Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-07, 05:01 AM   #85
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Tyger...What type of 2H do you want? Blunt? Piercing?...Also, can you please list the stats of your current one? So I will know what to sell and what to keep?
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 06:12 AM   #86
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrdstrm
Tyger...What type of 2H do you want? Blunt? Piercing?...Also, can you please list the stats of your current one? So I will know what to sell and what to keep?
stats on my 2hander now is:
0 - 0 damage
0 delay
0.00 dps

stats on my 1 hander is:
5 dps(thats all i can remember right now )


Any 2 hander is fine, as long as it works with a dread knight. I have 0 skill in any 2 handed weapon due to the fact I can't find one. Obviously the more dps, the more I want it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 06:37 PM   #87
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Some good optimizations made to Vanguard today in the newest patch--anyone else notice them?

Stuttering is much, much less than was there before and the chunking isn't nearly as bad. In a lot of places the chunking/loading seemed practically seamless. Also nice to see that they've yellowed creatures who are on the same level as you now.

Good to see they're making progress.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 08:39 PM   #88
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

How are Hathor Zhi and those Khal crafting rooms Xion? Smoother?

I uninstalled VG and I guess I could put it back to test.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 08:57 PM   #89
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

I haven't been back to Hathor Zhi. It still struggles in towns or populated areas, but overall they've ironed out a lot of the issues that were there. The game pauses far less than it did and the 4-5 second freezes I was getting before are no longer there. In the patch notes it said "fixed memory leak" which I think was related to the problem.

New areas load up almost seamlessly now. Much improved compared to before.

From what I remember, though, I was getting better frames in populated areas than before. I'll take a screenshot or two when I boot it here in a second.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 09:07 PM   #90
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

yea, i noticed the game was running a good bit better today... I thought it was just me...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 09:57 PM   #91
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Well this is what I got today in the Khal crafting area with players about after putting it back on:

1024 x 768 Highest performance = 28fps




1024 x 768 Balanced performance = 18FPS

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-07, 10:35 PM   #92
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Still very low frames in the crafting hall like you showed, but overall the game's playing a lot smoother than it was.

Still a lot of work to be done, but it's nice to see that they're improving it.

The performance in the crafting hall honestly doesn't bother me that much. It's the performance out on the battlefield and in outside environments that I'm more concerned about. As long as they can get rid of the stuttering in the crafting hall, that'll make me happy. I think they've cut down on it a bit today.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-07, 11:11 PM   #93
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Peep this for something odd-

1024 x 768 Balanced settings 27FPS:




That's up from 18FPS. How? I selected XP SP2 compatibility under properties. That's a gain of near 10FPS. I am going to keep investigating this.

Xion the crafting hall numbers are important to think about for mass PvP too. It shows a concentration of players can drop FPS very low. So large group PvP will suffer a lot.

I am glad they are tuning it and working hard to bring things up to speed.

EDIT:

1680x Balanced settings Khal crafting room 25FPS-



1680x Balanced settings Hathor Zhi main room 54FPS-



1680x Balanced settings outdoors near Hathor Zhi 100FPS-



So it is indeed better in XP SP2 Compatibility mode.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 12:54 AM   #94
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

You have your grass density turned all the way down.

Turn that stuff to the max, yo! That's the best looking grass I've ever seen in a videogame.

And yeah, I see what you're saying about the cluster of online players. I was in the Temple of Dailuk tonight w/ a group of 8 and gameplay slowed to a crawl around 20-25fps and was really annoying.

I hope they can fix this crap soon. They had some trouble w/ the servers tonight, I think. There was a period of 30 minutes or so tonight when I couldn't log on.

Something else that's aggravating? Logging into my game tonight and my character's a completely different one from what I've been playing with. Appearance has changed. It's happened to me once or twice before.

Every day is an adventure with this one.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 07:52 AM   #95
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Where do i find "XP SP2 Compatibility mode" ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 11:49 AM   #96
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Vanguard... Whats up?

Right click on the desktop icon and click properties. Then click on the compatibility tab and check the box "Run this program in compatibility mode for" and select it in the dropdown menu.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.