Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-03, 03:04 PM   #1
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Need help : Is this DVD defected..or.. (USING XBOX)

I currently brought 2 wrestling DVDs from Best Buy to watch on my XBOX. Now I have used a ton of DVDs on my xbox and NEVER had a problem. Ranging from Independant Films, dvds from blockbuster, steveo films, bumfights, and a ton more. These 2 DVDs are not working for some reason. I have posted on a message board saying perhaps that they are DIVX's and XBOX can't read them. I get the filthy disk error when I try and watch it. However, 1 of the DVDS were working but it wouldn't get past chapter 5 and it kept freezing. Is there a way to tell if they are DIVX's? Or are they defected or something? I put the DVD in my comp and I didn't see a DIVX file..if that makes any sense. I don't know much about DIVXs and stuff.

Any feedback would be helpfull, thanks
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 10:06 PM   #2
styles-T
-========-
 
styles-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Smallville
Posts: 492
Default

More likely defective..I cant see you buying 2 DVD's and getting Divx files from best buy..One way to check is get a divx player and try them on your comp..Or if you have a DVD player try them in your comp..Try other DVD's in your XBOX make sure they are playing as well..
__________________
♪♫♪♫ ASUS P6T | I7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | 6GB OCZ PC3-12800 | EVGA GTX570 | CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W |Antec 900 ♪♫♪♫
styles-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-03, 10:52 PM   #3
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default

My fault, I meant a VCD. Someone told me theres a chance it's in VCD format in order for the company to save money making them. I put the DVD in, and it doesn't do anything. All other DVDs work fine, but i'm not sure whats going on. I don't think VCD's can play in the xbox..any clue what else I can do to figure out if it's a VCD or something?

Thanks
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-03, 05:28 PM   #4
styles-T
-========-
 
styles-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Smallville
Posts: 492
Default

Yeah..Get a VCD player and try it on your comp..I think PowerDVD or Windvd software plays VCD's. If it plays under VCD then you have VCD's..If it plays under DVD's then you have DVD's..
__________________
♪♫♪♫ ASUS P6T | I7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | 6GB OCZ PC3-12800 | EVGA GTX570 | CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W |Antec 900 ♪♫♪♫
styles-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-03, 05:56 PM   #5
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default

i DON'T HAVE A dvd player on my comp though ;[
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-03, 06:05 PM   #6
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kapp
i DON'T HAVE A dvd player on my comp though ;[
Well if you can see anything on the disc in your computer it's probably a VCD. If not it's most likely a DVD.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-03, 08:18 PM   #7
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kapp
i DON'T HAVE A dvd player on my comp though ;[
You don't need a dvd drive to play vcds on your computer.
__________________
"The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away." - Tom Waits

Athlon XP 2100+ | 512MB PC3200 RAM | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | GeforceFX 5900 VIVO 128MB @ 475/950 | 2 Western Digital SATA 120GB HDD in RAID 0 | 1 IBM 60GXP 60GB HDD IDE | 36x 12x 48x CD-RW | Logitech Z-680 THX 5.1 Speakers | 19in. Samsung 955DF Monitor | Windows XP Pro
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-03, 08:24 PM   #8
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default

Yeah..I put the DVD in and it didn't work. It has an interactive menu when I got it working the 1st time so im guessing it's just defective..but it's weird..both of them? Maybe a bad shipment. Also, I noticed that the short time I did have it working, the curses were bleeped out, but on the DVD Case it says "uncensored"..so something is wrong here. I called them and they told me I can send it to them and they will send me replacements..however it's going to cost me 5 bucks extra..ill see if best buy has the dvds in stock, if not, ill wind up sending them in for replacements.

Thanks again all..
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaked Microsoft document details $299 Xbox 720 in 2013, Kinect glasses, OnLive acqui News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 05:30 AM
More Xbox leaks: Microsoft once considered an OnLive acquisition News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 10:11 PM
30 million-track Xbox Music service coming from Microsoft News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
When will we see DVD based games? thcdru2k Gaming Central 34 05-31-12 08:58 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.