audigy 2 ZS | Asus 8800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x74GB Raptor, 5x200GB, 1x500GB, Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Thermaltake Armour: Fans, 3x12cm, 3x9cm | Logitech Z-680's | Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD
3dmark06: 13,451

Render/storage Box
DFI LanPaty NF4 SLI-DR | AMD X2 4400 & XP90C | 2GB Corsair XMS3200 | Gigabyte 7800GTX | HDD's (All WD) 1x80GB, 2x320GB-RAID0 | Samsung LA40M81BD 40" 1080p LCD TV | Logitech Z-5500's
daforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-07, 01:59 PM   #107
bobskisr
Tree Trimmer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by randsom
From what I've read, its too big to fit in the thermaltake armor cause of the 25cm side fan...

It has got excellent reviews though.


um, wrong

its a tight fit, but it does fit

so far the the extreme is awesome.

I just got my q6600 up and running.I got in on the tiget direct deal.499.99

heres the new rig

q6600 w/ 120 extreme and 86.5 cfm fan
xfx 680i sli flashed to latest bios.
2 gig ocz pc6400
pc power and cooling 750 wat silencer
x-fi fatalty platinum
thermal armor silver aluminum case

havent attemped any ocing yet, thats coming today.So we shall see
Dr.Nick

I was just reading this thread and noticed that your Q6600 is at 3.22GHz. Is the top end for You / It? The reason Im asking is thats what I toped out at adjusting the FSB. The best I could do with the FSB was 1430. After that the system became unstable. Did you run into the same problem?

Bob Sli
__________________
Machine
MOBO BFG nForce 680i LT SLI Socket 775 Motherboard
CPU Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 4x2mb 1066FSB CPU
Memory Four (4) OCZ DFI Special Edition Dual Channel 1024MB PC6400 DDR2
GPU(s) Two (2) BFG GeForce 8800 GTX / 768MB GDDR3 / SLI Ready / PCI Express
PSU 750W Power supply
Hard Drives Two (2) HDs 500Gb each
OS(s) XP on drive C and VISTA on D
One (1) CD / DVD R-W (Plain Jane)
Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
Everything is SLI Certified

Running at 3.2GHz

3DMark06 16,746

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=2816910
bobskisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-07, 05:56 PM   #108
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Tbh, my oc was quite easy and painless and I only stopped going higher because of heat. I went straight to 400x8; once that was tested stable I dropped the multi to 7 and started raising the hsb until i was back to 3.2GHz. 500x6(3GHz) also runs great but I prefer the cpu clocks. I'm sure there is plenty of potential left if the heat could be taken care of.


@daforce: if your heatsink was on tight then there is no need for this mod. It could have been revised or some bad one simply slipped through quality control.
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 09:16 PM
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 01:00 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 03:50 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 09:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.