Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-07, 08:25 PM   #97
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

the pauses for me doesn't happen during fights but when im traveling... i will be running and BAM pause and I stop running.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 08:34 PM   #98
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Magus - That means you are chunking...While the world is "seamless", it still has zones (Sigil calls them "chunks")...In beta, the map showed the chunk lines. Mine seem to last .5 to 1 second, but I always "chunk" faster then the rest of my group. I think it might be my proximity to the servers. My ping is almost always "green". Even at 3-4 seconds, it's still a hell of a lot better than the long "Loading" screens seen in EQ/EQ2 when loading a new zone...By the way, chunking is alot better than it used to be, and I think within a few months it will be close to seamless (I hope)...
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 08:37 PM   #99
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Why don't remove this all together considering its streaming most of the world already. Don't say they can't because there are plenty of games that allow streaming the world in, Lineage 2 does perfectly smooth and it has as large of a world.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 08:38 PM   #100
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Ok guys I rolled a noob on Woefeather (Sodumb Insane) and ran to the crafting room in Khal. On the road down to Khal I was clocking 145FPS. In the guard barracks which is like the crafting room in size yet had no players I was getting 54 FPS when viewing end to end with depth of field @ 1680x balanced settings.

Here is the crafting room in Khal full of players (at least 23) 1680x and 1024x balanced setting no AF:

1680x


Peak FPS I was able to get:



1024x


Peak FPS I was able to get:



Now for the important ones-

1024x highest performance< that's not a typo:



Peak FPS I was able to get:


Note, I am trying to shoot the whole room end to end and not look at a wall. Sometimes the FPS would rise to 18FPS and then drop right back into the range captured when players would leave, arrive or just move around. I was perfectly still. So the problem is cities plus players in concentration for whatever the reason.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-07, 03:32 AM   #101
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Good to see you guys doing some testing on this game, yeah i think everyone is getting these problems.

Watch your H/D light while its slowing down youll see it thrashing badly, unless its just me

Someone needs to tell these guys about NVPerfKit 2.2
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 03:58 AM   #102
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Yeah it amazes me how people with other hardware report performance problems in some of the same areas yet folks crow about the 8800GTX.

I have seen plenty of posts from folks using other graphics cards, CPUs etc. Yes, that includes Crossfire users that have the highest end card.

If the 8800 was so flawed it wouldn't chew through every other game I own with high levels of filtering @ 1680x.

Having that small FPS increase between highest and lowest settings in the crafting room of Khal @ 1024x when it's full of players is not nVidia's fault. That's a CPU limited res and even more so @1024x lowest image quality. That's it, I am CPU limited in VG

They definitely need to tune VG and I wish them luck in doing it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 06:25 AM   #103
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

I don't think an Octocore could run the Hathor Zhi crafting hall at 20+fps.

That stuff is pretty complicated, though.. seems to use lots of calculations when you're crafting stuff, so maybe it is hitting the cpu pretty hard with all those characters creating items at once.

Then again, even outside the crafting halls, in the main camp on the hill, it slows down around 25fps on my setup. I just think there's a lot of optimization issues with some CPU-tasks like upgrading armor, weapons, etc.

But still, I'm addicted to it like a crack wh*re and I go back to my pipe every night.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-07, 02:47 PM   #104
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Well 4gb ram does squat for Hathor Zhi so don't buy more ram thinking that will fix it.

EDIT:

Found another odd thing. Disabling bloom and enabling HDR greatly smooths out the game in Khal for whatever the reason. I left it otherwise @ 1680x highest quality 16x AF with sliders pegged right.

EDIT II: Yep it helped in Hathor Zhi too. With the same settings above I am getting over 30FPS in the crafting room full of players. I have tried running around them both three times in a row and the results are consistent. Sh$t I think I fixed my only complaint; cities full of players.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-07, 03:36 PM   #105
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

I still think the problems have to do with the fact the game was built to run with the Physx Card.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:23 PM   #106
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

I cancelled my account guys, have fun... I just don't have the time to play the game aswell as all the others I have to play, been fun.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:50 PM   #107
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
I still think the problems have to do with the fact the game was built to run with the Physx Card.
That's just stupid, if so. Less than 1% of the population out there owns PhysX cards; why in the hell would they cater to the extreme minority and make the rest of us suffer?
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 04:58 AM   #108
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard: FFA PvP Server

Btw guys,

Using the command /flush will clear whatever the game has cached. It may be a good idea to do from time to time.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fujitsu Marries GPUs and Xeon in High-Density HPC Server News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
Virtualization, Windows Server 2012 dominate Microsoft's TechEd News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 06:10 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.