Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-07, 05:43 PM   #13
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Speed your RAM up. Right now, it's running at a blistering 340mhz with timings so slow a sundial could read it.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 09:57 PM   #14
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Speed your RAM up. Right now, it's running at a blistering 340mhz with timings so slow a sundial could read it.
Wow. Thats what I thought. My RAM timings were a bit slow for Vista. Only 4.5 for the RAM. How can I speed it up? What options do I need to adjust in my ASUS P5LD2 Deluxe Bios?

WOW! The guy I bought this ram lied to me. The other stick is made my Muskin. Same speed though. 667 is what it should be. So I have my CPU and FSB Oced without my RAM. My RAM is being slow for some reason
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 10:13 PM   #15
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

ANy help at this point is appreciated. I'll trythe OC when i get home.
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 11:50 PM   #16
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Well I tried it out and here's what I get:

L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 12:31 AM   #17
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Still far too slow and the timings are way too high. Crucial makes good RAM. Decrease the timings more and speed it up.

Isn't there an option in your BIOS to set the RAM speed? If not, then just look for those dividers like I was telling you before. There should be something that says "RAM Dividers" or "FSB/RAM Ratio" or something along those lines.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 12:56 AM   #18
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Still far too slow and the timings are way too high. Crucial makes good RAM. Decrease the timings more and speed it up.

Isn't there an option in your BIOS to set the RAM speed? If not, then just look for those dividers like I was telling you before. There should be something that says "RAM Dividers" or "FSB/RAM Ratio" or something along those lines.
Well it seems the dude I bought the RAM from must have ****ed up, because I have ione stick of Crucial and one stick from Some other company called Muskin.
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 01:10 AM   #19
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Yeah, you don't want to mix sticks. Not good for overclocking--at all.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 01:24 AM   #20
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Well I'll worry about that later.

Here's what my BIOS looks like

Jumper-Free Settings / Configure System Frequency/Voltage

AI Overclocking - Normal
CPU Frequency - 230
DRAM Frequency - DDR2-613MHz

Merformance Mode - Auto
PCI Express Frequency - Auto
PCI Clock Sync Mode - Auto
Memory Voltage - Auto
CPU VCore Voltage - Auto
FSB Termination Voltage - Auto
MCH Chipset Voltage - Auto
ICH Chipset Voltage - Auto

Advanced Chipset Settings
Configure DRAM Timing by SPD - Enabled
Hyper Path 3 - Auto
DRAM Throttling Threshold - Auto
Boot Grafic Adapter Priority - PCI Express/PCI
-----------------------------------------
PEG Buffer length - Auto
Link Latency - Auto
PEG Root Control - Auto
PEG Link Mode 0 Auto
Slot Power - Auto
High Priority Slot Select - Disabled
2nd PCI-E slot Mode - Auto
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-07, 12:41 PM   #21
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Are any of these options the one you refered to?
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 03:09 PM   #22
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Change "performance mode" from auto to manual, because it'd hiding further settings.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 05:23 PM   #23
L33t Masta
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Change "performance mode" from auto to manual, because it'd hiding further settings.
It only gives me "Auto, None, Turbo" as options i belive. Aything else you suggest I try? Also what would be good timings for RAM lik this?
L33t Masta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 05:56 PM   #24
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: FSB, Overclocking and RAM question

On the P5LD2 enter the bios and go to Advanced, select 'manual' instead of 'auto'. That will give you a fresh screen with access to your FSB and memory timings. All are set to auto by default.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking issues... mcortz_2000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 09-16-02 03:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.