Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-07, 04:44 AM   #1
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Temps

I just downloaded the Thermal Analysis Tool for Intel, and I noticed my Digital temps were 50c on each core. I then clicked on the Start button for each core. They climbed to 65c and then 70c a-piece. My CPU temp over-all in the nvmonitor was clocking in at around 64c doing this.

My question is, is this normal? Keep in mind I don't think I have the latest bios for the board I got, and the reason being is I am being lazy about putting in my floppy drive. Still kind of spooky to see temps like that.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 03:25 PM   #2
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Temps

The jump in temps is normal. TAT raises temps on your processor like no other stress-tester out there.

Again.. if you want better temps on your Conroe then you need to purchase yourself a really good heat-sink fan. This is no gimmick; the stock fans on the Intels suck and will keep your temps much higher. If you want the absolute best in HSFs, you'll go get yourself a Tuniq Tower off newegg.com or performance-pcs.com If you just want "good", you'll go get yourself a Scythe Ninja, Arctic Freezer, etc. And also use AS5 when you put them on. Clean off your CPU's heat-spreader with Isopropyl Alcohol first, though, and use the AS5 very sparingly. Just a very thin line down the middle over the cores would be sufficient.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 05:42 PM   #3
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
The jump in temps is normal. TAT raises temps on your processor like no other stress-tester out there.

Again.. if you want better temps on your Conroe then you need to purchase yourself a really good heat-sink fan. This is no gimmick; the stock fans on the Intels suck and will keep your temps much higher. If you want the absolute best in HSFs, you'll go get yourself a Tuniq Tower off newegg.com or performance-pcs.com If you just want "good", you'll go get yourself a Scythe Ninja, Arctic Freezer, etc. And also use AS5 when you put them on. Clean off your CPU's heat-spreader with Isopropyl Alcohol first, though, and use the AS5 very sparingly. Just a very thin line down the middle over the cores would be sufficient.

Yeah its money right now. Its tight but thanks dude that worried me. It scared the crap out of me when my temps rose to 70c. Will my pc burn out or shut off before it allows it to cause damage?

I plan on getting a HSF in the future, I actually just went back to 2.4GHz because of that with little to no change.

One question while I am on the subject. Would be possible to push 3.20GHz out of my CPU without a voltage rise, and if I had to increase the voltage exactly how much should I do it in "Increments" wise.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 06:25 PM   #4
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Temps

Do not run the processor over 60C for long periods of time. Intel says "not good."

For voltage increases, most E6600's seem to hit a wall at 3.2 w/ stock voltage. I bump mine up in quarters of a tenth at a time. Like from 1.3-->1.325, for example, and test it to see if it's stable. If it isn't, then I'll bump it to 1.35. And so on...

In my case, my 6600 will get to 3.2 easy on stock voltage. But I have to bump it to 1.4 to get it to 3.35, and I have to bump it to 1.5v to get it to 3.5, and then 1.6 to get to 3.6. And then 1.7 ( ) to get to 3.8ghz.

It all comes down to luck of the draw. Some overclock better than others. That's the joy of this game. Unpredictability.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 11:43 PM   #5
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Do not run the processor over 60C for long periods of time. Intel says "not good."

For voltage increases, most E6600's seem to hit a wall at 3.2 w/ stock voltage. I bump mine up in quarters of a tenth at a time. Like from 1.3-->1.325, for example, and test it to see if it's stable. If it isn't, then I'll bump it to 1.35. And so on...

In my case, my 6600 will get to 3.2 easy on stock voltage. But I have to bump it to 1.4 to get it to 3.35, and I have to bump it to 1.5v to get it to 3.5, and then 1.6 to get to 3.6. And then 1.7 ( ) to get to 3.8ghz.

It all comes down to luck of the draw. Some overclock better than others. That's the joy of this game. Unpredictability.

I will probably hold off on O/Cing until I can grab a better HSF. It seems to run a bit hot right now, and I am almost scared to do any gaming that uses both cores. BF2, and most of my games don't raise the temp very much at all. You'd think with intel saying that the stock HSF would do it good. Yet someone how that TAT soft can heat my CPU up to 65c even at stock.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 01:07 AM   #6
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: Temps

You'll probably notice that raising voltage will cause a bigger increase in temperature than overclocking itself.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 11:04 PM   #7
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Temps

Question looking at nTune now and my voltage for PCI-E is 1.4, and my HT(SPP-MCP) is 1.45 why is it so high. Its what the mobo set it to standard, is that dangerous or high?
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.