Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-03, 11:56 AM   #1
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default Problem with driver in Mandrake 9 HELP ME PLEASE! =)

Hi..
Sorry for my english, friends..
ham.. here is my problem...

I have Mandrake 9.0 and when I open the NVChooser..
it tell me to download and install:

NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.mdk90up.i586.rpm
NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4191.i386.rpm

and now my XFree don't start !
What Do I ?

If I boot in the CD of Mandrake Instalation..
Can I back to old driver without delete my files??

Thank for your help !
See u later!
__________________
Blind 4ever
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-03, 06:25 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

You do realize that installing the RPMs is not all you have to do, right? You also have to edit some of your config files. Check through the driver README for what files to edit and what to change in them.

To get a GUI back (which you are probably going to want to do, unless you know any text mode editors well enough), you should probably rpm -e NVIDIA_GLX NVIDIA_kernel to begin with. See if that maybe helps.

If you have edited the config files already, then attach /var/log/XFree86.0.log to your next post.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-03, 09:23 PM   #3
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default

Hey, Thanks! I'll do it...
If I have some problem I'll post here..
thanks! again!
sorry for my english..
__________________
Blind 4ever
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-03, 10:05 PM   #4
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default

Alright... here another stupid question! =)
Sorry...

What command I have to use to edit the XF86Config-4 in the console mode?

The README say that I have to replace the line:
Driver "nv" with Diver "nvidia"

write:
load "glx"

and remove:
load "dri"
load "GLcore"

Is it correct?

Hey.. I use the ? command in the /etc/X11 and there say that I use the mdk9enterprise.i686.. Downloaded I the correct driver?
Thans for any help!!
__________________
Blind 4ever

Last edited by Hipsoterus; 03-16-03 at 05:33 PM.
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 08:22 AM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

You can try pico -w or nano, if you installed those editors. Emacs might also be installed, but emacs doesn't directly tell you on the screen how to get out of it. There may be help somewhere...

But I know that vim is installed, unfortunately vim is probably one of the more complicated editors to use. Perhaps a run through vimtutor would help?

Anyway, once you figure out which editor to use, do a thateditor'sname /etc/X11/XF86Config-4, make the changes, and save & exit.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 05:31 PM   #6
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default

Hi again.. and thanks to your help again!!
Thanks!!

Now.. I edited the XF86Config-4 and I replace Driver "nv" with Driver "nvidia".. the Load GLX is in there.. and Load Dri and GlCore don't..

It's alright the XF86Config-4 ( sorry my english! )
But It don't resolve my problem.. I can't run the Xfree..

Here the last part of my Xfree86.0.log:

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(II) Loading sub module "vgahw"
(II) LoadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(II) Module vgahw: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.2.1, module version = 0.1.0
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.5
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xE8000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xFD000000
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found


Is it enough?
What I can do to run my Xfree?

Thanks for all! =)
__________________
Blind 4ever
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 06:22 PM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

You can try, first, doing an /sbin/modprobe nvidia to try to load the driver, before you do your startx.

If it still doesn't work, then look in /var/log/messages (I believe) for anything the kernel module would have logged. When it won't initialize, it sometimes logs the reason why in that file.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 06:59 PM   #8
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default

HHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!
A LOT OF THANKS TO U, MY FRRIEEENNDD!!

The /sbin/modproble nvidia wwoorrrkkk heerree!!!
Thhaannkksss..

U'r veryyy veryy good in Linux, ham!!
U'r good!!

But.. I have a question..
How I make this command ( /sbin/modprobe nvidia ) to autorun when I run the Linux?

Because my XFree is configured to autostart when I run the Linux.. have some way to I don't need to enter in the text mode to run my XFree?
__________________
Blind 4ever

Last edited by Hipsoterus; 03-16-03 at 09:04 PM.
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-16-03, 07:04 PM   #9
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default

Hey... sorry for busy u..
but I have another problem with my linux..
It don't have de setserial package..
and I don't have the cd #3 here to install...

Can I find this package in a site ?
In web?

My modem doesn't work in Linux..

Hey.. thanks for all again !!
=))

ps - Tux Racer is very nice !!! =)) hehehehehehhehe
__________________
Blind 4ever
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 09:08 PM   #10
Hipsoterus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Hipsoterus
Default

Somebody can help me??
__________________
Blind 4ever
Hipsoterus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-03, 10:10 PM   #11
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hipsoterus
But.. I have a question..
How I make this command ( /sbin/modprobe nvidia ) to autorun when I run the Linux?
There are a couple of ways to do it. If running [ -c /dev/.devfsd ] ; echo $? prints 0, then alias 1 should be uncommented and put in your /etc/modules.conf file. If it prints anything other than 0 (it should only print 0 and 1, but you never know), then you should uncomment and use alias 2:

Code:
# Alias 1:
# alias /dev/nvidia* nvidia
# Alias 2:
# alias char-major-195 nvidia
Mandrake should, IIRC, use alias 1.

Make sure the appropriate line is in modules.conf, and then run /sbin/depmod -a as root to update the dependencies.

At this point, you should be able to reboot and load the nvidia module automatically -- not when you boot, but when it's first required.

As for setserial, can you find it at http://rpmfind.net? Actually, this page would probably help:

http://rpmfind.net//linux/RPM/mandra...6mdk.i586.html

Use the link at the top of the page to download the RPM.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics driver installation problem (your comments will be highly appreciated) apuurboo NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series 0 06-16-12 07:35 AM
Graphics driver installation problem (your comments will be highly appreciated) apuurboo NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series 0 06-13-12 07:58 AM
Driver problem cOoL_Ti NVIDIA Linux 2 10-12-02 08:16 AM
Mandrake 9.0 driver installation Andy Mecham NVIDIA Linux 3 10-02-02 04:12 PM
Noob needs help with driver (Mandrake) khelvig NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 01:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.