Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-07, 09:26 PM   #1
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Default E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

Uhg,

My L631A454 E6600 is stuck at 3.4ghz for an overclock.

voltages and Bios settings

VCORE: 1.51875 (The 680i has VDrop, so probably really 1.48v)

FSB: 1.5

VDIMM: 2.2 (stock voltage for my Dominator 8500)

Everything else is on AUTO.

using an Evga 680i P24 BIOS (the latest)

Set to - Linked - Sync

RAM is suppose to be at 1066 but because of problems with the 680i have to set to 800 or below, any higher and there is instability. Go see the evga motherboard forums.

Anywho....

I would like to achieve a 3.6 overclock, hell even 3.5ghz would be fine.

My E6600 has a lapped IHS to 800 grit and is as flat as I can get it. Termperatures during Orthos are max at 51c



I'm stuck on what to try now. Any tips or pointers or ideas of what voltage to try next?

My water cooled TEC system should be up and going in the next month or so, that should almost gurantee 3.6 overclock.

I'm using a lapped Tuniq Tower.


Ideas?
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 10:27 PM   #2
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

More voltage to your cpu?

Maby you can't go any further. 3.4 is more than good
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 10:29 PM   #3
tacos4me
 
tacos4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 531
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

Take your memory out of the equation and crank the VCore. Pretty much all you can do. I wouldn't expect you to hit much more than 3.5GHz, especially since you need 1.51875v to be stable at 3.4GHz. Probably just got a dud overclocker compared to some, but there's nothing wrong with a 1GHz overclock.

Your temps are amazing for being over 1.5v though. That's my freaking idle temp @ 1.4v. Stupid concave heat spreader.

EDIT: Oh, and try disabling any spread spectrum settings you may have enabled.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 || Intel i7 920 @ 4.0GHz (20x200) || 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600 (1600MHz 8-8-8-24)
Radeon 4870 512MB x 2 || Dell 3007WFP || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 || X-Fi Fatality FPS || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
tacos4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 01:41 AM   #4
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

man your lucky, the max I've gotten is 3.33ghz from my e6700 C2D on a eVGA 680i mobo... I get 48C under load.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 07:28 AM   #5
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

i have 3.6 on a E6600 @1.6 volts in bios
and a xp120 cooler with 120mm fan at lowest speed
works very well
my 2 cpu's
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 02:27 PM   #6
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

I've reached 3.4 ghz on 1.350v and am stable.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-07, 08:29 PM   #7
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

First off, flash to a better BIOS. Why are you still running the P21? Memory optimizations became available in the P24 and now there's even a P25 out.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-07, 10:13 PM   #8
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Default Re: E6600 Stuck at 3.4 ghz on 680i. Trying to go higher....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
First off, flash to a better BIOS. Why are you still running the P21? Memory optimizations became available in the P24 and now there's even a P25 out.

Signature is out of date. I need to update it so things like this won't happen.
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.