Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-07, 04:52 AM   #1
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Right now I'm using DDR2 667 Ram in my computer. but my FSB is 921MHz from overclocking my PentiumD 950 15% to 3.917 GHz. Should I be buying faster RAM? If so, what kind would be best? (1 GB sticks only)
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 07:53 AM   #2
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Have you tried overclocking your RAM? Maybe to 800MHz for DDR2 6400...
No. I dabble in overclock profiles for my CPU and thats all. Though I am thinking about going in to turn the multiplyer up to 35x simply to squeeze out the needed power to grab 4 GHz out of my CPU. I'm running a P5LD2 Deluxe motherboard and know absolutly nothing about RAM overclocking unfortunatly.
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 08:03 PM   #3
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by L33t Masta
No. I dabble in overclock profiles for my CPU and thats all. Though I am thinking about going in to turn the multiplyer up to 35x simply to squeeze out the needed power to grab 4 GHz out of my CPU. I'm running a P5LD2 Deluxe motherboard and know absolutly nothing about RAM overclocking unfortunatly.

So am I right when I think Ishould buy higher clocked RAM?
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 09:22 PM   #4
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

You're not being very descriptive. For example:
Quote:
Right now I'm using DDR2 667 Ram in my computer. but my FSB is 921MHz from overclocking my PentiumD 950 15% to 3.917 GHz. Should I be buying faster RAM?
--what does this mean, exactly? Why would you need to buy faster RAM to run at a faster FSB? Is your computer crashing/locking up on you, or what? What you're asking doesn't make any sense.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 10:17 PM   #5
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
You're not being very descriptive. For example:


--what does this mean, exactly? Why would you need to buy faster RAM to run at a faster FSB? Is your computer crashing/locking up on you, or what? What you're asking doesn't make any sense.
Err..I want faster ram for a faster computer..if I have an FSB thats faster than 667 should I not have ram faster than 667?
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 11:18 PM   #6
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Not necessarily, no. It depends on the motherboard and whether or not it allows you to clock your memory independently of your FSB, which most do. I have an FSB of 1600 with my RAM running at 800mhz.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 11:27 PM   #7
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Well idk if my P5LD2 Deluxe allows me to. But usually the higher your FSB, the higher speed RAM you can use effectivly, correct? Like if my PSB was 800 MHz, then using a 1000MHz stick of RAM would waste basiclly 200 MHz, correct?
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-07, 11:55 PM   #8
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by L33t Masta
Well idk if my P5LD2 Deluxe allows me to. But usually the higher your FSB, the higher speed RAM you can use effectivly, correct? Like if my PSB was 800 MHz, then using a 1000MHz stick of RAM would waste basiclly 200 MHz, correct?
No. That's not at all how it works. Your RAM would just run at 1000mhz.

Your RAM runs independent of your FSB until you start overclocking. It's true that when you overclock your FSB that your RAM speed increases, but most boards allow you the ability to set your RAM speed manually if you want to. And if you can't set it manually, then most boards allow you to set a divider on it in order to scale it back so that you're not running it too much faster than its rated speed.

The only time you would need faster RAM is if your motherboard is unstable with anything other than a 1:1 FSB/Memory ratio. Say, for example, 1600mhz on the FSB and 800mhz on the RAM, which is what I have to run. A pair of DDR533 sticks would probably not be up to the task in this case if I wanted to run a 1600FSB for 24/7 use.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-06-07, 12:33 AM   #9
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
No. That's not at all how it works. Your RAM would just run at 1000mhz.

Your RAM runs independent of your FSB until you start overclocking. It's true that when you overclock your FSB that your RAM speed increases, but most boards allow you the ability to set your RAM speed manually if you want to. And if you can't set it manually, then most boards allow you to set a divider on it in order to scale it back so that you're not running it too much faster than its rated speed.

The only time you would need faster RAM is if your motherboard is unstable with anything other than a 1:1 FSB/Memory ratio. Say, for example, 1600mhz on the FSB and 800mhz on the RAM, which is what I have to run. A pair of DDR533 sticks would probably not be up to the task in this case if I wanted to run a 1600FSB for 24/7 use.
Oh. So my RAM should keep up a 1:1 OC ratio with my FSB? So that means the RAM I have in there already is overclocked as well. Cool.
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 01:59 AM   #10
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by L33t Masta
Oh. So my RAM should keep up a 1:1 OC ratio with my FSB? So that means the RAM I have in there already is overclocked as well. Cool.
As Xion has just point out, yes more than likely unless you are running a divider which allows for different Ram speeds.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 10:31 AM   #11
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Or with the 680i you can lock you memory and o.c the FSB. Technically it's not locked. it uses hundreds of multiplires arounds them up to what you want eg 1000MHz may mean 997MHz for eg. 13:11 etc
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 10:38 AM   #12
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Here's what CPU-Z says:

RAM Size : 2048 MB
RAM Freq : 172.8 MHz
RAM Type : DDR2-SDRAM Dual Channel
RAM Ratio : 4:3
RAM Timings : 5-6-6-18



L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking issues... mcortz_2000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 09-16-02 03:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.