Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-02, 07:25 AM   #1
chrisr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question how to boot SuSe 8.0 to console?

Okay, I'm a newbie

I'm trying to install new nVidia drivers per the "Unofficial nVidia HOWTO [RPM version]" and obviously I have to exit X and KDM to a console (or boot SuSe 8.0 to the console).

How
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-02, 10:44 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

To switch to a simple console while in X, just do "ctrl-alt-f2" (or another number >1 and < 7), to switch back to X replace f2 with f7.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-02, 10:52 AM   #3
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

edit /etc/inittab and change the default runlevel to a non graphical (dunno about suse 8.0, but should be 2).
look for a line which is like this one: "id:2:initdefault:"

issue (as root) "init 2", and there you are!

HTH
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-02, 02:27 PM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Not all distro's use the same runtime level stuff. On my debian system 2 even starts X. On RH/MDK 3 has no X and 5 has allways X ....

To boot using a specific runtime level do something like this during lilo bootup: linux 2 to start level 2.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-02, 05:06 PM   #5
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

on SuSE 8.0 2 or 3 are okay (2 if you don't have remote filesystems nfs/smb or whatever)

just logged into a SuSE box to confirm, as I told you before 2 is still valid and my
suggestion has the advantage that rebooting like in thunderbirds idea is _not_ necessary


HTH
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-02, 01:58 AM   #6
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

I know but he wanted to know to reboot
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-02, 02:06 AM   #7
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

>...I have to exit X and KDM to a console ( or boot ..... <

just gave an answer to his _first_ choice
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-02, 04:42 PM   #8
chrisr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wound up using the "shutdown" command from within a BASH shell to exit KDM to the console. Installed the nVidia drivers no problem although I did have to do aome editing of the XF86Config file to enable OpenGL and add some refresh rate & resolutions.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-02, 09:08 PM   #9
tart666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 9
Default Booting to console

if you use Lilo, you can type "2" to obtain "linux 2" at the lilo boot prompt. This will bring it up to runlevel 2, which is console only.

Also, Ctrl-Alt-Backspace works for me

2

T
tart666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 440 Go, SuSE 8.0, and new Nvidia drivers loudawg NVIDIA Linux 4 06-01-04 12:54 AM
My SuSE 8.0 just totally BROKE. Help please!!! sephiroth762 NVIDIA Linux 6 10-09-02 02:30 PM
Newbie - Compiling my own for SuSe 8.0 jocephus19 NVIDIA Linux 5 09-01-02 09:38 PM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Suse 8.0 Dual display on Quadro 4 700XGL TheCowStir NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 12:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.