Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-07, 08:53 AM   #13
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Well, I just got my mobo yesterday- but had to work so I wasn't able to start the build.

The specs will be as follows:

AMD Opteron185
Thermaltake CL-P0114 120mm HSF
ASUS A8N32 SLi Dlx
2GB Patriot eXtreme Performance DDR500
2x eVGA 8800GTS
Silverstone Zeus 850watt Quad-rail PSU

And a whole bunch of case fans.

I'll be building this new rig later today. Just got in from work about a half hour ago and I need to get some rest. I'll be sure to post my oc'ing results soon as I can.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 12:44 PM   #14
hectorsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 115
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Opteron 165 @ 2.8GHz with stock voltage. Stepping: CCBBE 0616

I have not tried going any higher.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R| Intel Core i7 920 | BFG GTX 260+ | 6 GB CORSAIR DDR3 1600| 1TB WD Black SATA |750W Corsair
hectorsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 05:41 AM   #15
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Wish I could get mine to 2.8GHz. Maybe if I watercool it.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 07:48 AM   #16
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Okay, my new rig is up and running. I've gotta' get to bed soon, so no oc'ing for now.

But I'll post my results once I get 'em.

-Edit-

Just ran the CS:S stress test with everything litterally maxed (1920x1440, 16xAA, 16xAF, GCAA, TAA, Vsync, TB, all in-game options 100% maxed)- got an average fps of 59.47! And HL2: LC was at 48.37, though for some reason the computer did automatically switch to the desktop in the mid of the test- so I don't know if that effected my fps any or not. Regardless, never has it been that high! I'm loving this new Opty.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 05:36 PM   #17
lukrad
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 194
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Opteron 2.75@1.375V. It can run at 3.0 but i need a better cooling.
lukrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 07:17 PM   #18
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukrad
Opteron 2.75@1.375V. It can run at 3.0 but i need a better cooling.

Well, if you can get your 175 to run at 3.0, this 185 of mine should do it without a problem.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-07, 11:53 PM   #19
BCKator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 135
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Redeemed:

I am interested to see how things go/improve w/ that 185. I have my eye on that as well as a last-gasp for my socket 939 (potential alternative to going C2D).

Currently getting ~2.9GHz on my Opty 148 @266x11 @1.50v(bios)1.52v(cpu-z) HT@3x. I have a WC setup w/ idle at @ 33 degC and load @ 43 degC. Mem at 333 (209MHz 2/3/2/6 1T Corsair CMX1024-3500LLPRO).

-- BCK
__________________
"BlackSilver": Modified air-cooled LianLi8B w/ 4 38x120mm Scythe intake fans, 16"x16" custom air filter, custom fan controller, GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD4 (uATX), i5-750 @3.5G(turbo)OCCT linpack stable, 4G GSkill DDR, XFX 5870, Crucial 128GB SSD (OS), WD 1T CavBLack HD (data), WD 2T Green HD (backup), Corsiar CMPSU 750W PSU, PWR ~105/370W idle/max

"Green" : AsusP5Q-E, C2D8600@~4.4G(440Mx10), EVGA GTX285@~741/1692/1269, 300G Velocirator + 150G Raptorx (just for show), DVD-RW, custom H2O loop w/ Koolance CPU/GPU/NB/FET blocks in heavily modified LianLi case w/ 16"x16" input air filter, integrated 3x120 swiftech rad, dual mcp350 pumps, lots of copper pipe, custom Fan controller, & 7 Scythe SFF21F fans (~600rpm@idle, ~1400rpm@load), PWR ~160/484W idle/max.
BCKator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-07, 12:44 AM   #20
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCKator
Redeemed:

I am interested to see how things go/improve w/ that 185. I have my eye on that as well as a last-gasp for my socket 939 (potential alternative to going C2D).

Currently getting ~2.9GHz on my Opty 148 @266x11 @1.50v(bios)1.52v(cpu-z) HT@3x. I have a WC setup w/ idle at @ 33 degC and load @ 43 degC. Mem at 333 (209MHz 2/3/2/6 1T Corsair CMX1024-3500LLPRO).

-- BCK
I can tell you this- at stock this rig is blazing fast. Remember though, I'm coming from a s754 3400- so you can see how this would be such a tremendous upgrade for me.

Anyhow- my 3DMark scores are no where near what they should be. My gaming, however, has sky-rocketed. In FEAR I'm playing at 1920x1440, 16xAA, 16xAF, vsync+tb, and all in-game options maxed and it only seldom dips below 60fps. It hovers right around to 45-60fps during the most intense of firefights. And, this is with everything at stock speeds.

I haven't done any oc'ing yet- I've been too busy enjoying my gamed! But I'll be sure to try oc'ing tonight before I get to bed. I will post results of course.

For you, the 185 might not be the best option as your current proc is significantly faster than the s754 I was coming from. If you can at all afford a C2D- go that route instead. Atleast with LGA775 you'll have an upgrade path. With s939 the Opty 185 is essentially the end of the road (barring the FX-60 which would not be a noticable upgrade anyway).

Then again, I have no idea just how fast your Opty is in comparison to this 185- so it might be worth it. I'll go ahead and post my oc'ing results later tonight.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-25-07, 04:08 AM   #21
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

I'm at 2.86Ghz right now- I know it'll go further if I can just get the temps down. Right now it is idling at around 54*C. Not sure I like that very much. I'm betting it is this crap thermal grease that I'm using. I knew I should have gone with some AS5.

Looks like I'll be putting an order in for some AS5 soon. I'm determined to hit 3GHz.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-07, 05:01 AM   #22
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

Well, things started locking up on me at that speed- so now I'm back to stock speeds.

I'm thinking that I won't be doing any OC'ing at all untill I can get my CPU temps down to reasonable levels (like mid 30's idle instead of low 50s). I'm gonna' go for some AS5 and if necessary- a better cpu cooler. Heck, if I can fit it I'll even go for a ram cooler.

For now, no oc'ing unfortunately.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-07, 11:38 AM   #23
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

I suggest that you run your fsb closer to your memory spec and just lower your multi if you don't want to overclock.

237x11=2607 or even 246x11=2706 "for a slight overclock with memory running almost at spec."

I still haven't gotten around to getting some more as5 yet. Maybe today. What heatsink do you use? I'm using the xp-90 with generic heatsink grease for now and I'm idling at 35-36. cpu at 2706.
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-07, 01:22 PM   #24
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Official - Post Your AMD Opteron Overclocks

I'm still sitting at 2.6GHz with stock voltage and currently idling at 36'C as I am sitting here. I can not get it any higher than this and it is pissing me off! Why can't I hit 2.7 or even 2.75 with a little voltage bump? Temps getting too hot? Maybe once I get my Big Water I can do more.

Side note: My HT is sitting at like 1046, but if I manually sit it at 1GHz, I can't boot into Windows. Weird. Anyways, I'm determined to hit at least 2.75GHz if not 2.8GHz.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:30 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
No Palladium in Opteron SavagePaladin Rumor Mill 7 09-23-02 11:53 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM
AMD 333MHz and nForce Speculation TheTaz Rumor Mill 5 08-17-02 11:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.