Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-07, 10:47 AM   #1
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

Hello all,
I have a question. I have a GeForce 6200 with two monitors connected. One 19" (1280x1024) and one 15" (1024x768) using twinview. My operating system is Fedora Core 6. All works fine.

except ...

I also have a TV connected to the GeForce adapter. I was able to configure a different xorg.conf where I can use my TV. But I can only use one of my two TFTs and the TV. I found no way to have a configuration with

19" TFT at the DVI connecter (with an analog adapter -> CRT)
15" TFT at the VGA port
TV connected to the svideo port

at the same time (with only one xorg.conf - file)

Is there a solution for this problem?

Or must I "live" with the 2 different xorg.conf files?
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 02:43 PM   #2
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

To understand better, which configuration I use at the moment, I will
post my 2 xorg.conf files (only the device-section):

xorg.conf for two monitors: (TV does not work)

Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VendorName  "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName   "GeForce 6600"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option      "DisableGLXRootClipping" "true" 
        Option      "BackStoring" "true"
        Option      "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"

        Option      "TwinView" "true"
        Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, CRT, TV"
        Option      "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
        Option      "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
        Option      "HWCursor" "On"
        Option      "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1024x768"
        Option      "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
xorg.conf for one monitor and tv:

Code:
Section "Device"
 
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VendorName  "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName   "GeForce 6600"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option      "DisableGLXRootClipping" "true" #Fix Black windows
        Option      "BackStoring" "true"
        Option      "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
 
        Option      "TwinView" "true"
        Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
        Option      "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
        Option      "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        # Option   "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"

        Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
        Option      "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0 - 55.0"
        Option      "HWCursor" "On"
        Option      "MetaModes" "1280x1024,800x600"
        Option      "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
A perfect solution would be to be able to switch the second monitor to tv-mode (clone-mode) via hotkey. Is that possible by using the meta-modes in the xorg.conf ?

Sorry for some typos, I'm German.
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 04:51 AM   #3
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

When you use a recent nvidia driver it supports 'DynamicTwinview'. Enable this option and then you don't have to specify other options in your xorg.conf. With the option enabled you can enable/disable twinview on the fly using nvidia-settings.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 05:43 AM   #4
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

Well, I have 1.0.9755 installed. I think, that is the recent driver from Nvidia.
When I use the first xorg.conf (see my post above), then I can't switch the TV on with nvidia-settings. The program shows me all 3 screens, but the tv is disabled (TV-0 disabled). I can't activate it with nvidia-setting. When I try that, I get a message "Failed to associate display device TV-0 with X screen 0".

DynamicTwinview is enabled. So far I know, it's enabled by default in 9755, but I made the entry "Option "DynamicTwinview" "true" in the config file. But that changed nothing.

I think the problem can be solved by using meta-modes. But I don't know how to configure that in the xorg.conf file so that it fits my needs.
I need this two (switchable) configurations:

1: CRT-0 1280x1024, CRT-1 1024x768
2: CRT-0 1280x1024, CRT-1 800x600 and (clone) TV-0 800x600

Please help!
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 07:39 AM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

The last option isn't possible as the GPU can only output to two output devices at once (it only has two RAMDACs).
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 11:20 AM   #6
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

That makes sense.
Does it not work in clone-mode, too? I thought so ...

Well, then I have to set up a configuration like this:

1: CRT-0 1280x1024, CRT-1 1024x768
2: CRT-0 1280x1024, TV-0 800x600

Can somebody help to configure the meta-modes?
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 11:25 AM   #7
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

You can disable the second screen using nvidia-settings and then move to clone, though that takes a few seconds when you want to switch. You have already typed the correct metamodes yourself. (you need two serverlayouts now and two screen sections; or two xorg.conf files)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 03:13 PM   #8
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Unhappy Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
You can disable the second screen using nvidia-settings and then move to clone, though that takes a few seconds when you want to switch. You have already typed the correct metamodes yourself. (you need two serverlayouts now and two screen sections; or two xorg.conf files)
That's exactley the point I why I ask you folks.

The reason is, that I like to have a configuration, where I can swith between the CRT-1 an TV "on the fly" (what means, with a hotkey like Ctrl-Alt-minus or plus on the numpad).
A configuration with 2 different xorg.conf flies I have already. But that is not a solution for me. Ok, changing the screen from CRT-1 to TV-0 via nvidia-settings would be great too. But the first xorg.conf file I posted above does not work. That's my problem...

Can please on of the Nvidia specialists help me here?

Thanks in advance.
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-07, 03:30 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 03:45 PM   #10
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Well, ok.

1) stability problem: no
2) I took a look there and found nothing about my issue
3) already done in my first post
3a) see attachment
3b) no installation problems
3c) non

Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (77.5 KB, 100 views)
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 05:13 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

You cannot have more than two display devices in play simultaneously. Trying to dynamically switch between various permutations of two of three unique display devices will not work.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 05:33 PM   #12
WBerlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Configuration question (Twinview+TV)

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
You cannot have more than two display devices in play simultaneously. Trying to dynamically switch between various permutations of two of three unique display devices will not work.
So I have to live with my two xorg.conf files. I thought that dynamically switching between the two screens/devices is possible when only one screen is activated at the same time.

Thank you very much for your help.

Greeting from Berlin!
WBerlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 12:46 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.