Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-06, 08:59 PM   #1
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Greetings.

I'm a Gentoo linux user and have bumped into a problem:

Lately I updated nvidia-kernel-1.0.8178-r2 and nvidia-glx-1.0.8178 drivers due a major system update to nvidia-drivers-1.0.8762-r1 (which seems to replace the two separate packages).

With my flat monitor Benq fp931, using analog VGA input only (there is no DVI-input on those)
Optimal resolution is 1280x1024, and this is the resolution I always been used and have worked flawlessly with the older nvidia-kernel-1.0.8178-r2/nvidia-glx-1.0.8178 drivers.

Now with the newer nvidia-drivers-1.0.8762-r1 I get a black border on the right side only, this black field is about an inch thick, and I cannot automatic nor manually adjusting the monitor to get rid of it. Its there as it was a part of the image, still 1280x1024 thou.

I have temporary solved this by reverting back to the previous drivers instead (1.0.8178)

What can I do to make this black border/field go away? This (Benq fp 931) monitor are NOT able to auto-sync nor manually getting rid of it.

Graphic card: GeForce 6600 (tried other nvidia GeForce-based cards aswell, same problem)
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-06, 09:12 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 04:13 AM   #3
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

As a workaround, you could run xvidtune on your working version (from a shell window), click the show button, and exit. Then cut and paste the last line of the output from that program into a Modeline in the xorg.conf file and force the new driver to use that.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 07:18 PM   #4
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Tried to add modelines in my xorg.conf. No diference at all.
As I try to change the settings in xvidtune I recieve an error when pressing "apply":
Quote:
Sorry: You have requested a mode-line
That is not possible, or not supported by your
hardware configuration
Just starting xvidtune and just hit apply with it's default values gives the error too

Checking the output from the terminal where startx where executed:
Quote:
xf86CheckModeForDriver: called with invalid scrnInfoRec
This message appear each time I try to apply any changes made in xvidtune.
Looks like xvidtune can't change the settings with the newer drivers.

So xvidtune seems not to be the solution, and those modelines I took from the older driver are not making any difference, tried to comment them out and back aswell.

Still using the older drivers since they work
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (17.6 KB, 128 views)
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 07:29 PM   #5
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

I'll try to attach /var/log/nvidia-installer.log soon.
Saw that this logfile where not found:
Quote:
/var/log/nvidia-installer.log does not exist
I believe Gentoo portage places logfiles on a different location.
.
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 07:42 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

The bug report that you posted was not generated following the instructions I provided.

Also, I see:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the GLX module; please check in your X
(EE) NVIDIA(0): log file that the GLX module has been loaded in your X
(EE) NVIDIA(0): server, and that the module is the NVIDIA GLX module. If
(EE) NVIDIA(0): you continue to encounter problems, Please try
(EE) NVIDIA(0): reinstalling the NVIDIA driver.

Something seems broken with your driver installation.

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-06, 10:25 AM   #7
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Yes. I saw that too. I thought this error was related to glx only and should not be resposible to cause my current problem.

Could be that I have some other problems due I had some trouble with gcc lately too.

Before proceeding in this problem I will set up a new clean gentoo installlation and test those drivers within that new enviroment instead.

Looks like this problem is related to Flatpanel Analog Benq fp931 monitors only, and if so, what and why is the problem like it is?
And why is this problem only related to the 87XX drivers and later?

Will be back with further reports and information.
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 09:33 AM   #8
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

After some deep search I found another thread about this problem:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...t=black+stripe

I'll try experiment arount a bit with this IgnoreEDID setting, I tried before, didn't help. But I'll give it another shot.
C'mon nVidia... you can't be like microsoft, fixing one thing and break another thing with your updates of drivers.
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-06, 06:30 PM   #9
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

At last... played around a bit and finally fixed it by adding a few options in xorg.conf:


First disable UseEDID in section "Device"
Code:
Option "UseEDID" "false"
Then manually tell the monitor what modelines I had when it worked before (extracted them with xvidtune with the old "working" drivers, this is done in section "Monitor"
Code:
ModeLine "1280x1024"   135.00   1280 1296 1440 1688   1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1024x768"     78.80   1024 1040 1136 1312    768  769  772  800 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600"      49.50    800  816  896 1056    600  601  604  625 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "640x480"      31.50    640  656  720  840    480  481  484  500 -hsync -vsync
It seems the new drivers are detecting the EDID from my Benq FP931 wrong somehow, and the old drivers detect the EDID correctly.
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-06, 04:05 AM   #10
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by SysGhost
At last... played around a bit and finally fixed it by adding a few options in xorg.conf
That is what I suggested in my reply on the 20th. Maybe I wasn't clear enough.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-06, 09:37 PM   #11
SysGhost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
That is what I suggested in my reply on the 20th. Maybe I wasn't clear enough.
Well... I had lots of trouble making the option "IgnoreEDID" to work, so I first thought I had some problems with the ModeLines.
Deeper searching showed me that "IgnoreEDID" wont work and I had to use the option "UseEDID" instead.

And the main problem still remains... the EDID from my Benq FP931 is incorrectly detected with the newer drivers. (Even if we can live with mentioned workaround above, it's not a permament solution)
SysGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-07, 10:32 AM   #12
thorei
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Black stripe on the right side, using Flatpanel with analog VGA

Hi folks,

to make things a little more complicated: I got the same problem, but I'm using the Benq FP931 as a second monitor in a dual-head (Xinerama) setup.

Everything is working fine except for that damned black stripe on the Benq monitor...
I have tried the solution suggested above and it works fine for the Benq, but then (without the use of EDID) the resolution of my main monitor drops to 640x480.

I think the problem appears because I'm using the same graphics card for both monitors (DVI + VGA) so that EDID is disabled globally, and not only for the Benq. Adding modelines for the primary monitor does not help either, the always remains 640x480.

Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated...

Best regards,

Thomas
thorei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.