Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-02, 08:11 PM   #1
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default Help with an athlon XP..

I just bought an Athlon XP 2000 and im trying to run it as fast as it can..
Why cant i get over 138fsb without having the system crash..
At 140 i cant even log on to windows..

its at 12.5x133 right now... and also if im able to change the multiplier doesnt it mean i have an unlocked CPU..

athlon xp 2000 (12.5x133)
MSI Geforce 4 4400 (300x640)
MSI KT3 ULTRA mobo
256MB Kingston DDR400 ram
D-740X 40GB Maxtor HD
SB AUDIGY GAMER
Antec 1080 case..450w..
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 08:53 PM   #2
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

there are about 20 reasons why you can't OC higher...your best bet it to read some of the FAQs about it @ http://www.overclockers.com/

And yeah, if you can change the multiplier and it shows up as changed, it's unlocked...I've heard some of the MPs escaping as XPs, that could be why...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 09:33 PM   #3
Feanor
Registered User
 
Feanor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 37
Default

Yes without details we don't know things such as what temperature your computer is running at, how good your HSF is (and whether your using good thermal compound like Arctic Silver or them thermal pads that come on those things), what kind of memory your using and how far the memory will OC, etc...

Just not enough details for people to be able to comment. And even if you do take care of these things, there is no gaurentee when over-clocking unless you buy a CPU from an over-clocking store where they already tested it at a higher clock...
Feanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 12:46 AM   #4
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default

I was going to be really rash, but I decided against it. I just wish that I (someone who knows how to overclock and such) could be so lucky as to happen across an already unlocked XP! If that is too rash, please forgive me.

But, yeah, start looking at the type of memory you have. If it's 133, it may not be able to go over 140 MHz, or in your case 138 MHz, depending on the quality.

And, the temperature of the CPU will make a difference here too.

Also, which motherboard do you have?

Like Matthyahuw, said, it depends on many things.

Phyre
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 05:13 AM   #5
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default

athlon xp 2000 (12.5x133) cooled with thermaltake 7 with an artic silver III..
MSI Geforce 4 4400 (300x640)
MSI KT3 ULTRA mobo
256MB Kingston DDR400 ram
D-740X 40GB Maxtor HD
SB AUDIGY GAMER
Antec 1080 case..450w
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 12:55 PM   #6
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default

ThermalTake 7, is that the Volcano 7?
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 03:17 PM   #7
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Have you been increasing the core votage or just leaving it on default? I have the same board, and with my not so good PC2100 ram I have been able to get my 1800+ running with a 143FSB, higher im sure if my cpu was unlocked I dont have my pc overclocked at the moment becasue its summer and my pc doesnt like to be overclocked

FYI I couldnt go over a 140FSB without upping the cpu voltage to 1.8v so be careful of temps.


Smokey
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 05:42 PM   #8
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default

the xp isnt a great fsb only ocing cpu ,when you say your xp is unlocked, have you tried changing the multiplier, and if you did did your computer boot, if it did its unlocked, lower you multiplier and up your frontside bus speed and find your sweet spot(combi of fsb and multiplier and ram timings which is stable). my sweet spot is 9.5x195 with agressive memory timings, itll boot at 9.5x200 but isnt stable.youll have to play witht the voltages also
if you want good oc sucsess, buy a higher performance heat sink
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469

Last edited by randsom; 08-03-02 at 06:04 PM.
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-02, 06:43 AM   #9
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raptorman
ThermalTake 7, is that the Volcano 7?

yes its a volcano 7..
My ram is a ddr 400 so i dont see why i cant go over 140
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 12:52 PM   #10
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default

lower your multiplier, my 2000+ would only do 143@12.5x and that wasnt completly stable,now since its unlocked with the corsair memory, and the 1/5th divider its doing 195
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 01:02 PM   #11
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default

Try using the Volcano 7+. It works a lot better , keeps your processor cooler. That will also help in overclocking.
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-02, 07:29 AM   #12
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

randsom as youve got a high fsb, what does your AGP run at? I have the same board and it would appear the AGP speed is half the FSB... is this true?
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$233.44 - Athlon II X2 250/A880GZ MB/4GB/500GB Super Combo News Newegg Daily Deals 0 07-28-12 12:20 PM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Athlon XP 2000 wont get recognized properly...!! demonized CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 10-10-02 05:01 PM
AMD 2400+ and 2600+ Benchmark Extrapolations savyj CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 2 08-17-02 09:32 PM
Athlon 2400+ and 2600+? 333 MHz Front-side bus?? PaiN Rumor Mill 26 08-16-02 10:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.