Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-07, 11:06 PM   #1
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Arrow Nvlddmkm stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

I am CONSTANTLY getting this error in vista 32bit. I'm using that drivers from nvidia... 100.64 I believe. I tried the 100.65 ..and the 100.5x versions and still get same results.

WTF gives??

Its constant when on the desktop doing whatever...watching a streaming video on youtube....and especially playing games. Supreme Commander is one of them....can even get past the splash screen of THQ sometimes.


what is going on here!?!? a fix for this at all?

And YES, in between driver revisions I would uninstall in normal mode then run drivercleaner in safe then reboot and reinstall the new driver.
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-07, 11:23 PM   #2
PSYCHODAD
cereal killer
 
PSYCHODAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

Are you using DreamScene? I had to shut it off because of this. Working okay now after reinstalling vid drivers.
__________________
System #1
CPU INTEL|3rd gen I-7@3.7ghz
16gb memory Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
PSU Siverstone Zeus 850w
EVGA 660gtx
Logitech G400 gaming mouse
Dell 2407WFP 24" lcd


Video Games -- Why waste good technology on science and medicine?
PSYCHODAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 03:17 AM   #3
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

yea, had to turn off dreamscene because of this too....but still happens in games and such...even tried to reinstall drivers and the likes...no go still
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 04:00 AM   #4
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

Hmmm strange I didnt get Nvlddmkm Stopped responding error. I had 100.64 driver installed, while DreamScene running clip on background, I uninstalled the driver and suddenly a message pop up said DreamScene had crashed after uninstalled the driver. I realised DreamScene did not automatically shutdown or turned off when uninstall the driver. After restarted, a message pop up said DreamScene failed to restarted because I hadnt installed the new driver then I installed the 100.65 driver and restarted, I noticed that when installed the new driver, DreamScene was turned off automatically then I turned it on and all worked fine.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 10:08 AM   #5
chiklit
Internet Tube Denizen
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to chiklit Send a message via AIM to chiklit Send a message via MSN to chiklit Send a message via Yahoo to chiklit Send a message via Skype™ to chiklit
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

I haven't gotten the Nvlddmkm Stopped responding error with any driver with or without DreamScene. Though since it seems to be happening to quite a few people at random, maybe there's something wrong in the hardware somewhere?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 (Overclocked - 2.8GHz) | Mobo: EVGA nForce 680i SLI | GPU: XFX nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768mb GDDR3 | Memory: 4gb DDR2 PC5300 667MHz Dual Channel | PSU: Antec Neo HE 550w | Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtrememusic | HDD: 950gb total SATA3 | OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
chiklit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 10:11 AM   #6
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

Since Vista maps into system RAM for video/graphics use have you checked your RAM???
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 07:02 PM   #7
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

didn't have these issues until I upgraded my drivers to the latest whql ones... gonna go back, I think I was on 100.54 without any issues.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 07:23 PM   #8
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

I see that most of us in this thread with this issue are running evga 680i mainboard with overclocks, how long have you guys had your mobos up and running? What speed is your mem running at?

I am about to throw this piece of crap in the trash, gonna go looking at evgas forums to see if anyone else is experiencing this issue.

It started doing this like 4 times a minute until I set all my cpu fsb and memory timings back to default.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-07, 08:33 PM   #9
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

I can confirm now that setting my evga 680i to link and sync has fixed the issue.

This board seems to have problems with mhz on RAM above 800. I have dominator 8500. Right now I have my CPU overclock of 3.4ghz and my ram set to its stock speeds of 5-5-5-15 at 2.2vdimm. Well it appears that when I set it to link and sync rather than unlinked .....I have no problems.

lets put it this way. The 680i is suffering from MAJOR Memory issues. I think the memory controller is FUBAR'd


HAHA, and yes go have a look at the HELL being raised over at the evga motherboard forums. That forum has been raging since the release of the board.

680i seems to be plagued with problems. A damn shame.


after goin back to link/sync I no long have the Driver Failure message. Proof.
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 09:08 PM   #10
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

yeah, haven't tried syncing the ram again... sucks because then I can't use my 8500C5D dominators as they were meant.

EVGA boards suck, next time I'm going with an intel chipset. I want my damn money back.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 09:14 PM   #11
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

[quote=EVGA boards suck, next time I'm going with an intel chipset. I want my damn money back.[/QUOTE]


You and about a 1,000 other people.
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 10:17 PM   #12
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Nvlddmkm Stopped responding is getting VERY OLD...

I have an eVGA 680i @ 400MHz FSB with an x6800 @ 3.2GHz with 1.30V. I have Patriot PC6400 running at 1100MHz (DDR) @ 5-5-5-15 timings. I'm also running a single 8800 GTX with the clock frequencies flashed to 600MHz core / 1000MHz memory in the BIOS. I've never run into the problem described here with Vista Home Premium x64.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia driver stopped working after X restart and Kernel taint msgs during boot mikejuni NVIDIA Linux 10 05-21-12 08:30 PM
MSI K7N420Pro embedded ethernet not responding to pings rupertshocking NVIDIA Linux 6 08-15-02 04:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.