Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-07, 01:58 PM   #13
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Stable @ 3.8! I will post screenies when I get home, as I am at school till 12 then I have work till 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Nice clock man! What was your vcore for that test, really 1.7V?
Yeah... That is a little too high for my liking.

I have it running 3.8 with 1.6, which is more reasonable. Now I have to test what the minimum vcore for 3.8 is. I want to get it to at least 3.9.... but if that is not feasable I will keep it at 3.8.

I have tried some of the higher busses, (500x8, 550x7)but this board is just not happy with lower multis and higher bus like Intel-based boards are. Trade off for SLI I guess..
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 02:31 PM   #14
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Wow! That's an awesome overclock man! Good job!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 02:36 PM   #15
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Two loops is EXTREMELY inefficent. Would would get much better performance by just adding another radiator to your current loop. If you need more water flux then just use a more powerful pump (the Eheim 1250 is silent and very powerful)
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 03:15 PM   #16
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

Zelda, I already have the most powerful single pump solution out there aside from the Iwaki RD30, and have already added another rad to my loop, and there are guys I've seen with noticeably better temps than me who are running separate loops to the CPU and graphics.

I don't think it's "inefficient" if you do it right; I'm not sure where you're getting that. Obviously, a CPU is going to heat up a lot less if you're not passing the water over two hot G80's before routing it back to it--not to mention adding all that extra tubing and restriction with two GPU blocks.

When I first constructed my loop I tested it before plugging in either of my GTX's. Temps on the processor were a good 7-8C lower than they are with them in my loop--and that's on all that additional tubing and restriction from the graphics blocks that wouldn't be there if I had the CPU on a single, short loop. That's a significant difference--especially when you begin pushing enough voltage to the processor to hit Intel's advisable stopping point for temps.

buffbiff also says above that the G80s added 6C to his temps. You just can't rid your loop of that extra heat/restriction/tubing.. no matter how strong a pump or radiator you have. Two loops is always going to get you better temps as long as you don't skimp on the parts.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 05:45 PM   #17
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: 4 GHz!!!

I don't mind fans really and water cooling is a bit messy if you want to change something out...

Nice O/C though, I mean its at 4GHz and your within windows, thats good enough. Probably don't mean to much but I'd assume with that type of O/C if you could run 3dmark06 you could get a really nice score.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Takes Graphics Crown with AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition (AMD) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition Review - Taking on the GTX 680 (PCPerspective) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition Review (Hardware Canucks) News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 03:50 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Athlon XP 2200+ vs. P4 2.4 Ghz Iron1384 General Hardware 7 10-10-02 07:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.