Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-07, 06:03 PM   #1
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default XBL Controller for the X360

I've purchased several of the XBL arcade games but quickly grew frustrated using the regular X360 controller with them. So, today while I was at Best Buy I checked the X360 aisle and what do you know, they have a controller just for the XBL games. I was really excited about this until I got home and found it's a wired controller. So, that dampened my enthusiasm a little but I'm still hoping this controller will help in games like pac-man, ms. pac-man, defender, galga, frogger, etc. It also comes with a coupon that you can redeem for 3 free XBL games. Unfortunately, I've already purchased all the XBL games I wanted but hopefully the coupon doesn't expire for a while.

Anyway, here's what it looks like. Also, as a sidenote, there's a designed for Windows XP logo on the box as well.

Edit: Actually, the coupons appear to be for specific XBL games. One is frogger (I already have that one), one is Astro Pop and the other one is Time Pilot. Never heard of the last two.

OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 06:15 PM   #2
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: XBL Controller for the X360

Wow that looks cool! Have you tried it with regular games like GoW; that turbo button looks mighty interesting?
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 06:27 PM   #3
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: XBL Controller for the X360

Not yet. I just got it a little while ago but I'll give it a shot in some of the non-XBL games to see how that goes. Also, I think I have GoW in the drive currently so that will be the first non-XBL game I try.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 07:41 PM   #4
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: XBL Controller for the X360

The joystick on this thing isn't exactly what I was hoping for. It's basically just a larger version of an analog stick. I was hoping it would only allow up-down-left-right. The problem in games like pac-man and ms. pac-man is that they go the wrong way sometimes b/c the joystick isn't exactly up-down-left-or-right. Having a larger version of the analog stick helps some though.

Last edited by OWA; 01-22-07 at 09:22 PM.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 08:06 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: XBL Controller for the X360

aww, its a shame the stick is that big/thick or you might have been able to make a template and force the stick to only move up-left-down-right

it still looks cool though and i learned about a new controller
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 08:14 PM   #6
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: XBL Controller for the X360

Where's the modding guys when you need em, you can probably take a Snes version of that and do what you want. I'd say take the nintendo one, but that only had 2 buttons.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-07, 09:25 PM   #7
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: XBL Controller for the X360

I was still able to top Buenamos' (Gamertag: iRandumi) high score in Ms. Pac-Man and that's all that is important. I tried yesterday with the regular controller and got too frustrated. So, it is helping. I haven't tried anything else yet.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
295.53: the kernel needs "acpi=off", thinkpad T420, nvs 4200M Imbrius NVIDIA Linux 1 05-27-12 07:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.