Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-07, 09:43 PM   #13
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Yeah why not if you got the money, Iím sure there is some gain maybe unnoticeable but some gain.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 10:01 PM   #14
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
Well I'm sure just like we saw with the jump from 1GB to 2GB....4GB will become more of a necessity probably sooner than later.
I dout it really, we wont be needing 4GB for a long time, especially with GPUs getting more and more RAM. It will only be an issue with EA titles that are well not optimized at all.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 10:24 PM   #15
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

I dunno Magus, ram is definetly one of those things that I make sure the pc has enough of. I think that it might be another year before we really need more than 2GB, but I already know a few games that are creeping up on 1GB of ram for just the game itself. You'll probably want to have minimum 1GB set aside for Vista and all of your other background stuff, so I really don't see it being that long before everyone starting moving to 4GB.

I've always loved when people get brand new pcs with the best processor in them, but absolutely nothing for ram. We have a bunch P4 1.8GHZ boxes with 1GB of ram in them, and they'll run circles around anything with only 512MB.

EDIT: Oh yea, I'd venture that pricing will dictate the move as much as necessity. If ram wasn't so much I'd probably be running 4GB right now.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 10:29 PM   #16
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Well Im' gonna give it a go
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 10:34 PM   #17
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63
Well Im' gonna give it a go
*Eyes up Lee's Rig*

Nope sorry, nothing in there that I need atm, just give it a little time.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 11:35 PM   #18
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
I dout it really, we wont be needing 4GB for a long time, especially with GPUs getting more and more RAM. It will only be an issue with EA titles that are well not optimized at all.
You must be talking about BF2.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 11:37 PM   #19
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
$529. Holy crap.
this is jakup your talking about here...prices smices...
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 11:39 PM   #20
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Do you make them in 2GB DIMMs? I wouldn't think it would be good to get 4 DIMMs if you plan on overclocking, always though that was bad...
If you take a look here at NewEgg 6 4GB(2 x 2GB) parts:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=

So far only G-Skill and Geil have 2BD DIMMS out that I have really seen. It will only be a matter of time before Corsair and OCZ get in on the act.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-07, 11:40 PM   #21
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsam
this is jakup your talking about here...prices smices...
IMO opinion its not too incredibly bad considering it is 4GB.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 11:41 PM   #22
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

i'm running 4x1GB of ram at PC4000 right now.
I made the jump simply because I had the extra kit lying around so I installed it. It will be worth it imo when i get my copy of vista.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 11:43 PM   #23
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
You must be talking about BF2.
What, it wasn't like the 1.02 patch had a memory leak or anything... I never saw that game take over 1.2GB of ram before it finally crashed.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 08:13 AM   #24
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Move to 4GB of Memory?

I always played BF2 with only 2GB of ram and never got any stuttering or anything in that game. Played as smooth as a baby's a**.

Has anybody tested the amount of ram Vista uses once you turn the aero glass effect off?
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$64.99 - CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 Desktop Memory News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 02:30 AM
EVGA Releases GeForce GTX 680 Classified with 4GB Memory News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.