Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-07, 01:20 AM   #1
ewigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

I'm trying to set mode 1680x1050 (which is the monitor's native resolution) but the best I can get is 1400x1050.

From Xorg.0.log it seems the monitor is supplying two different sets of information about itself:
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): 135.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
...
(--) NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 150.0 MHz

and later on the monitor thinks the native mode is this:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 146.25 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1680, 1960
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2136, 2240
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1050, 1053
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1059, 1089
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/+

But the driver rejects it because the pixel clock is > 135MHz. So I tried a mode line with a resolution 1680x1050 that had a pixel clock of 134MHz but the driver rejected that as too large for the monitor.

Why does the driver think the monitor's characteristics are different to what EDID reports and how can I fix it?
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.bz2 (207 Bytes, 112 views)
ewigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 01:24 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

You could try adding a line like: Option "IgnoreEdid"
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 02:35 AM   #3
ewigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

I tried that, and ended up with a much lower resolution. Most of the other modes were rejected because they were not 60Hz.

I think (hope) that the EDID information is correct but somehow the driver is getting information from elsewhere that is wrong.
ewigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 02:50 AM   #4
ewigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

Could it be that this part of the log file:

(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce FX 5200 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): 135.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): Native FlatPanel Scaling is supported
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): DFP modes are limited to 60 Hz refresh
(--) NVIDIA(0): rate

is referring the the graphics card and not the monitor? Does it mean my GeForce FX 5200 has the 135Mhz maximum pixel clock and it's too puny to run at 1680x1050 through DVI?
ewigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 03:20 AM   #5
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

The modeline is a bit funny, it looks like it is for a CRT instead of an LCD.
This makes the clock too high and above the 135 MHz limit.
However, a 1680x1050 panel should be no problem with 135 MHz.
Try it with a modeline like this:

Modeline "1680x1050_60.00_rb" 119.00 1680 1728 1760 1840 1050 1053 1059 1080 +HSync -Vsync

That has only 119 MHz clock.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 03:33 AM   #6
ewigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

That mode validated OK, but the driver complained that it was too large for the monitor which is wrong.

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1680x1050_60.00_rb":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 119.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1680, 1728
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1760, 1840
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1050, 1053
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1059, 1080
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/-
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1680x1050_60.00_rb" is too large for AOC AOC203VW
ewigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 10:55 AM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

ewigg,
The bug report that you've attached seems to be badly mangled. Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 12:48 PM   #8
ewigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

So it is! This one should be better.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.bz2 (24.5 KB, 120 views)
ewigg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-01-07, 01:03 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

As you've already noted, your graphics card has a 135Mhz max pixelclock, and is only single link TMDS capable:

(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): 135.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS

The EDID in your display indicates the following:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 146.25 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1680, 1960
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2136, 2240
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1050, 1053
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1059, 1089
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/+

You could try the following option to deal with the "Mode "1680x1050_60.00_rb" is too large" error:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"

however, I think the bottom line here is that your hardware isn't going to be able to natively do 1680x1050.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 02:18 PM   #10
ewigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

For some reason "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck" is unrecognized and ignored.

I think I'll just accept that the FX 5200 was not made to do 1680x1050 regardless of pixel clocks or whatever.

Thanks anyway,
Ed.
ewigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 02:38 PM   #11
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewigg
I think I'll just accept that the FX 5200 was not made to do 1680x1050 regardless of pixel clocks or whatever.
Well, I had my 1920x1200 screen working on an FX 5200 until I bought a 6600GT.
You will have to tell the driver to skip some checks. Make sure your option commands are in the right place.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 03:20 PM   #12
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI

ewigg,
I'd need to see a bug report to determine why the "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck" parameter failed to work.

thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitman: Absolution release date set, Sniper Challenge pre-order game in August News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
New New New New Driver - Still No DVI decay NVIDIA Linux 2 09-16-02 05:47 PM
Unable to set desktop to 32-bit color cgi-bin NVIDIA Linux 10 07-30-02 12:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.