Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-07, 01:12 PM   #61
Kerrysucks
Registered User
 
Kerrysucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wasilla Alaska
Posts: 117
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
I put AS5 on my CPU and it was actually kinda tough balancing the CPU block on the CPU while trying to tighten the thumbscrews at the same time. Anyone else have this?
Yep, that was the only pain in the ass part of installing the unit. I'm quite pleased with mine.
Kerrysucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-07, 03:41 PM   #62
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heinz68

The potentiometer was set to maximum from the box, I doubt that's factory default setting so I almost believe CanadaDirect might have send me returned unit.
Funny you mentioned that - mine was the same and the fan worked for about a minute before burning out or something. The pump works fine and water moves but without the fan my temp gradually go up. Hopefully, www.epowerhousepc.com will give me an RMA for a new unit.
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 05:22 PM   #63
Heinz68
Registered User
 
Heinz68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto-CAN, Hamburg-DE, Prague-CZ
Posts: 1,893
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Finally I was able talk to CoolIt Systems Sean Mutlow and got RMA in Email.
He gave me option to install a fan replacement they woud provide or send back and replace the complete unit.
Since I'm not 100% sure it's only the fan, I decided to go for the RMA.

I hope next time I get more lucky since I was very happy with the Freezone cooling, beside I do believe that up to 175W heat output the TEC Freezone would ice ANY water only based CPU cooler.

My overclocked AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.65GHz Vcore 1.55V is at about 175W, so no problem there.

If I go next upgrade Dual Core AMD or Intel, the wattage on 65nm should be lower.

I might go Four Cores provided it drops to about $500.00 (this fall), I should also be OK with the Freezone if not trying extreme overclocking.

At least that was the info from Sean at CooliT and we know Tikiman had just about the same experience.

Sean at CooliT also confirmed that they're coming with more powerful unit but no dates or details.
If satisfied I can always upgrade later on.
__________________
Stop The Meter On Your Internet Use

------------------------------------------------------------
Core i7 980X EE @ 4316 MHz 1.35V - Corsair Hydro Series H50
ASUS Rampage II Extreme - Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 12GB Triple-Channel
Sapphire HD 6990 - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
Intel X25-M 160GB 34nm G2 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 32mb
Cosmos S Case - Corsair HX1000W PSU
Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R - Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel - Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
Sennheiser RS 180 - Windows 7 64-bit Pro
Heinz68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 07:17 PM   #64
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heinz68
Finally I was able talk to CoolIt Systems Sean Mutlow and got RMA in Email.
He gave me option to install a fan replacement they woud provide or send back and replace the complete unit.
Since I'm not 100% sure it's only the fan, I decided to go for the RMA.

I hope next time I get more lucky since I was very happy with the Freezone cooling, beside I do believe that up to 175W heat output the TEC Freezone would ice ANY water only based CPU cooler.

My overclocked AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.65GHz Vcore 1.55V is at about 175W, so no problem there.

If I go next upgrade Dual Core AMD or Intel, the wattage on 65nm should be lower.

I might go Four Cores provided it drops to about $500.00 (this fall), I should also be OK with the Freezone if not trying extreme overclocking.

At least that was the info from Sean at CooliT and we know Tikiman had just about the same experience.

Sean at CooliT also confirmed that they're coming with more powerful unit but no dates or details.
If satisfied I can always upgrade later on.
Is that the reason why you're idling at 31? I idle anywhere from 15-20 degrees....
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-07, 12:06 AM   #65
Heinz68
Registered User
 
Heinz68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto-CAN, Hamburg-DE, Prague-CZ
Posts: 1,893
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC
Is that the reason why you're idling at 31? I idle anywhere from 15-20 degrees....
I did say my idle temps with Freezone are about 23C and this is on 450MHz overclock and
VCore +0.200v, check the post #72 this tread.
Not sure where you got the 31C but most likely it was the reading on the picture of the front case.

The Antec P160W has 2 temperature sensors which can be connected anywhere in the case.
I use one of the sensor on main Hard Drive and the other one is just loose in the middle of the case.

The reading in the front jumps every few seconds from one sensor to other same goes for the little green LED beside the number.
Since the LED light was on the botom when the picture was taken I know it was the Hard Drive temperature.

Just so there is not any doubt about the CPU temperatures I took today a screenshot of the idle temps.
The "Asus PC Probe II" shows CPU at 21C and the "Core Temp" shows reading
Core #0 23C and Core #1 13C

Same like last time the computer was not completely idle, I was sharing 2 big files with uTorent plus cruising the net but I don't think it makes much different.

As I said before I am very happy the the Freezone cooling the only problem is the extreme noise
which I'm sure is due to defective unit, thats why I'm sending back the unit for replacement.

I just noticed today the CPU Fan reading shows about 2900 RPM, usually it shows about 25000 up to 65000 RPM, I'm sure thats not possible, the PC would fly away.
I did mention this to the CooliT rep and he said the reading are not accurate since the pump and not the fan is connected on the motherboard CPU FAN power.

Sorry for the large 1920x1080 attached picture (the readings are all the way to the right), just want to show how good the desktop looks on the 37" Westy LVM-37w3 (1080p), just in case somebody is still in doubt.
__________________
Stop The Meter On Your Internet Use

------------------------------------------------------------
Core i7 980X EE @ 4316 MHz 1.35V - Corsair Hydro Series H50
ASUS Rampage II Extreme - Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 12GB Triple-Channel
Sapphire HD 6990 - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
Intel X25-M 160GB 34nm G2 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 32mb
Cosmos S Case - Corsair HX1000W PSU
Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R - Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel - Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
Sennheiser RS 180 - Windows 7 64-bit Pro

Last edited by Heinz68; 04-11-07 at 04:44 PM.
Heinz68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.