Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-07, 01:33 PM   #13
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Has anyone run Quake 4 with vista?

Do you need to install direct x 9 to make it work?

Can you install direct x 9 or will it get rid of direct x 10?


UPDATE: I forgot to install the quake 4 1.3 update, now it works.


UPDATE: How do you get 3dmark 2006 to work? I get a dll not found error when i try to run it.

UPDATE: I reinstalled 3dmark 2006 and let it install dx9 and now it works.
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless edition mobo | AMD 64 X2 4800+ AM2 @ 3.0gigs | 2 Gigs Corsair Twin2X 6400C4 DDR2 @ 1000mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | EVGA 8800GTX | 150Gig Raptor SATA HD | NEC 16x DVD/RW | PC Power and Cooling 1Kilowatt Quad SLI PSU | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | WinXP Pro SP2

Last edited by nippyjun; 01-30-07 at 03:51 PM.
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 02:02 PM   #14
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

I think if I was still pc gaming I would stay far away from Vista, at least for a while. Since I don't game on any of my PC's Vista has been a godsend.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 02:10 PM   #15
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

I am having issues with Pro Evo 6 which crashes to the desktop everytime I try to play. The monitor also turns itself off every now and then when playing CoD. Must be the power saving mode.
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 03:11 PM   #16
XP_GUN
Registered User
 
XP_GUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orange CA.
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Well I am still trying to get everything installed so far on Windows 32bit

Only a little problem during install of iTunes and Quicktime where it was doing nothing and just hanging, I tryed to restart the program but couldent so I restarted the computer and tryed it again and worked.

iTunes a little unstable
Quicktime it runs lol

I have just got them installed ill let you know if anything happends
__________________
Yeah I use a Mac Mini now....
XP_GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 06:09 PM   #17
4Aces
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

What do you expect it's a clone of Linux and MacX OS's combined with a little XP thrown in. I've used it, it's lame, you can't get to your files as easily as you can with XP, IE7 alone is reason enough to stay away from this thing redmond says is an improvement, better or whatever they pump out the propaganda mill. They say XP will get support through 2011 or so, that will be when I consider a new OS.
4Aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 06:40 PM   #18
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,873
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

There is already a list guys...

http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.ph...ity_List#Games

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Aces
What do you expect it's a clone of Linux and MacX OS's combined with a little XP thrown in. I've used it, it's lame, you can't get to your files as easily as you can with XP, IE7 alone is reason enough to stay away from this thing redmond says is an improvement, better or whatever they pump out the propaganda mill. They say XP will get support through 2011 or so, that will be when I consider a new OS.
Nobody asked if you liked it or not, so go troll somewhere else.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 07:27 PM   #19
Tho Jo Smale
Maximum Speed
 
Tho Jo Smale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
There is already a list guys...

http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.ph...ity_List#Games



Nobody asked if you liked it or not, so go troll somewhere else.

There are alot of titles on that list as working that were reported earlier in the thread as broken.

Could that list be more than just a little optimistic?


JC
__________________
AMD X4 9850+ 200X15 Ram @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12 2T
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe (silly 3 year old mobo can't do DDR1066 with Phenom....damn ASUS!)
4gb Corsair PC8500 XMS2
Thermaltake 750w PSU
HIS Radeon 4870 1024MB 800/960 Cat 9.4 Beta
Creative X-FI APU
Western Digital 640gb Sata II Harddisk
Logitech Z-640 5.1 surround speakers
Lg 52X cd r/w and Lg 16x DVD R/W Lightscribe
3dmark06 14410 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=8600451
Newbs Helping Newbs brings a tear to my eye
Tho Jo Smale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 09:45 PM   #20
Tooth_DeKay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

To get BF2 working I had to disable the User Account Protection so that Punkbuster would stop kicking me out with insufficient privileges.

F.E.A.R. has never run slower!!!!

Also I have a 7950GX2 and the current vista driver sux.
In XP I get the temp from 1 GPU.
In linux I get the temp from both GPU's.
In vista I get no temps and only one GPU is working.
Tooth_DeKay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-30-07, 09:45 PM   #21
WimpMiester
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 221
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

How can NVIDIA release a press statement like this and yet not have a final (non-beta) fully functional driver at release time for any generation of video cards. Just smells like WinXP 64 all over again. I need a new system this year and Iím waiting till the full line of DX10 cards are out before I look into what Iím going to get. I canít see any reason to get Vista but since Iím going to get a new PC anyway Iím planning on having Vista 64 on it and throw in my old WinXP drive to dual boot until Vista is worth it.
WimpMiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 09:49 PM   #22
aniv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
"Microsoft has worked closely with NVIDIA to ensure that NVIDIA GPUs are excellent Windows Vista-ready solutions," said Anantha Kancherla, principal group program manager at Microsoft. "In addition, NVIDIA's work with DirectX 10 has resulted in outstanding GPUs that will exceed gamers' needs for the next generation."
I am so ashamed to be of Indian origin (Anantha Kancherla is Indian) Microsoft has probably worked with Nvidia in bed. Its been 3 months since RTM, no working SLI Drivers for 8800's on Vista yet. Oh well maybe they will be out tomorrow, even then I fail to understand why they didnt work with Microsoft's so called elite OS with 5 yrs of effort and almost 5 million beta testers to test and certify popular hardware.

Anyways doesnt matter anymore and people who want to say that I am impatient need to get a life. I paid for a solution!! Not begging for one
aniv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 09:50 PM   #23
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tooth_DeKay
To get BF2 working I had to disable the User Account Protection so that Punkbuster would stop kicking me out with insufficient privileges.

F.E.A.R. has never run slower!!!!

Also I have a 7950GX2 and the current vista driver sux.
In XP I get the temp from 1 GPU.
In linux I get the temp from both GPU's.
In vista I get no temps and only one GPU is working.
welcome to the club

thats 5 people i know that have horrible FEAR performance
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 10:06 PM   #24
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Doom 3 runs, but its about 30fps slower in Vista. 1920x1200 Ultra Quality 16xAA gets about 88fps in XP, and about 57 in Vista.

Quake 4 on the other hand, will not load any level or map, all I get is a grey screen half way through loading.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
[NVIDIA REMINDER] Missing Linux kernel => 3.4.x compatibility artem NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 07:09 PM
Windows 2000 Compatibility util, post-sp3 PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 3 09-04-02 12:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.