Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-07, 04:58 AM   #1
Cujo91
Computer Gaming Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to Cujo91
Default RAM suggestions

Yo, what ddr2 2gb (2x1gb) sticks do you guys reccomend for medium to high quality/price.
__________________
Cooler Master Tower Caser-Antec Power Trio ATX12V 550W-intel core2 duo 6600-P5N32-SLI Premium Wi-Fi Nforce 590-Nvidia GeForce eVGA 8800GTX -Kingston 1GIG DDR2-250 WD HD 7200-Logitech Mx510 Mouse-Logitech G15 Keyboard-Sceptre 20.1" widescreen LCD - Fatal1ty XtremeGamer Professional Series -Creative Inspire P380 2.1 speakers - 3dMark06=9057
Cujo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 05:30 AM   #2
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: RAM suggestions

G.Skill, Crucial Ballistix, Corsair, OCZ, etc.

Look for fast speed and good timings.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 05:48 AM   #3
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: RAM suggestions

AHaha come on Xion you can do better than that

What you want are sticks that use Micron D9 IC

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=90973

Look for the ones highlighted in red. I say spend no more than 350 for a 2GB pair, because anything over that will likely just be a waste of potential bandwidth. (unless you plan on using FSB speeds of 600 and up!)
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 06:28 AM   #4
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Some guys go all orgasmic over a set of good Microns. I'm not one of those guys, and the reason is because I believe memory is by far the least significant factor when it comes to real-world performance. All you need is a good, reliable brand with good timings/speed. Even if you find a pair that overclock well, you can usually only tell by a few tenths of a second on a SuperPi run or maybe 1fps in your games. That's not nearly enough for the extra hundreds of dollars some will spend or the trouble they go through to find the perfect sticks.

Don't get me wrong. When I look for memory, I read a decent amount of reviews and do my research, check timings carefully, and look for a good speed. But I keep a level head about it and realize the cost/benefit factor is pretty poor compared to the rest of your computer components. For the money one may spend on a set of 400-500$ sticks of RAM, they could have a kickass water cooling system to help them overclock their CPU/GPU by 10-20% and more than make up the difference.

The #1 factor is almost always how well your motherboard will sync with whatever brand of RAM you buy. Some are better with some brands than others. I had a set of DDR500 OCZ Platinum sticks on my last system that people were raving about, but when I switched to an Asus board it vomited them out at every overclocking venture. Meanwhile, my buddy was using low-level Crucial 400 on the same setup I was and running the same speeds I was since I had to underclock mine to keep it stable.

So to be blunt, I think those who go trapsing about looking for the perfect set of RAM sticks that will increase their overall performance by maybe .01% either need something better to spend their time/money on or are completely oblivious. That may sound kind of harsh, but that's my take on it.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 07:02 PM   #5
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
the reason is because I believe memory is by far the least significant factor when it comes to real-world performance.
I agree.

But if you want to hit FSB speeds of over 400 with reasonable latency timings then you will need Microns.

I see he ^ has an e6600, so you actually dont need Microns all that badly unless you have a great chip. But still, Micron IC are not all that hard to find, and DDR2 prices are really dropping recently.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-07, 12:49 AM   #6
Cujo91
Computer Gaming Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to Cujo91
Default Re: RAM suggestions

I have a kingston 1gig stick currently and the sucker is at 60 percent when I'm just on the internet. I'm just getting into computers but I have never heard of that brand name before this I bought this computer, and I read somewhere that no name brand rams perform horribly. Maybe I am looking at 2gigs because my one is performing so horribly. Does the Microns work well with the Asus p5 premium and what specs are the usual norm that I should look for. Thanks for the replies.
__________________
Cooler Master Tower Caser-Antec Power Trio ATX12V 550W-intel core2 duo 6600-P5N32-SLI Premium Wi-Fi Nforce 590-Nvidia GeForce eVGA 8800GTX -Kingston 1GIG DDR2-250 WD HD 7200-Logitech Mx510 Mouse-Logitech G15 Keyboard-Sceptre 20.1" widescreen LCD - Fatal1ty XtremeGamer Professional Series -Creative Inspire P380 2.1 speakers - 3dMark06=9057
Cujo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-07, 01:01 AM   #7
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Not all D9 Micron IC chips overclock great ,most do ,but not all ,I still think the Corsair PC6400C4 Dominator is good memory even if it does have promo IC.the four sticks I had would do there rated output of 800mhz with 4-4-4-12-2T AT 2.1V and the four stick I had would overclock to 1000mhz at 5-5-5-15-2T at 2.2v and they look good.I just got the PC8500C5 Dominators because I got them cheap with the trade in from corsair.there are lots of ram out there that is good no manner what brand and some that is just junk ,look for good timming with high speed and the lowest voltage.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-07, 01:04 AM   #8
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055
the four stick I had would overclock to 1000mhz at 5-5-5-15-2T at 2.2v and they look good.
You must have version 1.1 or 1.2 then, the ones that actually used the microns.

I, too, had a pair of those but figured it would be better to spend a little more and trade them in with their promotion thingey like you did
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-07, 01:11 AM   #9
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Kingston is a brand name and they usually produce some quality memory sticks. I really have not used any of their hi perf sticks but I have used their standard ram sticks in several pc's built for average daily use and results have been consistent stable, reliable systems.

I have some Micron D9 in my present gaming rig rated at PC8500. Total overkill for that system as I would have been better off getting some good PC6400 that would run 800MHz. Performance would have been equally as good for a lot less cost...you live and learn.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-07, 01:57 AM   #10
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Some guys go all orgasmic over a set of good Microns. I'm not one of those guys, and the reason is because I believe memory is by far the least significant factor when it comes to real-world performance. All you need is a good, reliable brand with good timings/speed. Even if you find a pair that overclock well, you can usually only tell by a few tenths of a second on a SuperPi run or maybe 1fps in your games. That's not nearly enough for the extra hundreds of dollars some will spend or the trouble they go through to find the perfect sticks.
You won't be hitting a good overclock unless you have good memory. Going from 266MHZ to 400MHZ memory speed won't do too much, but when you consider the fact that an E6600 at that FSB would be running at 3.6 GHZ, that's quite a bit faster than what you normally have.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-07, 02:37 AM   #11
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan
when you consider the fact that an E6600 at that FSB would be running at 3.6 GHZ, that's quite a bit faster than what you normally have.
DDR2 800?

The memory will not be overclocked if you keep your bus speeds running at a 1:1 ratio with the memory. Remember DDR2 is double data rate, Conroes are quad thus 400x2=800 and 400x9=3600.

If you run @ 3.6 you will not need good memory. If you have an e6400 or 6300 and want a huge OC, then you will.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 06:56 PM   #12
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: RAM suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan
You won't be hitting a good overclock unless you have good memory. Going from 266MHZ to 400MHZ memory speed won't do too much, but when you consider the fact that an E6600 at that FSB would be running at 3.6 GHZ, that's quite a bit faster than what you normally have.
That's why I said "good timings" and "good speed" in every one of my replies on this topic, Zelda.

I never said don't go with "good memory." I just implied one shouldn't get all hot and bothered over a set of microns. All that is really needed is to take your desired FSB into consideration and find a pair of sticks that can hang. This obviously means that you wouldn't pick up a set of DDR533 sticks if you wanted to run a 1:1 ratio with an 1800FSB.

Many just make too much out of memory and spend more time/money than is really needed. Going that extra mile with memory just doesn't pay off as well as many other components.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia: Adobe's own David Helmly gives Quadro GPU suggestions to get the most out of News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 06:40 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 07:49 AM
Speak Up: BioWare Now Taking Dragon Age 3 Suggestions News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 08:40 AM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 12:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.