Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-07, 09:52 AM   #13
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

My old 6800GT and Athlon XP setup was just barely enough to play most modern games at 1280x1024 without any hiccups (near max detail, sometimes 2xAA too). With a good A64, I think it should be ok for 1366x768.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:10 AM   #14
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

If I get my hands on a 1950xt agp, I'll be letting go my x800xt AIW card from my older rig
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 08:32 PM   #15
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
If I get my hands on a 1950xt agp, I'll be letting go my x800xt AIW card from my older rig
Let me know if you can get/order one. i want a X1950XT AGP to replace my X800XT aswell , but i can't seem to find any on the well-known retailer sites.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:31 PM   #16
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

10-4

I want to turn my x2 rig into a 100% folding system, including the video card.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 04:26 AM   #17
lily_nvn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

Thanks for sharing this article! I am fond of pictures, I always convert pictures to formats that I want. So I know some software that can help you to convert your pictures to the formats you want, such as,Easy Icon Maker, Help you edit transparent or opaque icon and extract an icon from an EXE or DLL file.
You can have a try in http://www.qweas.com/download/graphi...icon_maker.htm
Enjoy yourself!
lily_nvn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 03:17 PM   #18
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

Since people are saying hi. Hey rage, hey saz, hey sh
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 09:32 PM   #19
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

Poursoul you git, where the HELL have you been
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 11:03 PM   #20
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

To the OP:

My HTPC is doing just fine with current gen games. It would do a TON better if it wasn't an Athlon XP. I run everything at 1366x768 with 4x AA and 8X AF.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-07, 04:19 PM   #21
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
To the OP:

My HTPC is doing just fine with current gen games. It would do a TON better if it wasn't an Athlon XP. I run everything at 1366x768 with 4x AA and 8X AF.
What benefits are you expecting besides the differences in the UI?

I was running Ultimate on my HTPC for quite some time and I liked the interface better, but there were big problems. Firstly, it was much slower... lagged a lot. You most likely would not have that issue as you have an OK video card. I was running an x300 at the time and you could really tell.

The other major problem is the way in which Vista's MCE interface searches for media (vids, pics, etc.) In MCE2005 I simply put my movies in the My Videos dir and associate a pic with each video so that it looks nice. In Vista ALL of those pictures show up in my My Pictures section after the search... and there's NO WAY to remove them that I can tell.... it is so annoying.

EDIT: HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHadhjskhfklsfjg;jkrpgeojedn

I just noticed you said Athlon XP, not Windows XP! What a retarded thing to do....

EDIT2: I've been around, lurking. I just was too thin-skinned to put up with Vamps. He's a royal pain in my ass.
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 09:10 AM   #22
Baracade980
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 47
Default Re: 16 pipe 6800 ok for current-gen @ 1366x768?

Hey dude.

This thread seemed oddly familiar to me, as I run almost the exact same setup (save I use an old Pent4 processor).

Currently on my 26 inch HD (which I also bought on a budget... might even be the same manufacturer according to the prices listed earlier in the thread) I play most my games just fine at 1280 X 720 (most games dont like the 1366 X 768, but I have used that res in the past).

GOW I can't say for sure since I don't have it, but all of mine play just fine over my GeForce 6800 (AGP no less). Usually play FEAR, HL2, BF2142, and AoE3 and are probably the biggest graphical users in my library of games. Ususally I'm running them at 1280 X 1024 so when you take away those extra pixels, they do run a little faster. I ususally run medium amounts of AA or AF as I don't really notice the jaggies or other issues much from where I sit.

I'd say if you wanna be sure of smooth gameplay and add a little AA or AF, go with the better card, but the 6800 will probably be fine.
Baracade980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.