Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-07, 08:16 PM   #13
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

It ran fine on my system. The only reason why I uninstalled it is because I'm waiting for various drivers to mature a bit before I use it as my primary OS. Other than immature drivers causing a few headaches Vista felt smoother and more responsive in general. If MS and various developers can patch up program compatibility a bit and if hardware vendors can get their drivers in shape It'll be a great XP replacement.

Bottom line: Vista's hardware requirements have been grossly exaggerated.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 08:42 PM   #14
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady
Well, I couldn't get it to boot with only 256 but it runs just fine with 512. Infact, For normal use, music, photos, internet, word processing, ect, I could dicern no noticable difference between 512 and 768.
Thanks for the info. I'm not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing though, as it would really seem like you would have to be swapping info to the hd very frequently. I'm looking in task manager right now, and it is reporting that the kernel alone is taking 140MB of ram. I'd say there is at least another 100MB used if you added up some of the other things, so that is half of your 512MB right there. FF with 2 open windows is about 35MB, and IE7 with 1/2 dozen is in the 80's. That would be 3/4 of all available ram, and I don't even have anything loaded yet. I'm guessing it must do a really good job at figuring out what to put into the swap file, cause you would only have about 100MB left over for cache.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 08:49 PM   #15
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAY16
It ran fine on my system. The only reason why I uninstalled it is because I'm waiting for various drivers to mature a bit before I use it as my primary OS. Other than immature drivers causing a few headaches Vista felt smoother and more responsive in general. If MS and various developers can patch up program compatibility a bit and if hardware vendors can get their drivers in shape It'll be a great XP replacement.

Bottom line: Vista's hardware requirements have been grossly exaggerated.
How so? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../aa905075.aspx

Minimum specs are 800Mhz cpu, and 512MB ram. I'd say they are not that exaggerated.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 09:03 PM   #16
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
How so? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../aa905075.aspx

Minimum specs are 800Mhz cpu, and 512MB ram. I'd say they are not that exaggerated.
"Bottom line: Vista's hardware requirements have been grossly exaggerated."

As in they've been grossly exaggerated by the media and random clueless people on the interweb. I've seen many random people and media outlets talking about how Vista will need a monster rig and will make old computers cry, which is obviously not true.

I wasn't referring to official specs at all.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 12:02 AM   #17
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
How so? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../aa905075.aspx

Minimum specs are 800Mhz cpu, and 512MB ram. I'd say they are not that exaggerated.
Last time I built a computer with those specs was...more than 6 years ago.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 01:46 AM   #18
egyteam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 186
Send a message via MSN to egyteam
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

I notices something weird in Vista that Vista automatically adjust the memory usage depending on your system memory,

for example, on 2GB ram, it takes 30% clean install without any programs
on 1GB ram, it takes 40% clean install without any programs, some friend tried with 512 ram and it also use 40%
__________________
HomeTheatre PC: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2.4GHz | MSI K9N Ultra nForce 570 | Chaintech 7300GT Zalman Edition | Micron 1 GB DDR2 533MHz | WD2500KS | X-Fi XtremeMusic | NEC 3550A DVD-RW | Twinhan VP-1025 | DsCaler MPEG2 Decoder + AC3 Audio Decoder | HEC ACE 480W | Windows XP SP2 | Logitech X-530

egyteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 08:20 AM   #19
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by egyteam
I notices something weird in Vista that Vista automatically adjust the memory usage depending on your system memory,

for example, on 2GB ram, it takes 30% clean install without any programs
on 1GB ram, it takes 40% clean install without any programs, some friend tried with 512 ram and it also use 40%
yeap vista adapts on how much ram you have. It will NOT save up ram just beacuse you will have free ram left... what are you going to do with the free ram? look at it and say wow I have so much free ram left

When you start up a game that uses much ram then vista adapts to it and gives the game the resources
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 02:32 PM   #20
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAY16
"Bottom line: Vista's hardware requirements have been grossly exaggerated."

As in they've been grossly exaggerated by the media and random clueless people on the interweb. I've seen many random people and media outlets talking about how Vista will need a monster rig and will make old computers cry, which is obviously not true.

I wasn't referring to official specs at all.
Ah, I get what your saying now. The main reason is to get more $$$ out of everyone. I probably wouldn't want to try to run vista on the official miminum specs, but it can be done.

@AlphaWolf_HK: It's been a little while since I've been running hardware that slow, but about 4 years ago my main rig was a P166 /w 192MB ram, 2MB video card, 20 Gig HD. I ran xp on that, and it goes, but it is a little slow. Win2k was probably the best on that pc. For the record, xp min specs are P233, 128MB ram IIRC.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-07, 05:54 PM   #21
Camp0rz
*BANNED*
 
Camp0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: black hills
Posts: 2,226
Default Re: Vista hardware requirements...chill out everyone!

Yeah, runs great on my pc. Only been using it for a few minutes, but I'm pretty impressed. I cant stand IE 7, though. What a piece of ****.

btw, I score a 4.4 so.. I dunno, not that bad.
Camp0rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Podcast: DDN WOS Software on OCP Storage Hardware to Enable Hyperscale Storage Clouds News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:10 AM
hardware T&L nosrema NVIDIA Linux 2 09-14-02 02:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.