Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-07, 11:09 PM   #1
cdhgold
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

I have a dual head nvidia card as my primary device it works correctly supporting my dual monitors. I also have an on-board intel i810 video device. This works also well BY ITSELF. The problem is when I try to use both devices at the same time for 3 monitors only the device set as primary in BIOS works.
Thank you in advance for any help anyone can give
Here is my xorg.conf
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Tue Nov 7 10:05:25 PST 2006
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Multihead layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" RightOf "Screen1"
Screen 1 "Screen1" 0 0
Screen 2 "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
Option "Xinerama" "off"
Option "Clone" "on"
EndSection
Section "Files"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "nvidia"
Load "dri"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
HorizSync 30.0 - 110.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 150.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1280x1024"
HorizSync 31.5 - 67.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 30.0 - 110.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 150.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard Vendor"
BoardName "nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
BusID "PCI:4:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard2"
Driver "i810"
VideoRam 65536
VendorName "Videocard Vendor"
Option "XVideo" "On"
Option "MonitorLayout" "CRT,CRT"
Option "DevicePresence" "On"
BoardName "Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:0:2.0"
Screen 2
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "TwinView" "True"
#Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
Option "MetaModes" "nvidia-auto-select, nvidia-auto-select"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "TwinView" "True"
Option "MetaModes" "nvidia-auto-select, nvidia-auto-select"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Videocard2"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "TwinView" "True"
#Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
#Option "MetaModes" "nvidia-auto-select, nvidia-auto-select"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Here is the error from my xorg.0.log
--------------------------------------------
(WW) I810: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:2:0) found
(WW) I810: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:2:1) found
Also here is my lspci output
-------------------------------------------
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:02.0 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1e.2 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller IDE (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 01)
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (rev a1)
cdhgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 11:11 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

What does "only the device set as primary in BIOS works" mean exactly?

Also see:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 12:34 AM   #3
mooninite
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 477
Default Re: FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

You can't do this.

The onboard video will be disabled if you have any other video device in your system.

It's a BIOS limitation. You will have to buy a second real video card.
mooninite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 12:41 AM   #4
cdhgold
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

No it is not disabled. I know this because this exact same configuration worked under Windoze XPee. I find it hard to believe that this worked flawlessly under windoze and will not work under Linux.

As to the question of What does "only the device set as primary in BIOS works" mean exactly? what i mean is my bios allows me to set whether the on-board or an-add-on card is the primary video device
cdhgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 03:30 AM   #5
cdhgold
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

Here is the bug report
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (124.4 KB, 116 views)
cdhgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 11:04 AM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

cdhgold,
According to your bug report, you're trying to drive the Intel IGP with the nvidia X driver. As far as I can tell, there's no bug here, you've just not configured X correctly for your hardware.

thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 11:55 AM   #7
cdhgold
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: FC6 3 monitors w/ 2 video cards

I noticed that after posting the log I have since corrected that by putting it back to i810 with no change in the problem. You will notice in my original post the correct driver is being used. The nvidia driver got put in there when i just updated the nvidia driver within last day.

However with the driver being corrected i fully agree that it is probably a config issue that is why I'm asking for help.
cdhgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
basemosaic on 3 video cards shock32638 NVIDIA Linux 1 06-05-12 07:46 PM
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 03:51 PM
Which GeForce4 Ti 4200 cards support dual monitors? avengerzz NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 10-07-02 12:44 PM
Two video cards? jc4ever General Hardware 3 08-16-02 09:11 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.