Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-07, 07:21 AM   #37
Remi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 169
Thumbs up Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Tried yesterday evening on Vista RTM x64 on GF8 with 100.54:
- BF 2 : ok
- BF 2142 : ok
- Rainbow 6 : Vegas : ok

All the nv4 and G80 demos from nvidia work fine on that config.
Remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 08:44 AM   #38
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

hmm...gonna be the end of the year or alter before I touch Vista....right now if you love directx9 games xp is the way to go..most devs are going to stay away from directx10 for at least 6 more months. I'm not worried. In another year the kinks will be worked out. Then I can get a laptop with a mobile g80 and vista and all that crap preinstalled and working.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 12:33 PM   #39
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Nostromo n50 SpeedPad Does anyone have this and does it work in vista? I wasn't sure if Vista shiped with drivers for this? I can not game with out this.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 02:09 PM   #40
scott123
Registered User
 
scott123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 473
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Specs below:

Ntune (Vista 64bit version) does not function properly even though Nvidia says it "works with all motherboards". This statement is correct for wnidows XP, but not Vista 64bit. Ntune after being installed only allows for 3D display settings. The GPU settings (overclocking and fan control) are gone.
__________________
ASUS P5B Deluxe
Intel Core Duo 6600
eVGA 8800GTX
Creative Xfi
Cooler Master CM Stacker STC-T01
scott123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 12:40 AM   #41
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Dumb question,

I thought Vista was supposed to have a version of DX 9 in it called something along the lines of "L". If this so why did I have to install regular old DX 9.0c to get my D3D games up?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 03:21 PM   #42
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malficar
Dumb question,

I thought Vista was supposed to have a version of DX 9 in it called something along the lines of "L". If this so why did I have to install regular old DX 9.0c to get my D3D games up?
Excellent question. I was wondering the same thing last night!
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 06:48 PM   #43
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Anyone managed to install Maya 8.5 and 3D Studio Max 9 successfully in Vista? Last time I installed Max 9, I got startup error. I yet to install Maya 8.5 but I'm going to at this moment.

Update: When I start Max 9, error screen came up "DLL <C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 9\stdplugs\DxPlugins\DxDDS.bmi> failed to initialize. Error code: 998 - Invalid access to memory location."

But I can resume and use the program. I'm not sure what this error screen is for.

Update 2: Okay it appears DDS is other texture format based on DirectX, I guess I don't have to worry about it at least for now. Other than small glitchy viewports (to fix this, check "disable desktop composition" under compatibility mode option) I'm ok. Hopefully we see patch/update from Autodesk soon.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!

Last edited by NaitoSan; 02-02-07 at 07:28 PM.
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-07, 02:52 AM   #44
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Nostromo n50 SpeedPad Does anyone have this and does it work in vista? I wasn't sure if Vista shiped with drivers for this? I can not game with out this.
I don't have an N50, but rather an N52. I'll check and see if that works when I get some time.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-03-07, 09:43 AM   #45
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
I don't have an N50, but rather an N52. I'll check and see if that works when I get some time.
Thanks man, they use the same drivers.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-07, 06:54 PM   #46
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Thanks man, they use the same drivers.
Everything seems to be in order here. The install shield didn't work correctly, so I had to use winrar to get the setup file extracted from the file that you download, but it installed just fine. It's been a while since I used it, but I'm assuming the profile loadout is working fine. I created my own profile, and added in a macro that was programmed onto the red keyset. I had no problems using the alt key set, or it running the macro, and all of the buttons seemed to work correctly. You should be good as far as that is concerned. *Used the v3.0d drivers from belkin*
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-07, 07:15 PM   #47
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
Everything seems to be in order here. The install shield didn't work correctly, so I had to use winrar to get the setup file extracted from the file that you download, but it installed just fine. It's been a while since I used it, but I'm assuming the profile loadout is working fine. I created my own profile, and added in a macro that was programmed onto the red keyset. I had no problems using the alt key set, or it running the macro, and all of the buttons seemed to work correctly. You should be good as far as that is concerned. *Used the v3.0d drivers from belkin*
Sweet ty man, Belkin never released a driver for vista, I tryed to use the v3.0d drivers from belkin in RC2 and it would let me use the profile it was greyed out and wouldn't work. Thanks for going through the trouble of testing it man.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-07, 07:21 PM   #48
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Sweet ty man, Belkin never released a driver for vista, I tryed to use the v3.0d drivers from belkin in RC2 and it would let me use the profile it was greyed out and wouldn't work. Thanks for going through the trouble of testing it man.
Not a big deal, glad to help.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
[NVIDIA REMINDER] Missing Linux kernel => 3.4.x compatibility artem NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 06:09 PM
Windows 2000 Compatibility util, post-sp3 PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 3 09-03-02 11:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.