Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-07, 05:36 AM   #1
NoiR
Black Sheep
 
NoiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default 8800 GTS / GTX modded BIOS

I found something - really nice to read, but I dont know if this is trustworthy. Sounds strange to me. But if its true what this person is writing, then it would be a free and really safe performance boost. Downloaded it but not yet tried - Ive never flashed a graphics card BIOS before and now Im really unsure about this thing.

Read the whole Thread:

*click*
__________________
E6700@3,4 - 1.3V, 32C/47C / Thermalright SI-128 SE || P5B Deluxe WiFi + Thermalright HR-05 / HR-09 || 4x 1 GB OCZ DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-12 + OCZ XTC || 2x250 GB Samsung SP2514N || XFX 8800 GTS @ 612/1404/936 || X-Fi Fatal1ty || Sony CPD-E 430 || Antec P160 || BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 530W || Scythe Kama Meter || Vista Ultimate

Last edited by NoiR; 02-21-07 at 04:50 AM.
NoiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-07, 06:39 AM   #2
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Honestly its a lot safer to use tradional overclocking with Rivatuner, ntune, or the ATItool instead of a BIOS flash that can void your warrenty if it leads to a dead or damaged card. On top of that, I personally would never flash a BIOS within Windows because the chance that things go wrong are far higher instead of the old floppy/DOS flasher way.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-07, 08:28 AM   #3
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Sounds authentic... Vista has no overclocking tools yet so I would love to try this on my 8800.

The only problem that concerns me is that if my card were to die in a couple of months time, I send it back to BFG... they will know I've flashed the bios. Most likely they will blame this and refuse to replace my card.

I'll wait for the next ntune or rivatuner.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 12:41 AM   #4
NoiR
Black Sheep
 
NoiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Yes, warranty is gone with flashing...that was my thought too. OCing with RivaTuner / ATITool is safer, thats right. But the modified memory timings are interesting.

I wrote an email to this guy who prgrammed that BIOS - Id like to know if there is a 2D / 3D profile at last. If theres such a profile in, I will make a backup with Nibitor, test this BIOS and will give a little summary here.
__________________
E6700@3,4 - 1.3V, 32C/47C / Thermalright SI-128 SE || P5B Deluxe WiFi + Thermalright HR-05 / HR-09 || 4x 1 GB OCZ DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-12 + OCZ XTC || 2x250 GB Samsung SP2514N || XFX 8800 GTS @ 612/1404/936 || X-Fi Fatal1ty || Sony CPD-E 430 || Antec P160 || BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 530W || Scythe Kama Meter || Vista Ultimate
NoiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 03:26 AM   #5
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

He also mentions the shader speeds are increased too.

Might just hold my breath and give it a try tonight. But I'm waiting for him to post the full change list first... don't like flashing my card unless I know exactly what has been changed.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 10:43 AM   #6
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Speaking of shaders, I've read where people have this overclocked as well. How do you do that?
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 11:56 AM   #7
NoiR
Black Sheep
 
NoiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Shader clocks will automatically changed when you change core clocks. But not 1:1 - every 27 Mhz core clock the shader clock gets 54 Mhz up. There are some steps between where only the shader clock gets higher and the core clock will remain.

Sorry for my bad english, perhaps this graphic is a little bit better, read it from left to right.

Left: the core clock you set
Middle: resulting shader clock
Right: core clock the card will use



So its no matter if you set the core clock to 508 or 525 Mhz, for example. The card will run at 513 Mhz core clock and 1188 Mhz shader clock. So it dont make sense to take steps between this numbers in the graphic because the clocks dont change.

OCing shader and core clocks separated is (as far as I know) only possible with some BIOS tweaking and flashing.
__________________
E6700@3,4 - 1.3V, 32C/47C / Thermalright SI-128 SE || P5B Deluxe WiFi + Thermalright HR-05 / HR-09 || 4x 1 GB OCZ DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-12 + OCZ XTC || 2x250 GB Samsung SP2514N || XFX 8800 GTS @ 612/1404/936 || X-Fi Fatal1ty || Sony CPD-E 430 || Antec P160 || BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 530W || Scythe Kama Meter || Vista Ultimate
NoiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 12:36 PM   #8
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Thrustworthy? HAH! That sounds like a rating scale for pr0n or somethin'...
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-20-07, 01:33 PM   #9
NoiR
Black Sheep
 
NoiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Thrustworthy? HAH! That sounds like a rating scale for pr0n or somethin'...
Yes, youre right

But as I mentioned above, my english is
__________________
E6700@3,4 - 1.3V, 32C/47C / Thermalright SI-128 SE || P5B Deluxe WiFi + Thermalright HR-05 / HR-09 || 4x 1 GB OCZ DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-12 + OCZ XTC || 2x250 GB Samsung SP2514N || XFX 8800 GTS @ 612/1404/936 || X-Fi Fatal1ty || Sony CPD-E 430 || Antec P160 || BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 530W || Scythe Kama Meter || Vista Ultimate
NoiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 01:40 PM   #10
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoiR

But as I mentioned above, my english is
No worries, my german is worse
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-07, 04:33 PM   #11
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

I am curious. Where did you get these numbers?
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-07, 01:49 AM   #12
NoiR
Black Sheep
 
NoiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default Re: 8800 modded BIOS found - thrustworthy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
I am curious. Where did you get these numbers?
Thats simple - try & error. Open RivaTuner, look at the clocks and use another tool to rise the core clock. I noticed that shader clocks only went up for 54 Mhz when you set the core clock higher, but I didnt find a system because some steps irritated me, for example: setting clock to 587 Mhz results in a shader clock of 1350 Mhz and a core clock of 594 Mhz. Setting the core to 596 Mhz will result in a shader clock of 1404 Mhz and a core clock of 594 Mhz too.

So Ive searched a little bit and found another (german) forum where someone solved this problem with the steps between which irritated me so much.

Some cards will not match exactly the speeds in the graphic, mine for example jumps sometimes a step higher as I want. Perhaps its because of some programs I use to overclock or something with rounding the numbers, I dont know yet.
__________________
E6700@3,4 - 1.3V, 32C/47C / Thermalright SI-128 SE || P5B Deluxe WiFi + Thermalright HR-05 / HR-09 || 4x 1 GB OCZ DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-12 + OCZ XTC || 2x250 GB Samsung SP2514N || XFX 8800 GTS @ 612/1404/936 || X-Fi Fatal1ty || Sony CPD-E 430 || Antec P160 || BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 530W || Scythe Kama Meter || Vista Ultimate
NoiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.