Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-05, 01:11 AM   #1
Sean84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Unhappy which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

I bought a pcie 6600gt, when I found out nvidia removed the video overlay, it went back...

Which of the newer PCIE cards still have hardware video overlay?
6800NU,Gt,ultra,7800gt,gtx

without the overlay there are no controls for xvideo, brightness,contrast,hue,etc

Looking for nv17 video overlay in xvinfo
older nvidia card
Xvideo: NV17 Video Overlay: input image, ports 140-140
Xvideo: NV17 Video Texture: input image, ports 141-141
Xvideo: NV05 Video Blitter: input image, ports 142-173
Xvideo: NVIDIA Video Interface Port: input video, ports 174-174

6600gt only has
Xvideo: NV17 Video Texture: input image, ports 271-271
Xvideo: NV05 Video Blitter: input image, ports 272-303
^no video overlay, or video interface port(whatever that is)

Does anyone have a PCIE 6800NU card? chip is nv41? (must be pcie, agp version is nv40 which still has overlay)
Does it have NV17 video overlay?
can you post what lspci identifies the video card as, and the output of xvinfo

The pcie 6800gt,ultra are nv45?, same transistor count as nv40 at 222
do these cards have overlay still? yes, no


What about the newer 7800GT,GTX?
Do they have video overlay?

yes, there are other threads relating to the missing video overlay for 6600cards , I want to know about the other cards...
I'm mainly looking for answers on the 6800nu pcie as its the cheaper of the bunch, but would also like to know about the others,
if nvidia is removing this this from all its future cards, I wont be buying any future nvidia cards...

sorry for the long post
Sean84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 07:33 AM   #2
justinc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 26
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

7800GTX doesnt seem to - looks like you will have to live without it.

[justin@rospo ~]$ DISPLAY=:0 xvinfo
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
Adaptor #0: "NV17 Video Texture"
number of ports: 1
port base: 270
operations supported: PutImage
supported visuals:
depth 24, visualID 0x21
depth 24, visualID 0x23
..snip
depth 24, visualID 0x6f
depth 24, visualID 0x70
number of attributes: 3
"XV_SET_DEFAULTS" (range 0 to 0)
client settable attribute
"XV_ITURBT_709" (range 0 to 1)
client settable attribute
client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
"XV_SYNC_TO_VBLANK" (range 0 to 1)
client settable attribute
client gettable attribute (current value is 1)
maximum XvImage size: 2046 x 2046
Number of image formats: 4
id: 0x32595559 (YUY2)
guid: 59555932-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 16
number of planes: 1
type: YUV (packed)
id: 0x32315659 (YV12)
guid: 59563132-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 12
number of planes: 3
type: YUV (planar)
id: 0x59565955 (UYVY)
guid: 55595659-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 16
number of planes: 1
type: YUV (packed)
id: 0x30323449 (I420)
guid: 49343230-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 12
number of planes: 3
type: YUV (planar)
Adaptor #1: "NV05 Video Blitter"
number of ports: 32
port base: 271
operations supported: PutImage
supported visuals:
depth 24, visualID 0x21
(snip)
depth 24, visualID 0x6f
depth 24, visualID 0x70
number of attributes: 2
"XV_SET_DEFAULTS" (range 0 to 0)
client settable attribute
"XV_SYNC_TO_VBLANK" (range 0 to 1)
client settable attribute
client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
maximum XvImage size: 2046 x 2046
Number of image formats: 5
id: 0x32595559 (YUY2)
guid: 59555932-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 16
number of planes: 1
type: YUV (packed)
id: 0x32315659 (YV12)
guid: 59563132-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 12
number of planes: 3
type: YUV (planar)
id: 0x59565955 (UYVY)
guid: 55595659-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 16
number of planes: 1
type: YUV (packed)
id: 0x30323449 (I420)
guid: 49343230-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 12
number of planes: 3
type: YUV (planar)
id: 0x3
guid: 03000000-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
bits per pixel: 32
number of planes: 1
type: RGB (packed)
depth: 24
red, green, blue masks: 0xff0000, 0xff00, 0xff

05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0091 (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Subsystem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 02c2
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 66
Memory at fa000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
Memory at b0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
Memory at fb000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
I/O ports at 6c00 [size=128]
justinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 01:31 PM   #3
Sean84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

Thanks for the info, that eliminates the 7800
can someone with a 6800 non ultra, non gt pcie(nv41?), post xvinfo output?
Sean84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-05, 05:01 PM   #4
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

Don't feel too bad. While my card has these controls they don't work on the DVI port, even when I make that port the first screen (see my thread recently).
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 09:06 AM   #5
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

All 6800's have the overlay.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 02:59 PM   #6
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

My xvinfo (GeForce 6800 Ultra).

EDIT: It's not PCIE, it is AGP (didn't notice that it should be PCIE).
Attached Files
File Type: txt xvinfo.txt (20.7 KB, 287 views)

Last edited by LubosD; 08-17-05 at 03:10 PM.
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 03:11 PM   #7
Sean84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyke
All 6800's have the overlay.
all AGP 6800's have overlay, nv40 chips
pcie is a different mess....


is that an agp card?
Sean84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-05, 07:51 AM   #8
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

yes
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-05, 11:07 AM   #9
davemoore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 50
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

What exactly do you need the brightness, contrast, hue controls for?

I suspect NVIDIA is abandoning video overlay in favor of video texture on future products because the latter is a more extensible way of doing it.
davemoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-07, 09:36 PM   #10
kokoko3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

7900GS here, xvinfo reports no overlay video adaptor.

There's something strange which happens under windows:
by default i get no overlay at all, but if i change the speed of the memory clock by 5Mhz (more or less) or more, overlay becomes available (if i make a screenshot of the desktop the overlay window playing a video appears black)

So overlay is still supported by hardware (at least on my card), but 'somehow' support is missing (for my card) by the newest nvidia drivers.

What the... ?! Someone ?
kokoko3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 06:31 AM   #11
zbiggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

My FX5200 has overlay. AGP8x card.

My GF6150 has NO overlay. Chip on PCI bus as cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0 says:
Model: GeForce 6150
IRQ: 21
Video BIOS: 05.51.22.26.07
Card Type: PCI
DMA Size: 39 bits
DMA Mask: 0x7fffffffff

lspci:
00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C51PV [GeForce 6150] (rev a2)
00:05.0 0300: 10de:0240 (rev a2)

Last edited by zbiggy; 01-13-07 at 06:54 AM.
zbiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 12:36 PM   #12
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: which PCIE cards have video overlay 6800,7800? 6600gt doesnt

Holy thread resurrecting batman.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
basemosaic on 3 video cards shock32638 NVIDIA Linux 1 06-05-12 08:46 PM
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 04:51 PM
Overlay Freeze on video mirroring PeQuE NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-06-02 06:26 AM
Two video cards? jc4ever General Hardware 3 08-16-02 10:11 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.