Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-07, 01:06 PM   #1
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Question Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

I have an AZIO E-SATA enclosure with a Seagate 320Gb drive in it. Its plugged into the e-sata interface which is plugged into sata port 3 on my motherboard. As far as the computer is concerned, its an internal plug and play SATA hard drive.

In XP I have no problem turning it on or off in windows (other than shared folders being reset, but thats not important right now). When it comes on it instantly shows up in My Computer and it goes through the auto run process.

In Vista however, the drive isn't detected if it isnt turned on before the OS loads. I can switch it on and the light comes on but it just does nothing. It doesn't spin up, it doesnt make any noise and no matter what I do, I can't get the computer to initialize it. I tried scanning for hardware changes in device manager and I don't know my way around vista well enough yet to find any SATA specific configuration programs (like the "Safely Remove Hardware" thing in XP). It works fine if I have it on when I reboot. It also doesn't require any drivers.

Anyone have any ideas? Is there a setting I've missed or is this just a bug that will need to be worked out with a windows update or a driver?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 03:31 PM   #2
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

Hmm, I had a problem similar to that in XP with my e-SATA enclosure...but the problem was that the enclose doesn't like SATAII for some reason...When I would turn it on it wouldn't spin up or anything. Put the old SATAI drive back in and it works fine...So I don't know. You say it works fine in XP?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 03:56 PM   #3
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

I'm also having an issue with eSATA. My board has an actual eSATA port on the back. I've got the nexstar3 enclosure and it works fine in XP through USB but it's a no go on eSATA with vista or XP and with USB you can't boot to it, or at least I can't.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817145167
As far as I can tell it should support SATA-II. I've even tried using the SATA-to-eSATA converter cable and it's still a no go.

What's the model # or your enclosure your using CaptKILL?
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-07, 12:51 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

My enclosure is model # ENC311SU31.

And yes it works perfectly fine in XP.

I'm using XP. Its off right now.

I just turned it on, and it spun up. And Windows is doing the "autoplay" thing where it scans the drive.

In Vista, it does nothing when I turn it on in windows (except the enclosure's power light turns on). If I turn it on and reboot it spins up when the computer boots (like normal) and works fine in Vista and XP.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 07:48 AM   #5
Macoland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

I am another user that just realized I have that problem as well. I just purchased last week an Apricorn brand Esata drive. They have always been great drives and here it is below:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817362002

Anyway, I am dual booting with a very small partition for Vista just so I could make sure everything worked. I found updated drivers for just about everything. Then last night I decided to turn on my Esata drive and nothing happened. It turned on, but never showed up. Like everyone else my Esata drive works perfectly in Windows XP.

I tried rebooting with the drive on and it did work in Windows Vista, but after I turned the drive off (after Vista had booted) the drive letter still appeared even though the drive was off.

I have been searching on the internet to find some kind of solution and this is the only thread I have found talking about the problem. Perhaps this is due to the fact that eSata is in its early stages so many haven't tried to use an external esata with Vista. Either way I hope there is some solution soon.
Macoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 09:52 AM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

simple solution, you need nForce drivers installed to enable hot swap

but here is the tricky part, your board is nforoce 4 sli (correct?)

standard driver package doesn't detect ide/sata, so you have to extract the archive, go into device manager and install the sata drivers manually from there.

if you use standard MS driver, SATA hot swap option simply won't work


edit

i just wanted to mention one more thing, you are NOT using eSATA. eSATA is seperate specification from SATA. you are running an adapter from SATA on you motherboad to eSATA

there are few boards on the market with true eSATA plug

incase, you might never seen a real eSATA, here it is

SATA on left, eSATA on right
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 09:14 AM   #7
Macoland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
simple solution, you need nForce drivers installed to enable hot swap

but here is the tricky part, your board is nforoce 4 sli (correct?)
I am using an AMD board with nforce4 NOT sli. Perhaps you can help me out though. What is the driver that I need to install manually? In the device manager there is a Storage Controller that has a Microsoft installed driver. I thought that was what I needed to replace but it hasn't worked.

I downloaded and extracted the latest Nforce4 drivers from Nvidia. If I try to update the driver in the device manager it gives and error saying that the best driver is already installed. So I deleted it and added a new controller and pointed it towards the extracted drivers. It says it installed but I get a "This device cannot start" error and even after a reboot it doesn't work.

I just noticed thought that towards the top of the device manager there is a specific menu for IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers. Is that the driver I need to change?

I just need to get this fixed because not having a hot swap esata drive is driving me crazy!
Macoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 02:01 PM   #8
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

My motherboard has an actual eSATA connector with it's own controller. The cable has eSATA on each end. My board has the SLI x16 chipset. I just checked out Nvidia's site and it looks like they have finally updated a few of their Nforce4 drivers to Vista. I'm just home on lunch so I'll DL and update later. I'll let you guys know how it goes.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-07, 02:37 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

if you have seperate esata, then probably you might have a seperate controller for that port

EDIT

I was right, in your case esata is running from Silicon Image SiI 3132 PCI Express SATA controller


Macoland, you need to update the IDE controllers, you should have 3 of them, two of them are actually sata, one is IDE, so you have to fint the sata ones, and manually update them
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 06:36 PM   #10
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
if you have seperate esata, then probably you might have a seperate controller for that port

EDIT

I was right, in your case esata is running from Silicon Image SiI 3132 PCI Express SATA controller
Yup you've got it. From what I can tell I've got the most resent Nforce drivers. I was just now able to find the SiI 3132 32-bit windows vista driver. Says it supports RTM. Before, Asus was saying to just use the one on their site and that doesn't support vista. We'll see. Thanks for reminding me about this nekro.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 06:45 PM   #11
Macoland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
Macoland, you need to update the IDE controllers, you should have 3 of them, two of them are actually sata, one is IDE, so you have to fint the sata ones, and manually update them
Any good idea of how to do that with Vista? It won't let me just update the drivers as it keeps saying that the best driver is already installed. If I uninstall them and reboot (which is makes me do) then it reinstalls the default drivers.
Macoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-07, 09:10 AM   #12
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista

Well I have had no luck what so ever with mine. It just locks up at boot. I never get to my login screen. I've given up, I just have a external USB drive now. Really doesn't hurt anything but take up an extra USB spot. O-well.

As for updating your drivers, are you right clicking on the IDE controller in the device manager and saying update driver and then pick it manually from a list and then hit have disk. That should allow you to update the driver if it's old or new or what ever.
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.