Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-06, 01:46 PM   #1
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Hello,

I am experiencing some rendering errors in __GL_FSAA_MODE 4 to 8 on a GeForce 7950GX2. More heavy FSAA = more frequent errors.

Error looks like this: game hangs for a while (quite short but very unpleasant) and after that I can see some erratic frame - something like not fully rendered scene.
I am able to reproduce it only in UT2004.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.log.bz2 (24.2 KB, 118 views)
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-06, 07:51 PM   #2
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

This bug was definitely introduced in the beta driver - it works fine in 1.0.8774.
There are some unpleasant frame drops too but they're much shorter and without corruptions.
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-06, 02:52 AM   #3
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Do you also get sound changes when that happens?? (By that I mean, when you get the frame drops, the sound changes?) If you do then I might have a fix.

Wolf
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-06, 06:06 AM   #4
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Somtimes there is a sound hitch too. I am using custom OpenAL and libSDL, the original ones cause SIGSEGV.

OT: I can see you're a GF7950 GX2 user too. Have you ever experienced a hard lockup while using this card?
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-06, 06:42 AM   #5
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by LubosD
Somtimes there is a sound hitch too. I am using custom OpenAL and libSDL, the original ones cause SIGSEGV.

OT: I can see you're a GF7950 GX2 user too. Have you ever experienced a hard lockup while using this card?
Nope, no hard locks, only when I enabled SLI instead of MultiGPU mode.. (Keep forgetting that there's 2 GPU's on one card, and not two cards)..

After seeing this thread, I went and had a play with UT2K4, (I'm building a new system), and noticed that I symlinked the wrong openal file, in the UT2K4 System directory. Since correcting it all the sound hitches and video distortions disappeared.. (I symlinked openal.so, instead of the linopenal.so file.. I'm surprised that the sound hitches didn't show up with the 8774 drivers , as I did this a while back..) Anyway that fixed up UT2K4 problems for me.. Doom3 & Quake 4 are working well.. Still need to have the MultiGPU performance problem corrected and all will be fine..
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-06, 07:16 AM   #6
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman [TWP]
Nope, no hard locks, only when I enabled SLI instead of MultiGPU mode.. (Keep forgetting that there's 2 GPU's on one card, and not two cards).
I had two lockups so far, but both in 2D mode (first one with a beta driver, the latter with a stable driver).

Yeah, I had a lockup with beta driver too when using SLI instead of MultiGPU.
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-06, 07:21 AM   #7
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

This is 100% reproducible problem (for me) and was introduced in the beta driver. Can someone from nVidia confirm this at least?
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-06, 04:55 PM   #8
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Another render problems (but without FSAA) in Quake 4.

- Dead enemies should slowly disappear. But before they completely do they flash for a while with 100% opacity - not sure whether this is a standard behavior or not.
- When I pause the game, in-game cursor in the menu is semi-transparent (shouldn't be).
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-06, 01:50 PM   #9
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Another bugs:
Vehicle licence plates are screwed - there is always some nonsense on it. I've found some map that probably uses this function too - it looks like this.
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-06, 04:47 PM   #10
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by LubosD
I am experiencing some rendering errors in __GL_FSAA_MODE 4 to 8 on a GeForce 7950GX2. More heavy FSAA = more frequent errors.
FPS drops are still present in 1.0-9742 beta with UT2004&MultiGPU&FSAA, albeit without any render errors.

Please, could you netllama or zander verify this problem and fix it?

Last edited by LubosD; 11-12-06 at 05:46 PM.
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-07, 08:21 AM   #11
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

OK, I've tracked down all problems with my system to bad BIOS settings except for this one.

Framedrops and render error reproducible only in UT2004 with MultiGPU & FSAA enabled are still present. C'mon nvidia guys, can't you just have a look at this problem?
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 06:36 PM   #12
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Render errors with FSAA on MultiGPU in UT2004

I've found the source of this problem: Flipping. When I disable flipping in nvidia-settings, the problem is gone.
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.