Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-07, 02:39 PM   #1
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

My question is if i upgrade to a core duo e6600 I believe and new mobo evga 680 or whatever it is and 2 gigs of ram which all in all is about 850 will that be a huge improvement over my current set up or will it marginal, would the money spent be worth it. Thanks
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 03:44 PM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saintster
My question is if i upgrade to a core duo e6600 I believe and new mobo evga 680 or whatever it is and 2 gigs of ram which all in all is about 850 will that be a huge improvement over my current set up or will it marginal, would the money spent be worth it. Thanks
If you have the $$$ go for it. Your proc is probably right on par with a E6600 at stock speeds. So if you don't overclock the Core 2, then you probably won't really notice a differnce. If you do overclock it, you can get up to 50% increase in performance since they can usually overclock very well. That processor runs at 2.4 stock, and I'm sure you'd have no problems getting a 33% increase out of it, aka 3.2GHZ.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 03:47 PM   #3
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Thanks for the reply. Kinda pricey for that performance gain. Thanks again.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 07:57 PM   #4
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Well so far i have managed to get mt E4300 1800MHz processor to 3Ghz so got a 1.2GHz out of the CPU I know i can get more but my boards voltage is a little flacky i sjould be able to get more if i can get the voltage past 1.4, the next option i can get the voltage is 1.63 so a little too high. need more like 1.55. so a 1.2GHz overclock with an increase of 0.08v that and i have only been playing around with it for a couple of hours there are tonnes of options.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 02:24 PM   #5
Demon_82
El Destructor
 
Demon_82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Getafe, (Madrid) Kingdom of Spain
Posts: 90
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

The rightest answer is that the difference depends on what you measure. But in nearly every test there is only two results, a techincal draw, or a clear superiority from the E6600, at stock speeds. Check the CPU charts from Toms Hardware for example, and you'll find what I say, a few tests favour the AMD FX60, others have nearly the same performance, but where the scores get more distant, always the Core 2 Duo E6600 is the one winning. And it has a vastly superior overclocking margin, so when both are overclocked to the limit, the E6600 has even more superiority.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3'80GHz (Scythe Mugen II)
MSI GTX560 Ti Twin Frozr II @ 960/1920/2280
Asus P6T BIOS 1408
6 x 2GB Kingston ValueRam DDR3 1333 @ 1520
Nox Pulsar 750w / Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64Bits
Demon_82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 06:07 PM   #6
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon_82
The rightest answer is that the difference depends on what you measure. But in nearly every test there is only two results, a techincal draw, or a clear superiority from the E6600, at stock speeds. Check the CPU charts from Toms Hardware for example, and you'll find what I say, a few tests favour the AMD FX60, others have nearly the same performance, but where the scores get more distant, always the Core 2 Duo E6600 is the one winning. And it has a vastly superior overclocking margin, so when both are overclocked to the limit, the E6600 has even more superiority.
The FX-60 @ 3.0 is right about in line with the E6600 at stock speeds. There are some tests where the C2D's will come out ahead it, but overall I think it is comparible. You are correct that stock to stock it is always going to be the E6600, and once you OC the E6600 will be much faster.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 10:51 PM   #7
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Thanks for the replies. I'll keep my fx 60 for another year and when I build another rig I'll go with what ever is top dog at that time. For now the fx will suffice.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 11:21 PM   #8
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

What video card are you or will be using? The FX-60 is sure going to hold back your video cards if you're going to a 8800 SLI setup.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-01-07, 11:31 PM   #9
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

If you have the FX60, dont bother, its not worth that extra 10%

Regaurdless of what people say, there are VERY VERY few games that will hold back your video card while using sli. Mostly those games that dont look especialy good but are made to apeal to a mass audience (Sims 2 comes to mind)
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 11:36 PM   #10
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Its definetely worth it Runs cooler, runs faster, uses less power... go for it.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 11:54 PM   #11
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

How much faster is the FX60 than the X2 4800+? My X2 4800+ held back the single 8800 GTX by quite a lot.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 11:56 PM   #12
marqmajere
GeVooForceDoo
 
marqmajere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Quick question amd fx 60 vs core duo

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Its definetely worth it Runs cooler, runs faster, uses less power... go for it.

Yes, but $850 for an improvment you might not even really notice?
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!

Desktop - Asus M3A78-CM | AMD Phenom II 965 | 4 gigs G. Skill 1066 | ATI 5850 1 gig | WD 1TB Black
| Windows7 64-bit


Laptop - m11x
marqmajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD To Put An ARM Core On Future Fusion APUs News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 06:00 PM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Quick question FastM General Hardware 6 09-25-02 08:24 PM
Quick question about Digital din with the Audigy Tactics General Hardware 4 08-12-02 12:16 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.