Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-07, 10:00 AM   #1
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

I've been hearing a lot of complaining from the general population that Vista's hardware requirements are too stiff. This is usually accompanied by some story about how their computer is horribly slow after installing Vista.

Untill last night I was willing to give everyone the benefit of the doubt because all the PC's I have Vista installed on have met and exceeded the hardware requirements so I've had no problems and have been enjoying Vista very much. For what I do on my PC's Vista is a huge improvement over XP in everyway including general responsiveness.

So last night I was eyeing a 4 year old HP laptop that has just been sitting around my house. P4 2.66ghz, 768mb ddr 333, ati IGP345 64mb (shared), 60gb HD...You get the picture. Not the snappiest machine in the world these days...So I wiped it clean and installed Vista Ultimate.

Without a doubt the machine is significantly more responsive then when it was running XP. Aero is, of course, turned off. However, I'm still running Vistas native desktop theme. Power management is much easier and more efficient. The start menus loads quicker and managing media files (music, pictures, and video) is not only simpler but also quicker...

I don't know what else to say. Perhaps some individuals are installing vista on P3, 256mb machines? I don't know. But I can't imagine a crappier system then this laptop. It's not like I could run games on it before so that's not even an issue...
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 12:15 PM   #2
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Well its just BS like always when MS releases a new OS
It was the same for win xp... everyone was saying it was crap and now everyone is running win xp and saying how good it is
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 01:56 PM   #3
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
I've been hearing a lot of complaining from the general population that Vista's hardware requirements are too stiff. This is usually accompanied by some story about how their computer is horribly slow after installing Vista.

Untill last night I was willing to give everyone the benefit of the doubt because all the PC's I have Vista installed on have met and exceeded the hardware requirements so I've had no problems and have been enjoying Vista very much. For what I do on my PC's Vista is a huge improvement over XP in everyway including general responsiveness.

So last night I was eyeing a 4 year old HP laptop that has just been sitting around my house. P4 2.66ghz, 768mb ddr 333, ati IGP345 64mb (shared), 60gb HD...You get the picture. Not the snappiest machine in the world these days...So I wiped it clean and installed Vista Ultimate.

Without a doubt the machine is significantly more responsive then when it was running XP. Aero is, of course, turned off. However, I'm still running Vistas native desktop theme. Power management is much easier and more efficient. The start menus loads quicker and managing media files (music, pictures, and video) is not only simpler but also quicker...

I don't know what else to say. Perhaps some individuals are installing vista on P3, 256mb machines? I don't know. But I can't imagine a crappier system then this laptop. It's not like I could run games on it before so that's not even an issue...
The biggest thing is that vista is a ram eater. If you don't have enough ram, your gonna be screwed really quick. I really don't see running it on 512MB, but I'm sure a lot of pcs will probably have that + vista. I've run vista on a P4 1.6ghz with 1GB and it doesn't run that bad at all.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 02:13 PM   #4
Capt. Picard
Registered User
 
Capt. Picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6,386
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

3 GHz Intel Celerons
512MB DDR RAM
32MB shared video RAM

Vista Enterprise
_________________________________
Other half of the computers
_________________________________

1.7 GHz Celerons
512MR DDR RAM
32MB shared video RAM

Vista Enterprise
_________________________________

Will the second option be totally useless (with the 1.7GHz Celerons)
__________________
If beer is not the answer, you're asking the wrong question.
Capt. Picard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 02:36 PM   #5
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Picard
3 GHz Intel Celerons
512MB DDR RAM
32MB shared video RAM

Vista Enterprise
_________________________________
Other half of the computers
_________________________________

1.7 GHz Celerons
512MR DDR RAM
32MB shared video RAM

Vista Enterprise
_________________________________

Will the second option be totally useless (with the 1.7GHz Celerons)
Hmmm, that's a good question. I would say that it would run. But probably not as well as it could (obviously) But the 512MB of RAM will definately help. I think RAM is more important that CPU. I don't know, maybe just install it on one of them to see how it works?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 02:48 PM   #6
Richteralan
The Enigma
 
Richteralan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 758
Send a message via ICQ to Richteralan Send a message via MSN to Richteralan
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
The biggest thing is that vista is a ram eater. If you don't have enough ram, your gonna be screwed really quick. I really don't see running it on 512MB, but I'm sure a lot of pcs will probably have that + vista. I've run vista on a P4 1.6ghz with 1GB and it doesn't run that bad at all.
Wrong.
Vista's memory management changed and it will utilize ALL of your RAM as cache/buffers to increase general responsiveness.
When an application requires more RAM, cache/buffers will shrink.

Doing this to fully utilize your computer hardware resources instead let free RAM sit there collecting dust and doing nothing and make you feel good by seeing 438527432534625MB free.
Richteralan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 03:02 PM   #7
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,873
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Yeah I have been saying exactly this since RC1. I dropped RC1 on an old athlon 1800+ with 1gb of ram and a gf6200. Was much more responsive than XP was by a long shot, and boots faster as well.

When MS releases its next OS people will then say how vista was good and the new one is useless, bloated, etc. Same old crap from the same old people.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 03:05 PM   #8
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richteralan
Wrong.
Vista's memory management changed and it will utilize ALL of your RAM as cache/buffers to increase general responsiveness.
When an application requires more RAM, cache/buffers will shrink.

Doing this to fully utilize your computer hardware resources instead let free RAM sit there collecting dust and doing nothing and make you feel good by seeing 438527432534625MB free.
I'm not getting your point. I said vista will run a lot better with 1GB over 512MB, and 512MB is going to be slower because it doesn't allow vista enough room to load all of its stuff, and will probably cause it to thrash your HD.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-10-07, 04:13 PM   #9
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
The biggest thing is that vista is a ram eater. If you don't have enough ram, your gonna be screwed really quick. I really don't see running it on 512MB, but I'm sure a lot of pcs will probably have that + vista. I've run vista on a P4 1.6ghz with 1GB and it doesn't run that bad at all.
Well, I'll yank out that extra 256mb from the laptop and get back to ya...Hell, while I'm at it I'll go ahea and try the thing with only the 256mb's in it and see what happens...I'll be reporting back soon.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 04:30 PM   #10
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Well, I couldn't get it to boot with only 256 but it runs just fine with 512. Infact, For normal use, music, photos, internet, word processing, ect, I could dicern no noticable difference between 512 and 768.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 05:23 PM   #11
Camp0rz
*BANNED*
 
Camp0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: black hills
Posts: 2,226
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

I'm gonna be finding out how it runs on a p4 @ 3.4, 1gb ram, and a 7600gt in a few hours.. you know, when it is done downloading.

heh..

Gonna do a dual boot of it on my hd with xp. Mainly because of the whole driver issue and I don't feel that comfortable with pirated os's.
Camp0rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 05:39 PM   #12
Alaa
Peace
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo
Posts: 431
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

very nice on intel630, 512RAM, fx5200
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Podcast: DDN WOS Software on OCP Storage Hardware to Enable Hyperscale Storage Clouds News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:10 AM
hardware T&L nosrema NVIDIA Linux 2 09-14-02 02:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.