Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-07, 03:17 AM   #1
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default 1.5 PS3 Firmware

it's up now.
It fixes the BC now, games dont look like they have been through a shredder anymore.
some other minor fixes but the BC is the most important I see now.

edit:
some images...


looks fine. you can throw away those ps2s now.
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]

Last edited by Bad_Boy; 01-24-07 at 03:43 AM.
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 09:42 AM   #2
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Awesome... I can't throw mine away yet... still need my Guitar Hero fix ;/.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 09:51 AM   #3
ENU291
Die spammer!! DIE!!!
 
ENU291's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 2,312
Send a message via AIM to ENU291 Send a message via Yahoo to ENU291
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

This is great news! Since BC is completely fixed I suggest anyone interested in the PS3 should run down to Gamestop and trade in your PS2s for that $100 discount.
__________________
EVGA 8800GTX; Asus MSN-SLI Deluxe mobo; Athlon X2 5200+(225X13/2.93GHZ); Corsair XMS TWIN2X (1024X4); WD Raptor 150GB HD; MAXTOR 500GB HD; CL X-Fi XtremeGamer; Xbox360 HD-DVD; Plextor 18X DVD-RW/+RW; Dell 2707WFP

Registered Linux User # 444118 Xbox360 GamerTag: StryderXx PSN ID: StryderXx


Quote:
Originally Posted by nVJoe
Gamers are the most unhappy and miserable consumer group I know of. Just sit back, relax and have fun.
ENU291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 09:52 AM   #4
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Yeah, I updated last night but was wondering what the changes were. Thanks for the info.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 01:08 PM   #5
Namrok
Level 42 Conquerer
 
Namrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 1,433
Send a message via ICQ to Namrok Send a message via AIM to Namrok
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Awesome, this is among the key fixes I was waiting for. Now there just need to be a few games too
__________________
Xbox360 GamerTag : Horkthane
PSN: Horkthane
SteamID: Namrok
Namrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 01:55 PM   #6
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hunt
Awesome... I can't throw mine away yet... still need my Guitar Hero fix ;/.
Theres a 3rd party adapter coming that will supposedly allow you to use GH and GH2 on the ps3 just fine.
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 02:57 PM   #7
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Awesome, I'm gonna play a ps2 game before I update to see the difference.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 04:13 PM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

oooh a BC fix.

that is awesome, i must admit

im waitin for MS to release their next round....
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-24-07, 04:40 PM   #9
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

so... what changed? What is BC? This entire thread is confusing the crap out of me....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 04:43 PM   #10
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
so... what changed? What is BC? This entire thread is confusing the crap out of me....
Backwards Compatibility.

The issue was that PS2 games would look like crap when playing them on PS3, ie jaggies look amplified for some reason. Apparently it has been fixed.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 05:43 PM   #11
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

According to a forum this also fixed the 720p issue, what is the 720p issue?
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 06:07 PM   #12
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: 1.5 PS3 Firmware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
According to a forum this also fixed the 720p issue, what is the 720p issue?
Not sure.

Another thing to add is that you can make you custom Avatar by uploading a pic instead of using the default ones Sony had you choose from.

Not sure why the hell they didn't have this from day one but it's there now. Now....which pic should I use......

EDIT: Just to clarify, it's the User avatar, not the PSN Avatar. It downscales the pic for you as well.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us

Last edited by Marvel_us; 01-24-07 at 11:26 PM.
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I play PS3 on my Sony Vaio while using HDMI cable? AbbieJohnson Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 06:04 AM
GeForce GTX 660 with 1.5 GB Memory, Coming Late June News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 06:40 AM
Rumor: Sony Cloud Deal Will Make PS3 Backwards Compatible, Stream PS2/PS1 games News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 01:10 PM
After installing Counter-Strike 1.5 ... eL_PuSHeR Gaming Central 4 09-02-02 07:29 PM
CD-RW Overclocking :D NeoGeo General Hardware 20 07-30-02 07:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.