Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-07, 03:31 AM   #49
Absolution
AbsoUI
 
Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 933
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

KOTORII works about 1/20 times i launch the application.


so in otherwords, it takes me about 5 minutes of pure clicking before it will launch
Absolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-07, 04:12 PM   #50
Tho Jo Smale
Maximum Speed
 
Tho Jo Smale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
This is probably because of nvidia drivers rather than the OS itself. They could have been using a more stable version, a different manufacturer, etc.
Yeah, I'm debating on when to purchase Vista....I know I'll buy the 32bit Ultimate...and I'm concerned about compatibility......might need to wait for Vista SP1 and some more time on driver development. Like many people are saying....vista is just an option right now....and once we see some more developement time for 3rd parties....it'll all work out and hopefully we'll see a better, faster, and more stable OS than XP.....which was leaps and bounds better than Win98 and 95 as many of you will recall. Personnally I have respect for those people who adopt this new OS right away, help debug it, and assist others in getting things up and running.


JC
__________________
AMD X4 9850+ 200X15 Ram @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12 2T
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe (silly 3 year old mobo can't do DDR1066 with Phenom....damn ASUS!)
4gb Corsair PC8500 XMS2
Thermaltake 750w PSU
HIS Radeon 4870 1024MB 800/960 Cat 9.4 Beta
Creative X-FI APU
Western Digital 640gb Sata II Harddisk
Logitech Z-640 5.1 surround speakers
Lg 52X cd r/w and Lg 16x DVD R/W Lightscribe
3dmark06 14410 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=8600451
Newbs Helping Newbs brings a tear to my eye
Tho Jo Smale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-07, 01:13 PM   #51
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Well using AA+HDR in Oblivion is broke in Vista with the current drivers.

Honestly, to those of you that haven't got it, I'd say wait. Peformance is the same or worse, particularly in OGL. It does have some nice security features and aero glass looks cool. I am considering putting back MCE 2005 though. I guess I could put MCE 2005 on my secondary drive and dual boot.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-07, 02:34 AM   #52
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Any compatibility updates? I got a copy of Vista sitting on my desk..
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 06:11 AM   #53
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

The new version of Opera (9.1) works very well, best version of the browser to date. On my system at least it's finally as fast, if not faster, than IE and Firefox. They've also increased compatibility. I'm not completely done testing it yet, but I may just switch it to my primary browser.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 10:43 AM   #54
Scunner
Veni, Vidi, Calcitro Anus
 
Scunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 127.0.0.2 (I moved)
Posts: 377
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monolyth
-World of Warcraft - Frequent hard locks and BSOD's at random intervals. There are previously known issues with some areas in Burning Crusade & 8800GTX drivers in XP (imagine issues are still present in Vista), that cause a BSOD 100% of the time, this may be part of the problem.
I was having this exact problem in XP (A8N-32 SLI Deluxe, 8800GTX, 4800+ X2) and it was seriously frustrating. Once I got my C2D machine up and running (E6700, P5W DH Dlx, 8800GTX) with Vista Ultimate X86 I "repaired" WoW without having to install it again, and it runs just fine. For the first time since BC came out, I played for several hours without a single reboot, bsod, or crash. I got disconnected a couple of times, but I hear that's a WoW server problem.
Scunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 11:42 AM   #55
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

CS 1.6 Forceware 97.46 - There seems to be a lot of FPS issues with this at the moment. 100FPS when nothing is happening, but it drops to around 30-40 when 2/3 players are on screen. It also likes to slow down in random areas too, even without anything going on. I have 2 friends with Vista which are getting the same issue.

Vista Ultimate 32bit
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-07, 08:26 PM   #56
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Someone already mentioned Gothic 3 but my symptoms are different so I'm going to list it also. Using the 100.65 and Vista-64, Gothic runs and looks fine but it's only running at 3fps. Edit: Not sure where the issue lies (drivers or Vista) though.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-07, 01:37 PM   #57
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Doom runs fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-07, 08:47 PM   #58
verncat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 121
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Sweet ty man, Belkin never released a driver for vista, I tryed to use the v3.0d drivers from belkin in RC2 and it would let me use the profile it was greyed out and wouldn't work. Thanks for going through the trouble of testing it man.
Belkin's latest driver version is v3.0g. It works perfectly with Vista 32bit, but is completely non-functional in 64bit, at least for me. I've read on other forums that some actually get these to work in 64bit. I couldn't.

Shawn

Link:

http://www.belkin.com/uk/software-dr...stromo_v3g.exe

Second link. I've read that others have gotten this 64bit version of the driver to work under Vista 64bit. Someone try them and let me know. I have 32bit Ultimate installed right now and can'check.

http://files.filefront.com/Nostromo_.../fileinfo.html
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS EVO Core i7 965EE Vista Ultimate 64bit BFG GTX295 6x2gig OZC Plat DDR3-1600 XF-I Titanium/ Logitech Z-5500's 32WD 640gig HD's & Areca ARC-1210 raid card Corsair 1000 watt psu
verncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-07, 03:23 AM   #59
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

nn_step over @ XS had this in his sig:



BTW while I am here; before you give up on an application try selecting "run as an administrator" from the drop down menu when you right click. Ad-aware Se will run fine and will not remove tracking cookies it finds unless I run it as an admin.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-07, 04:58 AM   #60
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Application Compatibility Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash
nn_step over @ XS had this in his sig:



BTW while I am here; before you give up on an application try selecting "run as an administrator" from the drop down menu when you right click. Ad-aware Se will run fine and will not remove tracking cookies it finds unless I run it as an admin.
Lmao..that's awesome.

Thanks for the tip on ad-aware.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
[NVIDIA REMINDER] Missing Linux kernel => 3.4.x compatibility artem NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 06:09 PM
Windows 2000 Compatibility util, post-sp3 PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 3 09-03-02 11:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.