Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-07, 05:56 PM   #1
egyteam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 186
Send a message via MSN to egyteam
Default Vista memory score

how does Vista measure memory score ?

I'm using 1GB DDR2 800 and it gives me 4.5, I tried to underclock to 533MHz and it also gave me 4.5, so Vista measure how much ram I'm using and not the speed of the ram ?
__________________
HomeTheatre PC: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2.4GHz | MSI K9N Ultra nForce 570 | Chaintech 7300GT Zalman Edition | Micron 1 GB DDR2 533MHz | WD2500KS | X-Fi XtremeMusic | NEC 3550A DVD-RW | Twinhan VP-1025 | DsCaler MPEG2 Decoder + AC3 Audio Decoder | HEC ACE 480W | Windows XP SP2 | Logitech X-530

egyteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 07:51 PM   #2
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Vista memory score

Speed definatly factors in, my brother has a really low memory score (2.6 or something) compared to my 4.5 even though his 1.5gigs underclocked perform better than my higher clocked 1gig.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 07:58 PM   #3
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by egyteam
how does Vista measure memory score ?

I'm using 1GB DDR2 800 and it gives me 4.5, I tried to underclock to 533MHz and it also gave me 4.5, so Vista measure how much ram I'm using and not the speed of the ram ?
I built a cheap X2 system to put Vista on and it scored 4.0 with 2gigs of RAM. I thought it was odd that it was the lowest score, so I checked and it was running in Single Channel at 333Mhz instead of Dual Channel at 400mhz. So i fixed that in the BIOS and it upped the memory rating to 4.9. Odd that DDR2 isn't scoring higher than my generic PC3200 stuff.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 08:01 PM   #4
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Vista memory score

Hmmmm, I have 2GB of DDR500 in my rig and I'm getting a memory score of 5.9. So I don't know....I would definately say that only having 1GB would affect it though.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 08:04 PM   #5
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by LycosV
Speed definatly factors in, my brother has a really low memory score (2.6 or something) compared to my 4.5 even though his 1.5gigs underclocked perform better than my higher clocked 1gig.
Vista doesn't like odd-matched memory. I had 4 identical DDR400 sticks, each 1GB. With 2 in there I scored a 5.9. With 3 installed it dropped to 3 something. Its pretty crazy.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 08:33 PM   #6
egyteam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 186
Send a message via MSN to egyteam
Default Re: Vista memory score

this is my score with X2 3800 OC'ed to 2.5GHz and DDR2 533 OC'ed to 830MHz

I'm getting in sandra bandwidth benchamrk 8100/8105

is 4.5 normal for my memory score ?

__________________
HomeTheatre PC: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2.4GHz | MSI K9N Ultra nForce 570 | Chaintech 7300GT Zalman Edition | Micron 1 GB DDR2 533MHz | WD2500KS | X-Fi XtremeMusic | NEC 3550A DVD-RW | Twinhan VP-1025 | DsCaler MPEG2 Decoder + AC3 Audio Decoder | HEC ACE 480W | Windows XP SP2 | Logitech X-530

egyteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 01:37 PM   #7
piper1
Registered User
 
piper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
Default Re: Vista memory score

I had the same 4.5 score with 1GB of memory. Installed an additional 1GB and now get 5.2 - even had to drop down to 2T.
piper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 01:50 PM   #8
myshkinbob
Registered User
 
myshkinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Vista memory score

4.5 is the maximum score you can get for 1GB of ram.

The idea is that greater-than-1GB will offer a better Vista experience, and the benchmark should reflect this. So you could have 1GB of DDR1066 at 4-4-4-12 timings, and it will only score you 4.5.
__________________
Core2Duo E6400 (3.0GHz@1.3v) | Gigabyte 965P-DS3 | 2x 1024MB Elixir PC6400 (Dual-Channel DDR2@1.8v) | 3x Spinpoint SATA 80GB | Gainward GeForce 8800GTS (@600/1900) | Mitsubishi DiamondPlus 93SB 19" (1600x1200@75Hz)
myshkinbob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-09-07, 01:52 PM   #9
Dual Core Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 151
Default Re: Vista memory score

Ive got 4.0 gigs of PC8500C5 and it gives me a 5.9.
__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
Cooler: CoolITsystems Freezone
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
Processor: Intel Core 2 QX9650 (4.25GHz)
PSU: Silverstone OP1000w ATX
Memory: (2 Gig) Patriot Viper DDR3 2000
Graphics Cards: Diamond 4870x2
HD: 4 WD RaptorX in Raid0
Audio Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Dual Core Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 08:46 PM   #10
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Vista memory score

i have a 5.2 for 2gb. is there a max for 2gb of ram in vista or does my memory just blow?
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 05:23 AM   #11
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: Vista memory score

can some please explain why the windows score thing is so important?...i dont get it.
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 06:06 AM   #12
lowdog
 
lowdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 526
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsam
can some please explain why the windows score thing is so important?...i dont get it.
It's not important, basically just a wank.
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=Blue][COLOR=Blue]C2D X6800@3.52Ghz-8800GTX@662 core-1512 shader clock-1026 mem bios flashed both water cooled-4gb Gskill HZ 6400-4 X 150gig Raptors raid0-Asus P5W64 WS Pro-Eizo ColorEdge CE240W-dualboot winxp pro/vista 64bit. [/COLOR][/COLOR][/SIZE]
lowdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.