Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-07, 06:46 PM   #13
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

I might have a bum E6600 (engineering sample)...Jakup got it to 3.5, I could only go 3.2 semi-stable...I can only run stable at 2.8...though I didn't mess with it too much...Guess I'll try again soon...Last time I tried was in the summer...But damn...it's plenty fast at 2.4 for me anyway
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 11:41 PM   #14
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
Asus Probe rarely reports the correct temperatures.
Go by either Core Temp or TAT. (Intel's Thermal Analysis Tool)

They read directly from the digital sensor in each core of the cpu.

I've had PC Probe shows +/-10c or more which was incorrect.
Ok thanks man. I got my chipset fans put in.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-07, 12:21 AM   #15
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

To the OP: why set a limit of 55 under load? I'm at 55 idle with my 6600 at 3.4. I reach into the low 70's running orthos. this is using tat to measure the temps.
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless edition mobo | AMD 64 X2 4800+ AM2 @ 3.0gigs | 2 Gigs Corsair Twin2X 6400C4 DDR2 @ 1000mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | EVGA 8800GTX | 150Gig Raptor SATA HD | NEC 16x DVD/RW | PC Power and Cooling 1Kilowatt Quad SLI PSU | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | WinXP Pro SP2
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-07, 01:34 AM   #16
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

My e6600 heats pretty bad when I go to 1.4v (70c load). I've hit 3.4 ghz with 1.35v (stable under Orthos 8hr) with 65c load.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-07, 09:41 AM   #17
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by nippyjun
To the OP: why set a limit of 55 under load? I'm at 55 idle with my 6600 at 3.4. I reach into the low 70's running orthos. this is using tat to measure the temps.

Well I would imagine because Intel rates that cpu at 60.1c on the IHS.
But what ever temperature the cores are at, is the same temperature of the IHS.

I won't run my E6400 past 55c either. But I don't plan on buying a new cpu soon, I plan on keeping this one for a while. And I think Intel knows what they are doing when they set the temperature limit
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-07, 11:58 AM   #18
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
Well I would imagine because Intel rates that cpu at 60.1c on the IHS.
But what ever temperature the cores are at, is the same temperature of the IHS.

I won't run my E6400 past 55c either. But I don't plan on buying a new cpu soon, I plan on keeping this one for a while. And I think Intel knows what they are doing when they set the temperature limit
I thought 85 was the cutoff point.
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless edition mobo | AMD 64 X2 4800+ AM2 @ 3.0gigs | 2 Gigs Corsair Twin2X 6400C4 DDR2 @ 1000mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | EVGA 8800GTX | 150Gig Raptor SATA HD | NEC 16x DVD/RW | PC Power and Cooling 1Kilowatt Quad SLI PSU | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | WinXP Pro SP2
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-07, 12:50 PM   #19
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

85 Is the Tjunction.

60.1c Is on the IHS.
You can check it out here: http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL9S8

I have seen tests done where people measured the heat on the ihs to be within a degree of the heat of the cores.

I am the cautious type tho. I've seen lots of people run their cpu's at 70c or more. But personally I think thats too hot and cutting the life span of the cpu.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-07, 01:09 PM   #20
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

SlietheSecond, I am jealously eyeing your sig with the 10,000+ 3dmark06 score. Have a similar system, but have been maxing out at 8500. I'm not a very experienced OCer though so I think that is where the discrepancy is. What is your RAM voltage at, and your NB & SB?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-07, 03:52 PM   #21
leemik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 12
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

My E6600 does 3.5ghz stable.. boots into windows @3.6 but then crashes soon after.. i clocked it down to 3.4 to keep the temps reasonable (this is all on air)..

Memory is actually underclocked @~760Mhz 3,3,3,9,2t timings.. 1.45V CPU, 2.1V RAM.. temps: 36C idle, 53C full load.. CPU mostly sits in the 45C range on average..

System is an evga 680i, 2gb corsair dominator 1066-8500, evga 8800gtx, thermaltake TMG i1 cpu cooler..

3dmark06 is like 11,3xx ..

I have another 8800gtx coming and a new evga 680i board too (RMA .. this one stopped posting with two sticks of memory booo! )
leemik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-07, 05:07 PM   #22
Dual Core Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 151
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

Here is my 6600 3.6 info:


__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
Cooler: CoolITsystems Freezone
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
Processor: Intel Core 2 QX9650 (4.25GHz)
PSU: Silverstone OP1000w ATX
Memory: (2 Gig) Patriot Viper DDR3 2000
Graphics Cards: Diamond 4870x2
HD: 4 WD RaptorX in Raid0
Audio Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Dual Core Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-07, 12:42 PM   #23
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

I did some further testing after reading this thread. Wild results.
http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=41

401 x 8 1:1 @ 1604 FSB / Mem was @ 802Mhz Vcore 1.375 @ 3.2 - Idle-34c Load-54 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 6761/6769
SiSoftware - CPU = 29463/20523
PCmark05 - 7380

400 x 8 1:1 @ 1600 FSB / Mem was @ 800Mhz Vcore 1.375 @ 3.2 - Idle-34c Load-54 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7259/7285
SiSoftware - CPU = 29380/20477
PCmark05 - 7421

425 x 8 1:1 @ 1700 FSB / Mem was @ 850Mhz Vcore 1.425 @ 3.4 - Idle-36c Load-58 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7172/7196
SiSoftware - CPU = 31203/21777
PCmark05 - 7595

450 x 8 1:1 @ 1800 FSB / Mem was @ 900Mhz Vcore 1.55 @ 3.6 - Idle-40c Load-71 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7365/7385
SiSoftware - CPU = 33188/22560
PCmark05 - 7893

475 x 7 1:1 @ 1900 FSB / Mem was @ 950Mhz Vcore 1.425 @ 3.3 - Idle-36c Load-58 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7814/7828
SiSoftware - CPU = 30532/21296
PCmark05 - 8528

These temps are based off ASUS probe, I used these temps because they are the highest temps of any temp monitoring software. So as a safe bet I went for the highest temp. Intels TT & Core temp were atleast 10c cooler.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-07, 09:43 PM   #24
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: E6600 @ 3.4

I got lucky with my Core 2 Duo E6600 ,I have a zalman 9500 and have it running 24/7 at 1600 cpu and 800mhz on the memory and it runs solid at 3.6gigs at 1.35v, the bios reports it as 1.31v,It idles around 30c to 32c and in games it runs around 46c to 49c,really according to what temperture my room is.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Driver 295.53 installs into kernel 3.4 without a patch! jdmcdaniel3 NVIDIA Linux 3 06-08-12 09:41 AM
Linux 3.4 Kernel Benchmarks News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 08:00 AM
No ELD detection with 302.11 and Kernel 3.4 philipl NVIDIA Linux 0 05-23-12 10:21 PM
Linux 3.4 Released News Archived News Items 0 05-20-12 10:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.