Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-07, 01:27 PM   #13
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

The original Deus Ex gets the "couldn't load ct_oal.dll, falling back to dsound.dll" error.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 07:00 AM   #14
ATI_Dude
Registered User
 
ATI_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 396
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAY16
The original Deus Ex gets the "couldn't load ct_oal.dll, falling back to dsound.dll" error.
A couple of things to try:

1. Make sure the game doesn't try to force Aureal 3D instead of EAX. Look for settings in deusex.ini and disable any A3D settings.

2. Set number of 3D buffers to 16 (or 4) in the dsound.ini file

3. Look for any sound related latency/duration entries in deusex.ini. Make sure the settings are the same in dsound.ini
__________________
Regards,
ATI_Dude

Desktop: | Intel Core i7 2600K@ 3.4 GHz | Asus P8P67 Pro | 8 GB DDR3 1600 Corsair (2x4 GB) | Asus GeForce GTX 580 | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS soundcard | Segate Momentus XT 500 GB Hyprid SATA HDD | Samsung SyncMaster T220HD 22'' LCD | 650 watt Corsair HX650 PSU |

Laptop1: | MacBook Pro Uni-body | Core2 Duo 2.53 GHz (FSB 1066 MHz) | GeForce 9400M 256 MB DDR3 | 4 GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 500 GB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD | 13'' LED 1280x800 | Dual Boot Mac OS X Snow Leopard & Windows 7 Home x64 |

Laptop2: | Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 2 | Pentium M Centrino (Dothan) 2.13 GHz (FSB 533 MHz)| GeForce Go 6800 Ultra 256 MB DDR3 450@1063 MHz (12 PS, 5 VS)| 1 GB DDR2 533 RAM | 100 GB Fujitsu 5400 RPM HDD | 17'' WUXGA LCD 1920x1200 | Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Notebook |
ATI_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 07:12 AM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

i'm still playing around with buffer and latency settings, creative should give better doc, to figure out what tittle needs what.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 10:09 AM   #16
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
...Splinter Cell Double Agent: fully restored
How did you get it working under Double Agent? I picked up an X-Fi Gamer over the weekend and installed it using the beta drivers from Creative. Then I installed Double Agent, patched it to 1.01, then ran the Creative Alchemy program. Alchemy did not detect that I had even installed Double Agent. What am I missing here?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 10:20 AM   #17
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

alchemy program doesn't detect all games, if it does not get detected. go into game directory, go into offline folder find the main executable which i believe is splintercell4.exe and copy the dsound.dll and dsound.inf files from alchemy folder.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 12:28 PM   #18
ATI_Dude
Registered User
 
ATI_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 396
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
i'm still playing around with buffer and latency settings, creative should give better doc, to figure out what tittle needs what.
I see.

It could be a general problem with the Unreal Engine which uses a proprietary sound subsystem. Have you tried other Unreal Engine games such as UT or Clive Barker's Undying?

Unfortunately I cannot contribute with any testing since I'm staying away from Vista until it matures.

Good luck and keep us updated!
__________________
Regards,
ATI_Dude

Desktop: | Intel Core i7 2600K@ 3.4 GHz | Asus P8P67 Pro | 8 GB DDR3 1600 Corsair (2x4 GB) | Asus GeForce GTX 580 | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS soundcard | Segate Momentus XT 500 GB Hyprid SATA HDD | Samsung SyncMaster T220HD 22'' LCD | 650 watt Corsair HX650 PSU |

Laptop1: | MacBook Pro Uni-body | Core2 Duo 2.53 GHz (FSB 1066 MHz) | GeForce 9400M 256 MB DDR3 | 4 GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 500 GB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD | 13'' LED 1280x800 | Dual Boot Mac OS X Snow Leopard & Windows 7 Home x64 |

Laptop2: | Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 2 | Pentium M Centrino (Dothan) 2.13 GHz (FSB 533 MHz)| GeForce Go 6800 Ultra 256 MB DDR3 450@1063 MHz (12 PS, 5 VS)| 1 GB DDR2 533 RAM | 100 GB Fujitsu 5400 RPM HDD | 17'' WUXGA LCD 1920x1200 | Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Notebook |
ATI_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 01:01 PM   #19
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

i wasn't talking about unreal engine, i was talking in general.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 07:29 PM   #20
ATI_Dude
Registered User
 
ATI_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 396
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
i wasn't talking about unreal engine, i was talking in general.
Ok
__________________
Regards,
ATI_Dude

Desktop: | Intel Core i7 2600K@ 3.4 GHz | Asus P8P67 Pro | 8 GB DDR3 1600 Corsair (2x4 GB) | Asus GeForce GTX 580 | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS soundcard | Segate Momentus XT 500 GB Hyprid SATA HDD | Samsung SyncMaster T220HD 22'' LCD | 650 watt Corsair HX650 PSU |

Laptop1: | MacBook Pro Uni-body | Core2 Duo 2.53 GHz (FSB 1066 MHz) | GeForce 9400M 256 MB DDR3 | 4 GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 500 GB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD | 13'' LED 1280x800 | Dual Boot Mac OS X Snow Leopard & Windows 7 Home x64 |

Laptop2: | Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 2 | Pentium M Centrino (Dothan) 2.13 GHz (FSB 533 MHz)| GeForce Go 6800 Ultra 256 MB DDR3 450@1063 MHz (12 PS, 5 VS)| 1 GB DDR2 533 RAM | 100 GB Fujitsu 5400 RPM HDD | 17'' WUXGA LCD 1920x1200 | Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Notebook |
ATI_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-08-07, 01:42 PM   #21
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Ok, I go this figured out thanks to you guys. It pretty easy actually and it seems to work very well.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 03:41 PM   #22
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Do you still remember what the problem was?

ALchemy crashes for me after 1-2min with the final version of TDU. The beta didn't had that problem if I remember correctly.
alchemy simply made no difference for me, and for some reaon caused TDU to crash once or twice

i need to get the game to mess around with alchemy again
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 04:01 PM   #23
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
Ok, well 4 days ago i replaced by Audigy 2 with X-Fi, just for the reason of Vista drop of DirectSound HAL.

for past few days I have been testing all games I have currently Installed. For a beta wrapper results are amazing.

ok, here we go

Call of Juarez: alchemy not required, native OpenAL

... ...

Test Drive Unlimited: alchemy doesn't work for some reason

Toca Race Driver 3 (updated 2-2-07): Full Restored (EAX, Hardware Acceleration)
Need to use following settings, other wise will result in corrupted sound


I will report back, with more, feel free to add your results
So for the games u didn't post ur settings, u use the standard ones from ALchemy?

If not, maybe to help us all, u can post ur settings for the best results

I guess we need to do alot of testing with this little tool and editing the file to get the best results we can get (we= the users who use ALchemy, can always post the settings and compare them all together)
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 04:10 PM   #24
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Creative Alchemy results!

yes, games with no additional info, i used the default settings
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/B Test Results: How IGN Makes Small Changes for Mass(ive) Effect News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 06:30 AM
Creative drivers ? SparrowHawk General Hardware 39 11-18-02 08:03 AM
Got a Hercules sound card, read here plz! Fluke General Hardware 32 09-30-02 08:50 AM
Creative 5300 speakers work with Hercules? Fluke General Hardware 13 09-25-02 10:31 AM
Memory Efficiency results, Please contribute. Switch CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 09-11-02 02:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.