Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-07, 04:07 PM   #1
Viventis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 267
Default How Much Arctic Silver

My AMD 64 3700+ SanDiego has the full sized contact suface with its stock cooler. I recently changed motherboards and removed the residue from the "pad" that came with the Boxed CPU and replaced it with a "Silver" compound. The question is how much is the correct amount to use? I went with the "less is more" approach and spread a drop over about half the surface area of the cpu with a toothpick. My temps are about 25-32C idle and up to 42C directly after getting out of a game. I am worried that if the compound didn't spread to the whole surface that I am running too hot.

Your wisdom requested, please. I want to make sure I have the correct amount before any serious overclocking attempts.
Viventis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 04:22 PM   #2
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

If your CPU temps are in the upper 40s at max you have nothing to worry about. Checking your temps as soon as you get out of a game is really not quick enough to see max temp reading. It's probably at least 5C above what you are seeing and that's if you are fast.

The best way to spread AS5 is with something like a credit card so you can get an even application. BTW, I think AS still has a step by step tutorial on appying AS at their site.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 04:40 PM   #3
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Add the whole tube.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 08:22 PM   #4
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

The best way to spread AS5 is to not spread it.

You put a drop worth on the middle of your cpu. Apply the heat sink. The next day take it off and your entire cpu will be covered. But if you need the as5 manual its here: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm

I put more than a drop on my cpu, a steady thick line down the middle of the cpu. That was it. I went to change my heat sink and it was thick across my whole cpu and started to run down the side. I just couldn't belive how little they told you to put in the instructions. They don't lie.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 08:37 PM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
The best way to spread AS5 is to not spread it.

You put a drop worth on the middle of your cpu. Apply the heat sink. The next day take it off and your entire cpu will be covered. But if you need the as5 manual its here: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm

I put more than a drop on my cpu, a steady thick line down the middle of the cpu. That was it. I went to change my heat sink and it was thick across my whole cpu and started to run down the side. I just couldn't belive how little they told you to put in the instructions. They don't lie.
I was nervous when I tried this, but sure enough, results were consistently good wth that little bb of goo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-07, 10:35 PM   #6
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
The best way to spread AS5 is to not spread it.

You put a drop worth on the middle of your cpu. Apply the heat sink. The next day take it off and your entire cpu will be covered. But if you need the as5 manual its here: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm

I put more than a drop on my cpu, a steady thick line down the middle of the cpu. That was it. I went to change my heat sink and it was thick across my whole cpu and started to run down the side. I just couldn't belive how little they told you to put in the instructions. They don't lie.
Yup, just do what the instructions say. I think it's a blob the size of a grain of rice? or half a grain of rice? It's amazing how much it spreads out.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-07, 09:41 AM   #7
asphalt
Registered User
 
asphalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 128
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Yup, dual cores take a bit more. Just a little line of AS5 down the middle of the CPU.
__________________
Intel Core 2 E6700 (2.6Ghz)
eVGA nForce 680i SLI Mainboard
2 GB (2x1024) Corsair Dominator PC26400 CAS4
(2x) eVGA GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 in SLI
WD Raptor 150 HD
WD 500GB SATA 3.0 HD
Seagate Baracuda 750GB SATA 3.0 HD
Creative X-FI Fatlity
Pioneer 16xDVD R/RW
Lian-Li PCV-1200+ Case
Cooler Master Real Power 850W PSU
24" 2407 DELL LCD
asphalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-07, 01:20 AM   #8
Baronvonimel
Your logic is flawless
 
Baronvonimel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 11
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Hey quick question about that AS5 room temp and load setting stuff - I just put mine on today and im currently OC'ing above stock around 2% with voltage up from stock about .10v - temps all look good, sub 40 at load but I know I won't get full thermal conduction until that AS5 sets. Any recommendations? I/E should I wait until that sets before going any higher? The arctic silver instructions say the difference will only be about 1 - 5% but I am kinda worried cuz I want it to fully spread - im working with a dual core.
I am done now for the night and I will turn off the pc and let it set but I was wondering what the thoughts were on waiting until it sets to OC vs going ahead. Would it really matter if the temp readings I am getting are ok?
Baronvonimel is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-07, 09:12 AM   #9
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baronvonimel
Hey quick question about that AS5 room temp and load setting stuff - I just put mine on today and im currently OC'ing above stock around 2% with voltage up from stock about .10v - temps all look good, sub 40 at load but I know I won't get full thermal conduction until that AS5 sets. Any recommendations? I/E should I wait until that sets before going any higher? The arctic silver instructions say the difference will only be about 1 - 5% but I am kinda worried cuz I want it to fully spread - im working with a dual core.
I am done now for the night and I will turn off the pc and let it set but I was wondering what the thoughts were on waiting until it sets to OC vs going ahead. Would it really matter if the temp readings I am getting are ok?
Well considering we have no idea what your actual temperatures are, no idea what your overclock is or any idea what your cpu is. The most I can tell you is I don't think I have ever seen a cpu rated at 40c or lower.

What do you mean you are worried about it being fully spread? It should be almost fully spread as soon as you put your heat sink on. It's thermal grease. This stuff spreads like butter. The pressure of the heat sink spreads it.

As for overclocking, if you haven't gone past the rated temperature of the cpu. Overclock away.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-07, 04:27 PM   #10
Baronvonimel
Your logic is flawless
 
Baronvonimel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 11
Default Re: How Much Arctic Silver

Thanks Slie. Im running orthos right now and the core0 temp is 45, core1 temp is 49 (with coretemp beta .94) I topped out (for now) at 2.7 Ghz at 1.4v - thats on a 4200+ x2 windsor AM2. Thanks for the help!
Baronvonimel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III review (w/ Asus GTX680 DirectCU II TOP) News Archived News Items 1 07-01-12 03:39 PM
Colder winters may be new normal due to melting Arctic ice News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 03:30 PM
$171.00 - HP Smartbuy LA1951G Silver / Carbonite Black 19" 5ms LCD Monitor News 19-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:13 PM
Naval War: Arctic Circle review News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.