Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-07, 05:36 PM   #1
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default E6600 @ 3.4

I tryed about everything but this is as far as I have gone to keep the temps under 55c under a load.

I tryed:
Sandra & Super PI
7 x 400 = 2.8
MEM = 6452
CPU = 25895
S-PI = 18s

7 x 450 = 3.15
MEM = 7220
CPU = 28933
S-PI = 16s

8 x 425 = 3.4 < good temps with orthos @54c
MEM = 6971
CPU = 31393
S-PI = 15s

8 x 450 = 3.6 @ 1.55v Temps with orthos @69c
MEM = 7365
CPU = 33188
S-PI = 14s

6 x 500 = 3.0
MEM = 7599
CPU = 27671
S-PI = 16s


__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

Last edited by mullet; 07-19-11 at 09:13 AM.
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 08:34 PM   #2
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

[Edit: Sorry, didn't see that you had ran Orthos. Your temps are pretty good.]
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 08:42 PM   #3
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

I ran Orthos for 3 hours today. I couldn't keep it under 64c & 73c @ 3.6. I admit im a Intel OC noob.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 08:53 PM   #4
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

I read as much as I can but im sure im not using the full load of the memory I have. Im running the ram @ 4-4-4-12 now and the cpu multi is at 8 x 425 1:1.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 09:00 PM   #5
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Some chips are better than others. I know that mine's very average. I'm stress-testing it again right now for the first time since I added my 2nd GTX and I'm having to feed 1.475v just to get her to 3.5 stable.

But your temps sound decent. You'll probably want to keep your FSB @ 400 or under on your P5B. It has a chipset strap which loosens up timings once you go over that and decreases overall performance slightly. So go with a higher multiplier if you can.

The issue was covered in great detail here:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=chipset+strap
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 09:21 PM   #6
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

lucky you, I need 1.6v just to hit 3.4ghz
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 10:52 PM   #7
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog
lucky you, I need 1.6v just to hit 3.4ghz
I have about 60% knowledge on what im doing lol.
ram 425x8 1:1 @ 850Mhz 4-4-4-12 <just changed that from 5-5-5-15
cpu multi = 8
Vcore = 1.4
ram = auto
Nb = stock not auto/ lowest volts
SB = stock not auto/ lowest volts
Bios 1004

I can run 3.6 450x8 1:1 @ 900Mhz ( 5-5-5-15 ) but the Vcore @ 1.53 but my temps at idle are 38 to 41 and at load there 64 to 73 which I do not like at all. I ran orthos for 1hr and with errors. I guess for air this is it for me.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 06:38 AM   #8
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog
lucky you, I need 1.6v just to hit 3.4ghz
Yeah, it sucks.. especially when you've invested so much in water, but oh well. Luck of the draw.

And it turned out she failed dual Prime after about 30 mins on 1.475 so I had to increase to 1.5v to be stable at 3.5gHz. Now, she appears to be stable at 1.55v @ 3.6gHz.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-07, 09:17 AM   #9
Roch
Arcane
 
Roch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 138
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Sounds identical to my best, 3.6@1.55, (12 hours Orthos stable). If I keep the radiator's fan at 12v then I can keep the load to low 50's, at 5v it tips over 60...I'm thinking of investing in a larger Rad and perhaps lapping the CPU.
__________________
E6600, 680i, 4gig OCZ Reaper, 8800GTX, M850w,
D-Tek, EK, DDC Ultra, PA120.2, Lian Li A16B.
Roch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 11:58 AM   #10
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Better cooling might help out a bit; the 9700 is not that great once you start to raise the voltage. There are much better, cheaper, and quieter heatsinks. With a Scythe Infinity I have never broken 54c @ 1.5v and its a lot quieter than a Zalman. Worth looking in to if you are want to OC a little more or lower temps

Also for my 6600 I have found 400x9 to be the best all around for speed and rock solid stability
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 12:18 PM   #11
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Looks good man, temps and vcore are not bad at all compared to my E6600.
Thanks man, I ran orthos for 4 hours and the higest temp I got was 55. Im ok with that.

I ran sisoftsandra again with 4-4-4-12 and got this.

8 x 425 = 3.4
MEM = 7117
CPU = 31393
Super PI = 14s

Dr.Nick I will try 400x9 and see what I get.

I also have a hand held thermal meter and during orthos I put it up against both NB & SB HS and the top temp was 102F, I ordered 2 40mm blue led fans 5cfm each ill mount on both chipset HS's. The one thing I don't under is asus probe 2 has the cpu @ 34c idle but Core Temp beta has each core @ 23c each. I based my temps off asus probe 2 cause that was the higest temp so I went with that.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 12:59 PM   #12
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Asus Probe rarely reports the correct temperatures.
Go by either Core Temp or TAT. (Intel's Thermal Analysis Tool)

They read directly from the digital sensor in each core of the cpu.

I've had PC Probe shows +/-10c or more which was incorrect.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Driver 295.53 installs into kernel 3.4 without a patch! jdmcdaniel3 NVIDIA Linux 3 06-08-12 09:41 AM
Linux 3.4 Kernel Benchmarks News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 08:00 AM
No ELD detection with 302.11 and Kernel 3.4 philipl NVIDIA Linux 0 05-23-12 10:21 PM
Linux 3.4 Released News Archived News Items 0 05-20-12 10:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.