Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-07, 09:59 AM   #1
douglaseg1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

From what I've been reading, there is a bug with putting out 1080i via the component video output with the Nvidia drivers in Linux.

I have the M2NPV-VM motherboard with the NVidia 6150 Chipset. I have struggled with Mythtv (under Ubuntu Edgy) to get the component video out working with my HDTV. My TV only takes component video inputs. I know this is a driver issue as the windows xp output works fine.

When I set up my xorg.conf file for 1080i, the desktop and various programs work fine, however, when I try to play any video, the system locks up and I have to ssh into my computer to shutdown.

I now have it set up using 480p with the component out and it works fine - but I bought this motherboard to get HDTV support and 480p is not HD.

I have the 1.0.8776+2.6.17.7-10.1 nvidia-glx drivers installed. Latest and greatest per the synaptic package manager. I have not found a suitable workaround - does one exist?? (I don't want to buy a RGB to component adapter either - that's why I got this motherboard)

If not, do any of the Nvidia folks know if there is a fix that is being worked on? I am quite upset that I bought this product and it doesn't work for what it is advertised to do.

Any help is appreciated.
douglaseg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 11:03 AM   #2
DeFKnoL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wash, DC
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

I've been dealing with the same issue (except i use DVI) for months. I think there was a bug entered on it, but I don't know what happened.

At this point, NVidia does not appear to be a viable solution for HD.
DeFKnoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 11:37 AM   #3
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

That bug should be fixed in the most recent releases (1.0-9631 for legacy, 1.0-9746 for non-legacy).
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-07, 11:26 PM   #4
ethraza
Mandriva Linux Man
 
ethraza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Send a message via MSN to ethraza
Smile Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

Hi, I have GeForce 6150 too on a Asus Mobo and have it connected to my HDTV w/ component out. From 1.0-8xxx and now with 1.0-9xxx I can wath videos, DVDs and play games at 480p, 576p, 720p or 1080i.
The only problem to me was the lost pixels that go out of screen but Oxine hellped me since it have the option to zoon out videos.
I have a picture at the very first post on page 4 of HDTV display here in the forum.
I use Mandriva Linux 2007 and in the past with Mandriva Linux 2006 I used it too. In other words... no bugs to me!
__________________

I read in the Box: Compatible with Window$ 95 or better. - So I use Linux. ;-)
Linux is just like an indian tent: no Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside..."

___Home PC________________________________________________ _
AMD Sempron 64 2800+
Asus M2NPV-VM (nForce MCP 430 / Socket AM2)
Corsair DDR2 533Mhz 2x256 MB (512MB Dual Channel Mode)
LG 500G 15" / Philips HDTV Monitor 29"
nVidia GeForce 6150 (onboard)
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1
Dynacom CHS-2000 Cine at Home (5.1 Home Theater)
LG DVD-ROM
Seagate SATA 7200 RPM / Sansung UATA 40GB 7200 RPM
ADSL 2MB
__________________________________________________ __________

Mandriva Linux 2007 PowerPack
With PLF because I live in a FREE country!
__________________________________________________ __________
For Desktop and Server ... Mandriva it. Simple the best!
ethraza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 12:25 AM   #5
Charles.Swenson
Professor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

I too am in the process of building a Myth TV box out of the ASUS M2NPV-VM Micro ATX AMD Motherboard with the GeForce 6150. I have my HDTV connected up using the component video connections on the daughter board. The windows drivers produce a high quality display at 720p and work at 1080i (although I donít like using a computer display interlaced)

I then installed Fedora Core 6 X86-64 and upgraded to the NVIDA driver 1.0-9746 using the Livna Repository and yum. I get a display and can switch to 1024x768 and have not configured my X-server for 720p. The GUI tools for tweaking X donít have that mode.

The problem is that everything is just tinted way blue. It is as if there is no red or green in the picture. It is not a cabling problem because I can boot back to XP and it looks just fine. It has to be a linux driver problem. Using the NVIDA X server settings tool I canít fix it by changing the gamma or other corrections. Any ideaís what to look at next? What does you Xorg-conf file look like?
Charles.Swenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 04:39 PM   #6
kew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

Quote:
The problem is that everything is just tinted way blue. It is as if there is no red or green in the picture. It is not a cabling problem because I can boot back to XP and it looks just fine. It has to be a linux driver problem. Using the NVIDA X server settings tool I canít fix it by changing the gamma or other corrections. Any ideaís what to look at next? What does you Xorg-conf file look like?
I too am getting the 'blue tinted' screen while using X-> gdm on FC6. It could be that it's black & white and just shows up as a blue tint due to the over-powered blue on my panasonic pt47" rear-projection.
My windows 2003 config on the same box could output 1080i and 1024x768 fine, with all the right colors.

I notice if I switch to the 'nv' drivers in the xorg.conf, I can't see anything but skinny bars. The 'nvidia' driver is working fine except for that blue is the only color. I can actually watch blue tinted HDTV with MythTV fine through my Divco fusion5 gold card.

When the box boots up, and in the command line, the colors are fine (720x480 i think).

Is this a PAL/NTSC problem?... I have almost a very basic xorg.conf setup with just the 'nvidia' driver section added, running at 1024x768.
kew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-07, 07:58 PM   #7
jimholt3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

Ok. I am using the M2NPV-VM motherboard and have a tv which only accepts component input. I did have the blue problem you mentioned. It was due to not forcing the TVOutFormat to COMPONENT and the TVStandard to HD1080i. Both of these settings are documented in the nvidia README for the latest release of the drivers (version 9746). I did have to install these drivers via the nvidia supplied shell script, not via Synaptic. The drivers that come with Edgy do not understand COMPONENT and I think are sending COMPOSITE to one of the cables (probably the blue one).

So now my problem is that the linux desktop is way bigger than the screen at the desired resolution of 1920x1080. I can size windows to make them exactly fit the screen, but I can't get to any toolbars on the desktop since they are off the top or bottom. I hope to resolve this last issue soon.
jimholt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-07, 02:26 PM   #8
PenGun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 93
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

Works fine on my GT6600. Still can't get 1080i with HDMI though.
PenGun is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-03-07, 08:29 PM   #9
ethraza
Mandriva Linux Man
 
ethraza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Send a message via MSN to ethraza
Cool Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

I will try to help all of you...

In place of MythTV, I prefer Oxine that is very very good and keep the thing simple.
Here is my xorg.conf to 720p but with all the other options commented out. I have one file per resolution and use xgame to launch the one I whant in another X session.
Right now I'm using the nvidia-9631 driver and 2.6.17.13-mm-desktop-3mdv kernel.

My xorg.conf:
Code:
# File generated by XFdrake.

# **********************************************************************
# Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************

#Section "Extensions"
#    Option "Composite" "Enable"
#EndSection

Section "Files"
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    FontPath "unix/:-1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
    #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    #Load "/usr/X11R6/lib64/modules/extensions/nvidia/libglx.so"
    Load "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libglx.so"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
    Option "XkbOptions" "compose:rwin"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Philips"
    ModelName "HDTV"

    ModeLine "720x480" 26.988 720 735 746 858 480 490 494 525 +hsync +vsync
    ModeLine "720x576" 26.988 720 730 741 864 576 581 585 625 +hsync +vsync
    #(1088x612)
    ModeLine "1280x720" 73.958 1280 1349 1360 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
    #(1632x920)
    ModeLine "1920x1080" 73.958 1920 1961 2052 2200 1080 1084 1088 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync

EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 6 Series"
    Driver "nvidia"
#    Option "DPMS"
    Option "RenderAccel" "1"
    Option "NvAGP" "3"
    Option "UseEDID" "0"
    Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
#    Option "TwinView" "1"
#    Option "MetaModes" "CRT-0: 1024x768 , TV-0: 1920x1080"
#    Option "HorizSync"   "CRT-0: 30-55; TV-0: 40-70"
#    Option "VertRefresh" "CRT-0: 50-120; TV-0: 60"
#    Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf" 
#    Option "TVStandard" "HD480p"
#    Option "TVStandard" "HD576p"
    Option "TVStandard" "HD720p"
#    Option "TVStandard" "HD1080i"
#    Option "TVOverscan" "1.0"
#    Option "MetaModes" "1280x720"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        #Modes "1280x720" "720x480" "800x600" "640x480" "320x240"
        Modes  "1600x1200" "1920x1080" "1440x1080" "1600x1024" "1280x1024" "1280x720" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x576" "848x480" "720x480" "640x480" "320x240"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "screen1" 0 0
EndSection
__________________

I read in the Box: Compatible with Window$ 95 or better. - So I use Linux. ;-)
Linux is just like an indian tent: no Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside..."

___Home PC________________________________________________ _
AMD Sempron 64 2800+
Asus M2NPV-VM (nForce MCP 430 / Socket AM2)
Corsair DDR2 533Mhz 2x256 MB (512MB Dual Channel Mode)
LG 500G 15" / Philips HDTV Monitor 29"
nVidia GeForce 6150 (onboard)
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1
Dynacom CHS-2000 Cine at Home (5.1 Home Theater)
LG DVD-ROM
Seagate SATA 7200 RPM / Sansung UATA 40GB 7200 RPM
ADSL 2MB
__________________________________________________ __________

Mandriva Linux 2007 PowerPack
With PLF because I live in a FREE country!
__________________________________________________ __________
For Desktop and Server ... Mandriva it. Simple the best!
ethraza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-07, 01:23 PM   #10
kew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

I got the color working (from just a blue tint) by using the HD1080i TVStandard. My 540p does not seem to work at all... I just get a blank screen, like my TV rejected the signal. I know it's logging into gnome due to the sounds it makes.

I am trying to get a smaller mode to work inside the 1080i, but so far nothing is sticking. All my attempts are just ignored... I can get 1280x1024 to work, but then its just a much smaller screen inside the 1080... i would rather get a 1720x9xx (i forgot the actual size, but saw someone else post it..).

still messing with it.
kew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 12:47 AM   #11
Charles.Swenson
Professor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimholt3
It was due to not forcing the TVOutFormat to COMPONENT and the TVStandard to HD1080i. Both of these settings are documented in the Nvidia README for the latest release of the drivers (version 9746).
Thanks, this fixed my problems too. I added lines to my xorg.conf file so it now looks like:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6150"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "False"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPONET"
Option "TVStandard" "HD720p"
# Option "TVStandard" "HD1080i"
# Option "TVOverScan" "0.5"
EndSection

I uncomment either the HD720p or the HD1080i lines and the component video output has good color and is crisp in either mode. But........

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimholt3
So now my problem is that the Linux desktop is way bigger than the screen at the desired resolution of 1920x1080. I can size windows to make them exactly fit the screen, but I can't get to any toolbars on the desktop since they are off the top or bottom. I hope to resolve this last issue soon.
I too have this same problem and am working on it. What I would have done is to build some mode lines to get things to work but the Nvida readme on there driver is explicit is saying: ďAdditionally, the NVIDIA driver contains a hardcoded list of mode sizes that it can drive for each combination of TV encoder and TV standard. Therefore, custom modelines in your X configuration file are ignored for TVs.Ē Under windows XP this does not seem to be a limitation as one can set overscan independently for vertical and horizontal picture size with the TV out. I have tried the TVOverScan option in the Nvida driver and it does not seem to have any effect. I donít know what our options are at this point as the driver seems limited.
Charles.Swenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 04:47 PM   #12
kew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: 1080i Bug with Component Video Output 6150

Well, I haven't found a way to bypass the mode size, but I would like to get something like this setup:
http://wilsonet.com/mythtv/xorg.conf-HD.txt

I really would like the following lines to work (to reduce the desktop size inside the displayed picture):
# My 1760x960in1080i mode
Mode "in1080i"
DotClock 74.52
HTimings 1760 1888 2096 2208
VTimings 960 1012 1028 1126
Flags "-HSync" "-VSync" "Interlace"
EndMode

Is this not possible due to the nvidia drivers now? -v
Quote:
the Nvida readme on there driver is explicit is saying: “Additionally, the NVIDIA driver contains a hardcoded list of mode sizes that it can drive for each combination of TV encoder and TV standard. Therefore, custom modelines in your X configuration file are ignored for TVs.”
Can we bypass the hard-coded modelines? or have the metamodes support this?

note: my HDTV does not support 720p... and the HD576p doesn't work with my components... just the blue is displayed :[
kew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
Why You Should Watch and Record Video in 720p Instead of 1080i [Video] News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 07:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.