Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-07, 10:01 PM   #1
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Talking 4 GHz!!!

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=174261


Too bad its not stable.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:11 PM   #2
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Whoa!!! How far do you get before you get a error?
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:12 PM   #3
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

What RAM were you using? It looks like different RAM than your sig...

Nice work; get the bugs out. 3.8-3.9 would be pretty nice for a e6600.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:13 PM   #4
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Whoa!!! How far do you get before you get a error?
3dmk 06 - the cpu test

It ran PI perfectly fine. Orthos for 1 min. Temps were pretty bad tho, 46 idle? heh... I will tweak it more.

I gotta get it stable.

And I am using the 8500 Dominators for RAM.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:15 PM   #5
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Have you tried 500 x 8 1:1? or 475 x 8 1:1 @ 1.55 or 1.60 Vcore.

Edit: I just saw this.

RAM Size : 2048 MB
RAM Freq : 450 MHz
RAM Type : DDR2-SDRAM Dual Channel
RAM Ratio : 1:1
RAM Timings : 4-3-3-9 < pretty tight for 450 isn't it?
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 10:30 PM   #6
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

46 idle doesn't sound too far off for 1.7V. That's about where mine was. You've gotta remember that you have those two heatmonger G80's in your loop, too. A lot of those guys you see over on xtremesystems don't have them in their loops.

No matter what kind of pump/rad you have, a CPU only loop will almost always outperform one that includes graphics/chipsets--especially when it includes both or two cards that run as hot as the G80s. This is a big reason why I'm planning on going with two separate loops on my next build. One for CPU, one for graphics.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 11:05 PM   #7
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Have you tried 500 x 8 1:1? or 475 x 8 1:1 @ 1.55 or 1.60 Vcore.

Edit: I just saw this.

RAM Size : 2048 MB
RAM Freq : 450 MHz
RAM Type : DDR2-SDRAM Dual Channel
RAM Ratio : 1:1
RAM Timings : 4-3-3-9 < pretty tight for 450 isn't it?
Yep, would not POST @ 500. I am trying 475 now, in case of any holes.
And yeah, my Dominators really dominate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
46 idle doesn't sound too far off for 1.7V. That's about where mine was. You've gotta remember that you have those two heatmonger G80's in your loop, too. A lot of those guys you see over on xtremesystems don't have them in their loops.

No matter what kind of pump/rad you have, a CPU only loop will almost always outperform one that includes graphics/chipsets. This is a big reason why I'm planning on going with two separate loops on my next build. One for CPU, one for graphics.
The G80's surprisingly did not heat up my loop too terribly much. I would say 3 degrees each; given by my CPU temp before I added them to the loop. But yea, they definitely heat up with that extra Vcore.
Heh, you goin for the ol dual loop goodness? To me that just sounds like waay too much work. I would just go with a silent phase box on the CPU and water on everything else; that would be pinnacele performance.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 11:11 PM   #8
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

475 would not stay.

Lets see... Ill go with 449 and make sure that is stable first..
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-07, 11:54 PM   #9
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Try the mem at 4-4-4-12 see if it gets stable.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 12:26 AM   #10
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
Heh, you goin for the ol dual loop goodness? To me that just sounds like waay too much work. I would just go with a silent phase box on the CPU and water on everything else; that would be pinnacele performance.
LOL. Two WC'ng loops sounds too much for you but phase doesn't?

Enjoy pasting all that silicon on your motherboard and praying you don't get condensation. Heh.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 12:41 AM   #11
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Try the mem at 4-4-4-12 see if it gets stable.
Its not the memory - I tested this RAM out right when I got it and it passed memtest @ 1066 4-4-4-9. I tried CL3 @ 800, 3-3-3-5 but it took 2.5 vdimm to maintain - the sticks were pretty hot (and that was with my old Zalman blowing air right through them! which has since been removed and replaced with watercooling)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
LOL. Two WC'ng loops sounds too much for you but phase doesn't?

Enjoy pasting all that silicon on your motherboard and praying you don't get condensation. Heh.
Haha let me reword: Two loops is a little too much work than I prefer. I have not even finished my rig I am working on right now; I cant imagine adding even more stuff to my case. Heh you saw how crowded it is in there, right? Maybe a mini res would work... and a rad hung on the exhaust fan... We'll see. I am just nevrous about cooling the chipsets after my 680i died - I am pretty sure it was because I killed the NB (the MCW30 was totally scratched). I think HR-05s would work fine on the chipsets.

How would you go about the rads, though? 120 on the CPU and 360 on the GPU is what I would recommend. I noticed my CPU only heated marginally with the G80 cards; I think that is due to the Thermochill. I can run my fans @ 5v verses 12v and the temps stay the same.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 01:47 AM   #12
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Quote:
How would you go about the rads, though? 120 on the CPU and 360 on the GPU is what I would recommend.
Yep. I'm just thinking out loud, though. When the time comes, I'll probably go with another case that has a little more room. I'll probably have this case for a long while.. at least until my next major build when DDR3 and the next-gen GPUs get here (not the 8900GTX).
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Takes Graphics Crown with AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition (AMD) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition Review - Taking on the GTX 680 (PCPerspective) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition Review (Hardware Canucks) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Athlon XP 2200+ vs. P4 2.4 Ghz Iron1384 General Hardware 7 10-10-02 07:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.