Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-07, 09:07 PM   #13
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

I consider the E6300 and up a high-end CPU. With a decent overclock (say at least 2.4GHz), how much faster are you really gonna get? In terms of real life gaming performance, I don't see anything on the market that's gonna provide more performance. Maybe a 3.0GHz+ overclocked one would do like 5% better, but that doesn't make the E6300-6600 "mid-range".
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 09:09 PM   #14
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
fact


people get riled up over the price difference and think they are paying for a superior cpu. there is no difference between an e6600 core and an x6800 core other than the unlocked multi

is an unlocked multi worth 600 dollars? no
Actually, the unlocked Multi allows people to overclock the X6800 even further than you could the E6600.

but I do agree that the additional $400-600 isn't worth the small margin of performance you get, especially when you've got boards like the 680i on the market.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 09:44 PM   #15
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol
Actually, the unlocked Multi allows people to overclock the X6800 even further than you could the E6600.
if youve got phase or LN2

but omg i like to keep my computers in a quiet case
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 10:20 PM   #16
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverickman
I guess the mid-range CPUs would cover a lot of ground. For example, there's a BIG difference between an E6600 and an Athlon 64 X2 4200+, yet both would be considered mid-range CPUs. Only the Core2 Extreme X6800 and Core2 Quad Q6600 would be high-end. Almost all of us have mid-range CPUs then?
None of that crap matters when you overclock right now. You'll get just as good performance from an E6600 as you will an X6800, Q6600, or a QX6700 unless you're a video-editing guru. No games are quad-threaded, and they will all overclock about the same.

So don't worry about what "Maximum PC" says. I don't.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-07, 10:23 PM   #17
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol
Actually, the unlocked Multi allows people to overclock the X6800 even further than you could the E6600.
Not if you have a decent motherboard, it doesn't. It all still depends on the internals of the chip. There are plenty of E6600s I've seen that were able to clock higher than X6800s on the same platform.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:12 AM   #18
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
if youve got phase or LN2
Well, if they can afford an X6800, they can probably afford phase change too.

Go over to the guys at Xtremesystems.org if you want to learn about thier legendary X6800's.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:25 AM   #19
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Dude i kno, my point was not the $

it was convenience

i would not enjoy having my computer dwell outside a case
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 08:06 AM   #20
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
Dude i kno, my point was not the $

it was convenience
Lol! I know what your point was. Just pushing your buttons.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-07, 09:56 AM   #21
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

I like Maximum PC, but sometimes they're really dumb.

I remember some of their so called "good value PC builds" for like $1000 or $1500, and they were wasting all their money on a CPU and expensive motherboard and RAM and also way too expensive PSU, and then getting a low-end videocard. Kind of like say right now you'd have $1500 or whatever, and buy an expensive mobo, expensive RAM, an E6600 and then get like say a 7900GT, when really, you should be buying a e6400 and a better value mobo and ram and get an 8800gts or 8800gtx.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 06:23 PM   #22
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

I love my mid-range CPU.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 07:22 PM   #23
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
None of that crap matters when you overclock right now. You'll get just as good performance from an E6600 as you will an X6800, Q6600, or a QX6700 unless you're a video-editing guru. No games are quad-threaded, and they will all overclock about the same.
So don't worry about what "Maximum PC" says. I don't.
True, but quad-threaded games are the future, and also make windows vista x64 faster. Keep in mind, that a lot of upcoming games are going to be highly dependent on the cpu for physics. Although, I think if there's ever a PCI-E Aegeia PhysX, then developers should rely on that b/c more people would buy PPUs if they were in PCI-E.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 09:14 PM   #24
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Core2 E6600 a mid-range CPU?!?!?

You could call the Core 2 Duo E6600 a mid-range CPU if you are running it at default setting since it is just 2.4gigs and the 6700 and 6800 are rated higher at default,but who runs it at it's defaulted speed ,I see it priced as a mid-range CPU ,but once you have it running at 3.6gigs,I think it would be consider a upper-range CPU.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.