Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-03, 07:45 AM   #1
joebeck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to joebeck
Unhappy I can't start in X window

Hi, everybody


I have a problem with GeForce4 Ti4200 A280 agp8x. I can't pass a test in graphics card when I setup. Because it's no graphics card match with Mandrake9.0. So I finished a setup, I can't start
in X window but it can operate in command line.

I just download driver

NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4191.tar.gz and
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.tar.gz

and install it. but I just found it hasn't XF86Config in /etc/X11/

How can I do next?

HELP ME! please....
joebeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 03:01 PM   #2
adminc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 7
Default Just a thought

when u install mandrake and u get to the point were it says intsall drivers for graphix. try to use vesa.
You can find that one under xfree4 and vesa it works for the most of the guys.

Then when u install ur nvida drivers u should have xfree 4.01 installed. dont forget to install kernel sources!

Hope this will help you
__________________
-- ADMINC --
adminc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 05:10 PM   #3
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: I can't start in X window

Quote:
Originally posted by joebeck
but I just found it hasn't XF86Config in /etc/X11/
What do you have in that directory? Anything?

Which version of X did you install?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 06:54 PM   #4
adminc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 7
Default

U used XFREE 4xxxx
and it should work with VESA drivers.

and when you finally have the Xfree installed you can install ur Nvida drivers.

Good Luck!
__________________
-- ADMINC --
adminc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 07:00 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adminc
and when you finally have the Xfree installed you can install ur Nvida drivers.
Not if there's no config file!
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 07:22 PM   #6
adminc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 7
Default

do u have msn or amsn???
__________________
-- ADMINC --
adminc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 01:04 AM   #7
joebeck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to joebeck
Default

My MSN : joe_beckham@hotmail.com

How can I check my XFree86's version?
I'm not sure, that is version 4.2.1 according to Mandrake9.0 installed,isn't it.

I installed
NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4191.tar.gz and
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.tar.gz

but I don't know I must install XFree86 version 4.3?

I am following to Readme but I can't change in XF86config or XF86config-4 because it's not have.

When I type XFree86 in command line. It say about no have XFconfig.

If I change distribution to Redhat8.0, I just found this problem?
joebeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-03, 04:30 AM   #8
joebeck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to joebeck
Default

I found new problem.

I install linux mandrake9.0 again, it has XF86config-4.
because I don't test a graphics card when I setup.

I install both
NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4191.tar.gz and
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.tar.gz

and change driver "nv" to "nvidia" in XF86config-4.

but when I startx, it make my computer hang.
I can't do anything until I push reset switch.

what happen? How I do next?
joebeck is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-11-03, 08:02 AM   #9
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Trying version 3123 (from http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=linux_display_archive) might help. Maybe. Just grab the .tar.gz version again, and compile it, then check to make sure that /dev/nvidia* is aliased to NVdriver in your /etc/modules.conf (I've had issues with the "make install" process not doing that automatically all the time -- though it appears to have worked for you in 4191 with Mandrake 9).

If that doesn't help, I don't know. Is anything on the screen when it "hangs"? How long have you waited? (some cards take FOREVER to start up X; they appear to be hung but it does come up after a few minutes -- there is a proposed solution in one of the threads here, having to do with reinstalling fontconfig or something like that -- ah, here it is).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft explained why they killed start button AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows 8 19 10-28-12 09:07 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
GPU Tech Conference Off to a Fast Start in San Jose News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 05:00 PM
Nero5.5.9.9 & "Empty Start Menu Entries" bug !!! cenkog General Software 2 09-21-02 12:57 AM
start up program cricket Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 1 08-31-02 01:54 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.